We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place, even in the teeth of a howling gale” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grand Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Grand Brighton
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
124 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Lovely place, even in the teeth of a howling gale”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed here after a charity ball and had a lovely time. The hotel is a Victorian/Edwardian edifice sitting on the sea front, with a great view across the Channel and well located for exploring Brighton and the Lanes.

Inside it's lofty, with a lot of fine mouldings on the columns and ceilings. Rooms are generously sized - we were on the 5th floor and towards the centre of the building with a fantastic view out to sea. The bed was extremely comfortable. In fact, if there was a gripe, it was that the bathroom could have been a little wider, although it more than served its purpose.

The food eaten both at the ball, held in one of the reception rooms and at breakfast the following day was extremely good and most importantly, the staff made you feel both very welcome and at home.

Parking in Brighton can be an issue and nowhere is particularly cheap. The hotel has 40 spaces beneath it which can be used for a moderate price on a first come first served basis. Otherwise there is plenty of (slightly) more expensive parking round the corner.

Overall, having stayed here before and knowing that it can offer good prices, we would use the hotel for a long weekend trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BertyBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your recent review following you recent visit to The Grand.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed the charity ball. We are very honoured to host many charity events at The Grand and there is always such a wonderful atmosphere in the hotel when such events are taking place.

I am also pleased that you had the chance to enjoy one of our sea facing room. I agree, the views really are stunning, especially on a high floor.

Thank you again for writing and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Regards
Andrew Mosley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,098
    1,886
    996
    457
    221
See reviews for
1,143
3,507
177
690
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,103)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Cannot fault anything! Even got pancakes with chocolate and strawberries that weren't on the room service menu for breakfast in the morning! Only stayed for one night, however I will definitely return if I have to stay in Brighton again

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karolina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to update TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.

I am so incredibly pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit with us. My team work phenomenally hard to deliver great service at all times, and I will take great pleasure in passing on your feedback to them, especially our Room Service team.

Thank you once again, and I hope you have a wonderful Christmas.

Kind Regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
164 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

The Grand has enjoyed iconic status on the Brighton sea front for many decades and is probably most remembered for the infamous bomb attack on it in the 80’s. We only stayed here for a single night as a birthday treat/celebration and got here quite early to enjoy some of the ambience of the bar downstairs before going to our room.

The piano bar and surrounding reception area does still attain some of the old style grandeur that I imagine the ‘old’ Grand used to have. Before going to our room we had a few drinks and listened to the pianist playing for a while which was pleasant in the immediate surroundings. The beer prices were a little bit expensive at the bar but given where we were, I suppose it was to be expected.

The room itself was one on the front and did allow us a sea view on the small balcony which made the fairly ordinary room into something a bit more special. But, for a room with a sea view in The Grand, I was a little bit underwhelmed and did expect something a bit more, well, grand.
Whilst the room was of a decent size and was comfy enough, there wasn’t anything particularly outstanding about it apart from the view and the sound of the sea coming through the windows.
The balcony doors weren’t exactly the most weather tight and didn’t fit perfectly and as a result were quite draughty. Luckily there was decent curtains surrounding the doors which kept the draughts at bay.

All the corridors and surroundings leading to all the rooms do seem to be in keeping with what you’d expect of this standard of hotel including what seem to be all the original stairwells and railings. Then again, I would have imagined it was a much grander place before the bombing in the 80’s.

Breakfast is taken downstairs where you can also get a sea view. I thought the breakfast and service was very good. There was lots of attention to detail and lots of choice of things to eat. There was also plenty of tea and coffee available.

Overall, this a decent place to stay and obviously in the perfect location for the front and the beach. Where possible I would suggest getting a room with a view on to the front as it adds so much to the experience of staying here. Not sure it is the best place in Brighton to stay for comfort and luxury but serves the purpose for a special occasion.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelPad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed the Lounge and I wholeheartedly agree that the pianist does add a certain extra charm to the evenings.

I will make my Maintenance staff aware of the problems with the balcony doors and ask them to look into it right away, but I do apologise wholeheartedly if this in any way impeded the enjoyment of your stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back next year when we will have completed our refurbishment programme, with every bedroom having a soft furnishings refurbishment and our new Restaurant and Spa will be open.

Kind Regards


Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We have been going to Brighton a few times for long weekends away from London.
Every time we stay at The De Vere Grand and its an great hotel for the money.
The food is good and compared to the rest of Brighton, the hotel has god style and an grand atmosphere.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must and high floors have the best view and least noise. Try to get corner suites if p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anders B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you so much for your recent review on TripAdvisor and for your continued visits to The Grand.

It is such a pleasure to see that for regular guests as yourself we are still getting it right, and are offering great value and atmosphere, particularly in an area like Brighton where there is so much on offer for visitors.

We will continue our refurbishment project and launch our new fish Restaurant and a brand new Spa in the New Year - I cannot wait to hear your thoughts when they open. 2013 is set to be a very exciting year for us here at The Grand and I look forward to welcoming you back then.

Warm Regards


Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

we enjoyed our stay at the grand,it has a nice ambience and is in a great location,our room was one of the older ones,which,i believe are in the process of being modernised.the only thing that let our stay down was outside noise entering our room from a poorly fitting window.
nothing we couldn't live with for the rate we paid
the breakfast was great as were the staff who served it,the bar is also a very nice place for a drink.we didn't use the restaurant in the evening.
we would stay again

Room Tip: make sure window keeps out noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank corkie408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for posting your review of The Grand following your recent stay with us.

You are absolutely correct, we are indeed in the process of refurbishing all of our bedrooms, meeting rooms and Lounge area; and we will be launching a new Spa and a new Restaurant in Spring 2013. This will leave us all with a completely rejuvenated hotel, however we will be keeping the same ambience and quality of service that guests as yourselves expect from The Grand!

I will be sure to pass your comments about the faulty window onto the Maintenance team, and to ensure they check that it is repaired immediately. I am glad you enjoyed the breakfast, and I hope it set you up for a great day in Brighton!

I hope to welcome you back to The Grand in the New Year,

Warm Regards


Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed in the Grand for one night. Hotel staff very welcoming, concierge look after bags and deliver them to your room once it is ready. One negative is that checking in is not till 3pm and checkout is 11am- which doesnt give much time in the room for the rates charged.
However, room was beautiful, lovely sea view, large breakfast selection. Recommend the afternoon tea. Great location

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelEurope87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you so much for passing on your feedback following your recent stay with us.

I am so pleased you got an opportunity to enjoy a classic Afternoon Tea in our Lounge, and I will be sure to pass on your compliments onto the Chefs, who work so hard to hand make all of the pastries and sandwiches.

I will also pass on your compliments to the Concierge team - they are currently spending most afternoons being rained on and blown away by gale force winds, so they will be pleased to hear that their efforts aren't going unnoticed!

Thanks once again for your review,

Warm Regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

I had looked at hotels on the last minute deals and then contacted the hotel to find it no more expensive than the websites, but I got a chance to talk to the reservations clerk and let her know it was our wedding anniversary. She emailed the hotel who immediately offered us an upgrade for a small fee. Half an hour later we received an email to say she had secured us a balcony room. On arrival we were treated like royalty (I know everyone is but it just felt nice!!) The room was GREAT with a humongous bed, loads of room with a seperate changing area and a bathroom just off the room. Yes some reviews mention it is a bit dated and could do with updating - but the cost of that would be massive and as long as the important things like customer service are in place I'm happy. The bed was super comfy - 2 queen beds side by side with a mattress topper on top of a mattress topper!! The breakfast was also GREAT!! a buffet with everything to choose from and it was all delicious. We were even able to leave the car in their car park a little longer to enable us to go shopping without any trouble. We would definitely go there again as we loved the location - right in themissdle of everything - the balcony room was great to look out from - when the rain stopped and we just loved it.

Room Tip: Book direct with hotel not last mintue sites and get a chance to talk to a person to get a better de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carole c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Congratulations on your recent wedding anniversary, and thank you so much for choosing to spend it here with us at The Grand!

I'm so pleased to see that we were able to make you feel like royalty during your visit to us - it is one of our aims as a team that every guest should feel like that, and I am so pleased we were able to deliver this during your visit. Our team are committed to going the extra mile for every guest, and we are always happy to offer the best room rate available via our website or central reservations team.

We are currently undergoing a refurbishment of all our bedrooms, our meeting rooms and our Lounge; and we are launching a brand new Spa and Restaurant concept in Spring 2013 - so during your next visit we will have plenty more to offer you - even if it is raining!

I look forward to welcoming you back soon,

Warm Regards


Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,340 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#15 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,993 reviews
0.7 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Brighton

Property: The Grand Brighton
Address: 97-99 King's Road, Brighton BN1 2FW, England (Formerly The De Vere Grand Brighton)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Brighton
#3 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#4 Business Hotel in Brighton
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a truly remarkable hotel. An iconic Victorian building, it stands centre stage on the vibrant Brighton seafront and is a local landmark. Magnificent, imposing and the epitome of luxury. This is The Grand, Brighton. Following a recent extensive refurbishment, The Grand experience is one you will never forget. It's in the splendour of the 123 step sweeping staircase, the exquisite textures in the bedrooms, the delectable cuisine in GB1 restaurant and the sumptuous surroundings of The Spa at The Grand. It's in the stunning seaviews and the warmth with which you are welcomed. It's in its innate sense of style. The magnificent Grand is a popular location for films and television shows. Coronation Street, Eastenders and Only Fools and Horses have all shot episodes in the hotel. For the complete Brighton experience, it has to be The Grand, Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Grand Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The De Vere Grand Brighton Hotel Brighton
De Vere Grand Brighton
De Vere Grand Hotel Brighton
Brighton Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing