We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go if you love sea life and have discount admission”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sea Life Brighton

Sea Life Brighton
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.40*
and up
Cycling Tour of Brighton City
Ranked #12 of 161 things to do in Brighton
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Two years running 2014 and 2015 winner of 'The Best Place to Visit in Brighton & Hove' - Brighton and Hove Business Awards 2014 & 2015 Visit the world's oldest operating aquarium, right here in Brighton! Based opposite the iconic pier, SEA LIFE Brighton was built in 1872 and features 3,500 memorising creatures including turtles and sharks. For an additional cost you can admire our resident giant Sea Turtles Gulliver and Lulu, sharks, turtles, rays and tropical fish as they swim under your feet on the UK's first indoor glass-bottom boat. Take a look at our Behind The Scenes on an interactive experience which will immerse you into our working world. See first-hand how we care for over 3,500 sea creatures. With over 40 other world class displays we can ensure you will have an amazing discovery throughout your underwater dive. Don't forget to keep an eye out on our website for events throughout the year. We are open daily from 10am, with last admission from 4pm depending on time of year.
Toronto
Level Contributor
209 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Go if you love sea life and have discount admission”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

My kids (5 & 8 yrs) enjoyed this attraction when we visited in July but it helped to have discount admission. We paid only 9 GBP each instead of over 54 GBP for our family of 3 by buying tickets at the Visitor Information Centre beside the Royal Pavilion. Imagine walking through a corridor of late 19th century arches, housing exotic sea creatures like giant crabs and staring moray eels. How peculiar and fun for my kids to use window wipers (provided) in order to view the steamy, aquarium glass. What a treat to be in the oldest aquarium in the world, hence don't expect it to be air-conditioned, stroller-friendly or modernized too much. Favourite things: the mood lighting around the old Victorian arches, the glass tunnel under an aquarium where we saw a giant turtle bump into an equally huge ray above our heads (not a lot of room in the tank I guess), the map/questionnaire where my kids had to find and answer correctly sea-related questions in order to win a medal, which the fellow presented in Olympian style (so funny!). You can leave to eat somewhere else and come back. It's a small place and a bit quirky with its twisting pathways. Young kids can rest near the expensive cafeteria to do a craft or draw on the chalkboard. What we didn't like was it seemed chaotic at the admissions desk and the immediate photo op before entering the aquarium was a bit disconcerting. We enjoyed it for what it was but can't imagine staying much longer than an hour.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Canucksontheloose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max L, General Manager at Sea Life Brighton, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
A great review, thank you for spending the time talking about the aquarium.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,478 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    473
    515
    285
    122
    83
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“First visit but not the last!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

My husband and I visited the Sealife Centre in Brighton on a day trip. The building itself is very old and beautiful. We had our photo taken on the way in. Then into a huge hall filled with all kinds of sealife, some I had never heard of before (i fell in love with a pignosed turtle - so cute!!). There is also old world arcade games for 20p a go on the way round to the huge tank. We paid a little extra for a ride in the glass bottomed boat. I don't want to be a moan but parents should be told to keep their children from crawling around in front of other people's view. The people working there had loads of information, naming all the sharks, rays, huge turtles (one was 74 years old!!) and adding funny stories. Slightly pricey but it is an all day pass, you get your hand stamped and you can go out and go back in later if you want.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank minosa4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max L, General Manager at Sea Life Brighton, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
We look forward to welcoming you back soon. I take your point about the kids on the glass and I have instructed the boat captains to keep half an eye out. With so much to see it is hard for them to contain there excitement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great attraction, wonderful building, save £££'s booking online!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Our fourth visit to a sealife centre, they're all different, but this one located in such an amazing building, is pretty special. The staff were very friendly and helpful - they seemed enthusiastic and obviously enjoying their work. The talks and demonstrations were very informative, as were the information boards around the various exhibits. I booked online and saved a vast amount on the usual entry price - plus there's no queueing - so well worth it! We didn't take the glass bottomed boat option as you can see everything from the underwater tunnel - it would have been expensive too. Didn't do the behind the scenes tour this time, but if you've not done one before, then it's worth doing. The only negative comment would be the hold up on entry caused by the in house photograher almost insisting that everyone entering had their photos taken. We waited until a photo shoot was completed and strolled on through - might be better to site a booth to the side somewhere else in the attraction (but it probably brings in a good profit for sealife).

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank south-westone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max L, General Manager at Sea Life Brighton, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
it is great you share my love of the amazing architecture and that you learnt loads from the talks and demo's delivered from the great team. I take your point about the photo's, but it is not obligatory, we just like to start the visit off with something a bit fun and different.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
90 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Glass bottom boat is a must!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Came here with my boyfriend as we had some free tickets. All of the staff were really friendly, especially Daniel who did our glass bottom boat tour. He was very enthusiastic and informative. The glass bottom boat is worth the extra money (especially for kids) and lasted about 5-10 mins. Also really enjoyed the octopus garden and the glass tunnel. The only negative point is that some parts look quite run down and old.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max L, General Manager at Sea Life Brighton, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thanks for your comment Catherine, and I will be sure to pass your kind words on to Daniel. The boat is so unique that everyone really loves it. We have started work today on the next stage of restoration within the oldest aquarium in the world, so hopefully this will address the run down area by creating a new zone so there will be even more to see during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

I went to the Sea Life Centre with my boyfriend whilst visiting Brighton and we both enjoyed it immensely. The sting rays were fantastic, and there was a massive turtle that swam right over our heads as we walked through a tunnel! We went during school half term and it was still very quiet so you can spend as much time as you like wandering around. I would recommend not buying the boat trip or the behind the scenes tour as both seemed unnecessary. Overall a great exprience!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Offonholiday33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max L, General Manager at Sea Life Brighton, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
I am delighted you had a nice time and we look forward to seeing you both back soon. Try the boat and tour next time, you will love it I promise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Life Brighton also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Sea Life Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing