We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the sea view!”
Review of The Grand Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grand Brighton
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We came to Brighton for some rest and relaxation and booked the De Vere Grand, as we are regular visitors to other De Vere venues. As it was a bit of special occasion we upgraded to a sea view - well, you don't book a hotel on the sea front and not go for the sea view do you? We were given the most amazing room - 5 huge floor to ceiling windows, settee and armchairs, huge bed and huge bathroom with his and her basins,shower and bath, plus free wifi! It was beautifully decorated too.
The hotel is lovely inside and staff are really helpful. We parked the car in the NCP multi storey behind the hotel which was really handy, although the hotel does have a small area at the front where you can load and unload the luggage.
The GB1 seafood restaurant is lovely - great menu and high quality seafood, with wine that starts at £24 a bottle. Again staff here are very attentive and explain the menu if you ask.
Breakfast is the only downside - as it is in most buffet style breakfasts. As the hotel is very popular, there was a short wait - although on the Sunday juice and pastries were laid out in the lounge area if you felt peckish. Hot food was always topped up quickly and again staff were helpful and apologetic about the madness that was breakfast.
I loved staying here and would do it again - centrally located for all the important locations, with great views from the sea view windows, what more could you ask?

Room Tip: Go for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkateMinsteronSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (8,085)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6,340 - 6,346 of 8,085 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2014

The hotel is kept to very high standard. Our room was only a standard double, but it was very spacious with a great kingsize bed. The staff were fantastic, very friendly "going the extra mile" to make us feel very welcome. The Bar was excellent and the restaurant (CB1) was simple fantastic. Quality and variety of food were top notch. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend the place and looking forward to our next stay there.

Room Tip: Cant rate the pool or spa as we didn't use it, but they both looked great. Our room was 404 and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mantramike2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I have stayed at a few hotels in Brighton including the Hell of Hilton. This is a great hotel. We went for the room with a Wooden bath tub in the room.! it was pricy but well worth it. Huge balcony, huge bed, huge shower. Nice bar and great staff. The best hotel in Brighton so far!
9/10

Room Tip: Spend more and go for the room with a wooden bath tub in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dodgym5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We recently stayed at the Grand Hotel, got a great deal for one of the front facing 'deluxe sea-view double rooms'....worth looking on De Vere website to see if there are any deals. It was a huge room with gorgeous furniture, 3 massive picture windows with a balcony, and lovely bathroom. The hotel has recently been refurbished (I stayed about 10 years ago and it was pretty tired looking), they have managed to retain the old charm but added lovely fabrics. The seafood restaurant inside the hotel is wonderful too.

Room Tip: Definitely get a sea-view room and ask for a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alison a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

A superb experience. Beautiful room. Friendly, polite staff. Excellent food in the restaurant. Couldn't ask for more.would love to do it again, but stay a little longer.
Would definitely recommend this to anyone. Up with the best hotels I have stayed in and probably ever stayed in

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Keith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Stayed14/15 March. Booked sea view,all went well,wife,s birthday. Ate out first evening.
Breakfast, more a fight in a refugee camp, just not enough room, food on the floor, poor table service, dirty linen. Booked restaurant for the evening, poor service,not busy except for a private party in main area. Food quality very poor, whitebait cold and spiced too much. Ribeye steak, very fatty,again Luke warm,with a bottle of wine,(£29). Total bill in excess of £95.
Sunday breakfast, as described previously but even more manic.
Have been to this hotel 7 times in the past 12 months, always been first class. Something has happened !!!!!!!
Did we complain ? No the moment has gone,spoilt our weekend.
Thanks Grand Hotel Brighton, perhaps Grand should be erased from your name.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank pebble1237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights as a girly trip with 4 of us and overall found the hotel to be very comfortable with friendly staff. We also visited the Spa and had some lovely treatments that left us all totally chilled out - the relaxation room was fantastic. The buffet breakfast had plenty of choice and was replenished as necessary; the hot food was cooked nicely and only served in sufficient amounts so as it didn't get overcooked!. Very attentive waiting staff serving tea/coffee and clearing tables.
We had two rooms on 6th floor and noted that one of rooms had two armchairs and two bathrobes in wardrobe, whereas the other only had 1 armchair and 1 bathrobe? Also no instructions on how to use the safe which I managed to lock but then couldn't unlock! (Fortunately I hadn't put anything inside). We reported the missing bathrobe and locked safe to reception on day 1, but nothing changed before we left 2 days later.
We went to the bar for cocktails during Happy Hour and a waitress told us which ones were included (only 5 from the extensive menu). I didn't think they tasted particularly alcoholic and when we were presented with the bill, they had been charged at full price!? This was corrected when I challenged it, but they were not half price, they were all £5. We too noted that the bar area was very busy with people having afternoon teas which overlapped happy hour and there was nowhere for guests to sit and relax away from a bar area.
The other negative was that our rooms on 6th floor (602/603 at rear of hotel) overlooked a large bank of air conditioning fans that meant I couldn't open the window at night for fresh air because it was too noisy. The toilet in our room did not flush very well either because the handle was set too close to the panelling.
These were all minor niggles that I wouldn't expect from a 5 star hotel although they didn't spoil our stay. Good location on seafront with Churchill Shopping Centre right behind and easy walking distance to Pier and other shops.
One last point - I don't find their website very user friendly, very difficult to find out about spa treatments.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.8 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.3 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#18 of 43 in Brighton
2,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#11 of 43 in Brighton
1,404 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,359 reviews
2.1 mi away
Malmaison Brighton
Malmaison Brighton
#14 of 43 in Brighton
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Brighton

Address: 97-99 King's Road, Brighton BN1 2FW, England (Formerly The De Vere Grand Brighton)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Brighton
#4 Business Hotel in Brighton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: $132 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a truly remarkable hotel. An iconic Victorian building, it stands centre stage on the vibrant Brighton seafront and is a local landmark. Magnificent, imposing and the epitome of luxury. This is The Grand, Brighton. Following a recent extensive refurbishment, The Grand experience is one you will never forget. It's in the splendour of the 123 step sweeping staircase, the exquisite textures in the bedrooms, the delectable cuisine in GB1 restaurant and the sumptuous surroundings of The Spa at The Grand. It's in the stunning seaviews and the warmth with which you are welcomed. It's in its innate sense of style. The magnificent Grand is a popular location for films and television shows. Coronation Street, Eastenders and Only Fools and Horses have all shot episodes in the hotel. For the complete Brighton experience, it has to be The Grand, Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The De Vere Grand Brighton Hotel Brighton
De Vere Grand Brighton
De Vere Grand Hotel Brighton
Brighton Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing