We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What was once 'Grand' is no longer so!”
Review of The Grand Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grand Brighton
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2012

 An anathema for me!

Great breakfast and staff. But I found the decor of the Grand Hotel bedrooms totally depressing. The ripped/ patched wall paper, the cold towel rail in the bath room, the topless taps, the stained carpets, the broken safe that could not be fixed. The lack of additional blankets/ bedding in the wardrobe sad - the duvet on the bed was wafer thin.  I know there is an upgrade in progress, but some of these items don't need an upgrade to fix. Come on De Vere Hotels, if you are going to charge these prices, make some investments now.

We spoke to the front desk about our concerns - they were polite but clearly we were not the first to air similar views!

On a positive note, the staff were extremely helpful and accommodating.  A bonus given what they have to work with.  So well done to them.

The buffet breakfast extensive and delicious! Well done to the chefs!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view at the front - the standard rooms at the back are below standard for the mone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheAmershanReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (8,096)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7,045 - 7,051 of 8,096 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2012

I took some dear relatives for afternoon tea as it was their first time in Brighton, for the price we paid I expected much better service. rude staff who clearly did not like working that day, received Huffs and puffs when my dear auntie asked if she could exchange the salmon sandwiches for her afternoon tea for chicken sandwiches. the person who poured my cup of tea spilt tea on my saucer and didn't bother to clear up. they were stingy with the portions and then when it came to paying the bill my relatives (who hilariously work in banking, and should know better) forgot to include service with the payment. waiter goes away with the money and then comes back saying " there's not enough money here!" and then dumps the tray that holds the bill on the table, then the manager pops over and says "what is the problem!". for a moment this reminded me of being in Pizza Hut in my student days when there was always a problem with a bill because of some mistake and the staff would treat you like prisoners till you pay. it was a genuine mistake where basically my auntie had forgotten to include the outrageous 20% service that they drop on your bill. seemed like the staff were having a bad day and had also forgotten the words 'please' and 'thank you'.... it's not difficult guys!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
6  Thank rex1072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thank you for your comments following your recent visit to us here at The Grand.

I am truly sorry for the service you received, it goes without saying that this isn't what is expected of my staff. If you could send me a message outlining the time of your visit, I will be able to identify the member of staff in question and can deal with the matter personally.

Once again I am truly sorry,

Warm Regards


Andrew Mosley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We are regular guests at the Grand, and are already planning next visit. It is currently undergoing major refurbishment, which it needed, and this will go some way to securing its position as one of the best laces to stay on the South coast. We just wish they would train their staff a little more consistantly, as service is sometimes great and sometimes really bad! But overall always an enjoyable experience!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mark399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

This is not a review of the hotel but of the booking experience that one reaches when calling the phone number advertised on the website.
I initially got through to a guy called lee who was very nice and helpful, I asked if I could have a think and call back which, of course, he was fine with - no problems there.
However, when I called back I got through to another guy who was very aggressively selling to me, was very abrupt, and was clearly reading from a script when he wasn't being rude. I felt cornered into booking, and it wasn't until my card details were handed over that he told me that the spa facilities wouldn't be available in the hotel during my stay. I then asked a simple question about the procedure for booking dinner and his tone became so patronising and rude that I'd have hung up if it were not for the fact that he had already got my card details out of me.
I don't understand why such a beautiful and famous hotel is associated with what is clearly a call centre that uses scripting and hard-selling. As for the rudeness hopefully this was just the fault of the one individual.
Hopefully the hotel experience will make up for this incident

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to update TripAdvisor with your comments, and once again please accept my sincere apologies on behalf of our Central Reservations Team, this is not the quality of service that is acceptable here at The Grand.

As we discussed in our previous emails I am confident that we can make up for it during your visit to us, and show you how important our guests are to us.

We look forward to your forthcoming visit,


Warm Regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We recently stayed 2 nights at the Grand for some Christmas shopping. First impressions great-met at the door by polite door staff, valet parking, suitcases brought upto room and very welcoming staff in the impressive entrace hall with chandelliers, original staircase and oppulent surroundings.
We has booked a 2for1 deal with breakfast in a seaview room- we got the seaview and an amazing huge comfy bed, but the room clearly had not been refurbished in a while, particularly the bathroom- all a bit tired. if we had paid full price i would have been very disappointed-make sure you get a deal as only a few of the rooms have been re-furbished by De Vere.

Cannot fault the service, the staff were great, but food and drink prices a bit steep.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview room. Check for refurbishment-if you book online you will probably get an old room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suziehbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Breakfast at The Grand is a wonderful experience, excellent food and great service. But the Sunday lunch us definitely worth your time. Excellent value at a fixed price, great roast and veg, delicious fish, and a birthday treat on the dessert plate. good wines and friendly service with a view on the sea front from the terrace, warm a cosy in November. I might add the rooms at The Grand are very comfortable with huge beds. At the moment the hotel are starting refurbishing, so soon the hotel will have a pool too.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, but ours had a problem with the heating, we were upgraded to a superior room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suemike_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The last time i visited this wonderful hotel i was a little disapointed with the rooms and felt the hotel needed a refit without spoiling any of its very fine heritage. De Vere have done this the room i am currently sat in is without doubt firstclass, nothing out of place and the fittings and decor are faultless. The staff and service are exactly what you would expect from The Grand, nothing is to much trouble even down to Colin the concierge remembering my car from my last visit over a year ago. I like to visit Brighton at least twice a year and i will without doubt be spending it here. Well done De Vere you have mangaged to refit this fine hotel without spoiling any of its characteristics.

Room Tip: Pay Extra for a sea view room with a balcony. You only live once!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drunkMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.8 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,236 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.3 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#18 of 43 in Brighton
2,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#11 of 43 in Brighton
1,404 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,360 reviews
2.1 mi away
Malmaison Brighton
Malmaison Brighton
#14 of 43 in Brighton
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Brighton

Address: 97-99 King's Road, Brighton BN1 2FW, England (Formerly The De Vere Grand Brighton)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Brighton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#4 Business Hotel in Brighton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: $132 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a truly remarkable hotel. An iconic Victorian building, it stands centre stage on the vibrant Brighton seafront and is a local landmark. Magnificent, imposing and the epitome of luxury. This is The Grand, Brighton. Following a recent extensive refurbishment, The Grand experience is one you will never forget. It's in the splendour of the 123 step sweeping staircase, the exquisite textures in the bedrooms, the delectable cuisine in GB1 restaurant and the sumptuous surroundings of The Spa at The Grand. It's in the stunning seaviews and the warmth with which you are welcomed. It's in its innate sense of style. The magnificent Grand is a popular location for films and television shows. Coronation Street, Eastenders and Only Fools and Horses have all shot episodes in the hotel. For the complete Brighton experience, it has to be The Grand, Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The De Vere Grand Brighton Hotel Brighton
De Vere Grand Brighton
De Vere Grand Hotel Brighton
Brighton Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing