We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great day out. :-)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Life Brighton

Sea Life Brighton
Book In Advance
More Info
$24.64*
and up
Cycling Tour of Brighton City
Ranked #12 of 159 things to do in Brighton
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Two years running 2014 and 2015 winner of 'The Best Place to Visit in Brighton & Hove' - Brighton and Hove Business Awards 2014 & 2015 Visit the world's oldest operating aquarium, right here in Brighton! Based opposite the iconic pier, SEA LIFE Brighton was built in 1872 and features 3,500 memorising creatures including turtles and sharks. For an additional cost you can admire our resident giant Sea Turtles Gulliver and Lulu, sharks, turtles, rays and tropical fish as they swim under your feet on the UK's first indoor glass-bottom boat. Take a look at our Behind The Scenes on an interactive experience which will immerse you into our working world. See first-hand how we care for over 3,500 sea creatures. With over 40 other world class displays we can ensure you will have an amazing discovery throughout your underwater dive. Don't forget to keep an eye out on our website for events throughout the year. We are open daily from 10am, with last admission from 4pm depending on time of year.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great day out. :-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

We had a brilliant experience at sealife centre brighton for my little boys 4th birthday on 14th January. The staff were all brilliant with him and even named one of the new fish after him because it was his birthday (Not sure what the fish was but it was orange with black spots.) The glass bottom boat was great and dean made the ride extra special by being a great guide. Even my 1 year old loved crawling around on the bottom. I also couldnt believe it when connor actually touched the starfish!. We were there for about 3 hour's and both children never got bored. They loved it all. Even the lady in the gift shop was brilliant with the kiddies. Overall you have an amazing bunch of staff members and I thank them for making connors birthday even more special for him, :-)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura1382, Marketing Co-ordinator at Sea Life Brighton, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thanks for your review. We're glad your son had such a great birthday! We aim to create amazing discoveries for people to take away as memories. I will pass your comments on to our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    449
    504
    278
    118
    82
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
“Smashing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Great sealife, great staff. love everything, Bottomless boat ride to be encouraged! Great thing to do whilst in brighton!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ScotAnthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max L, General Manager at Sea Life Brighton, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Hello Scott Anthony, I am pleased you enjoyed your visit and thanks for the great Photo of the GPO.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Excellent exhibits though queuing procedure in the rain sucks!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

This exhibit loses a rating star through its terrible entrance queueing system - due to a poor layout of the rope cordons, only a handful of people can queue inside as a pushchair and a few kids take up all the room. This is also because we only had 2 people on the tills and no fastrack procedure for people to exchange pre-bought tickets in advance without queuing with the general public. Plus some people did not move up enough so we were soaked before even seeing this water exhibit. I am writing to the management on this point.
Once in though, it was fantastic, with not a dead fish in sight, and we were all wowed by the lovely fish and turtles. The walk through the tank with the the fish swimming around you was excellent with some small sharks on view. We got a discount on line, which made the price less eye-watering. Free drink with a purchase of the £4.50 show guide. Children loved it. Would recommend.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Edward P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max L, General Manager at Sea Life Brighton, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
I am very sorry about the queuing experience that you suffered. unfortunately the entrance hall is relatively small and when the heavens open everyone dives for cover at the same time. I am pleased you enjoyed your visit once you got in out of the rain and benefited from the online discounts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good for children but too overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

I go here a lot every year but only when I have a 2-4-1 voucher. The prices are laughably bad!! It takes about 40 minutes to get around the whole thing and is not far off £20 per adult! Id rather pay £15 and go to drusillas zoo where it is a whole day out. If the prices go down and they do abit more with it than maybe I would go more often.

Helpful?
Thank Chlogxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max L, General Manager at Sea Life Brighton, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for your review. A ticket at Sea Life provides unlimited entry on that day so lots of people come and go depending on the feeds and talks they are most interested in. I am a little surprised you can run around in 40 minutes, it takes most people over 2 hours to enjoy the full experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
95 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly so interesting.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

As a filthy wet day 4 of us decided to go into this attraction and were really surprised at it's variety and interest.
Fascinating to see such a variety of small and large fish from above and below.Including large turtles/sharks and sea horses/
We booked on line the night before saving almost half the cost. Quite dear I would think ,paying full price, for a family.
Very well run and organised with friendly, helpful staff.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank THIRSTYSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max L, General Manager at Sea Life Brighton, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for your New Years Day visit, and I am thrilled you benefitted from the online discounts before you enjoyed your interesting visit. Our staff love interacting with our customers, so I am pleased you found them so knowledgeable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Life Brighton also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Sea Life Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing