We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sea life centre Brighton”
Review of Sea Life Brighton

Sea Life Brighton
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.84*
and up
Cycling Tour of Brighton City
Ranked #12 of 166 things to do in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Two years running 2014 and 2015 winner of 'The Best Place to Visit in Brighton & Hove' - Brighton and Hove Business Awards 2014 & 2015 Visit the world's oldest operating aquarium, right here in Brighton! Based opposite the iconic pier, SEA LIFE Brighton was built in 1872 and features 3,500 memorising creatures including turtles and sharks. For an additional cost you can admire our resident giant Sea Turtles Gulliver and Lulu, sharks, turtles, rays and tropical fish as they swim under your feet on the UK's first indoor glass-bottom boat. Take a look at our Behind The Scenes on an interactive experience which will immerse you into our working world. See first-hand how we care for over 3,500 sea creatures. With over 40 other world class displays we can ensure you will have an amazing discovery throughout your underwater dive. Don't forget to keep an eye out on our website for events throughout the year. We are open daily from 10am, with last admission from 4pm depending on time of year.
West Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Sea life centre Brighton”
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Again as we where on holiday for a week and didn't want to take the car, and Brighton is quite close, we also know the price of parking there so definitely no car. Arrive by buss or train, not expensive as less than £20 for the two of us, walked to the pier where we had a great laugh, if you get the train take a walk through the Lanes on your way down, took a picnic which we had on the beach after the pier, then wandered across to the Sea Life Centre which cost about £14/16 but we did had a two for one voucher (http://www.daysoutguide.co.uk/sea-life-brighton) paste and copy into your browser to get the voucher. Great and will say it is worth the price as there is plenty to see then took a walk to the Royal Pavilion before heading back home at about 5pm. Over all a great day out and didn’t cost the earth.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank lightstar011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,578 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    511
    544
    308
    128
    87
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“DON'T BOOK SEA LIFE BIRTHDAY PARTY WORST EVER NIGHTMARE FOR BIRTHDAYS AT SEALIFE”
Reviewed July 24, 2011

I am a parent of sound mind who booked a birthday party of 14 children to celebrate my sons 8th birthday! The total cost was £228 which was ment to include an hour tour by two members of staff,a glass botton boat ride,painting,goddy bags and meal at the harvesters above sealife.We booked the party at a date when we was promised it as going to be quiet with no other bookings.In fact 2,000 people from language groups & other peope were booked in at the same time as us & walk ins!!!We had to fight to see anything and to protect the kids from getting lost!Glass bottom boat not working!Wrong goody bags not the same as I was told.Childen were allowed hat & sword but had to give it back at the end of party!Was rused around and not even taken on the ride near gift shop.Not allowed to feed any animials.Saw only 5 tanks due do huge crowds!Not enough painting for al the chidren to do so 5 unhappy kids missed out.Then the best of the best we thought at last our meal and a chance to reflect on what has happened.The harvester had no sign of our booking!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!The sealife who you pay for the meal in advance(two weeks before the party) who told me they had booked to table HAD NOT.No spare tables with14 HUNGRY UPSET KIDS AND 14 LOTS OF PARENTS WHO HAD TO COLLECT HUNGRY UNHAPPY KIDS EARLY.WOULD YOU WANT TO PAY £228 FOR THIS.On the upside I was asked to come back & do it all again and pay ony £200 NEXT TIME AAAARRRRRRRRGGGHHH! They would have to pay me! Be a wise person and go any other place than here!!!!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
9 Thank honesty14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Total, expensive,waste of time”
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Take your kids for a stroll along the prom.or on the pier...anywhere bar this total rip-off.if i could give a minus point it would be -10 dreadful

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank maccy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Rip off, avoid!”
Reviewed July 14, 2011

we went to this centre and were sold a glass bottomed boat trip for £3 extra per person on top of the already high admission price - the staff member said it was well worth doing. On getting to the tank where the 'boat' was, we were shocked to discover it wasn't an actual boat but a small platform pulled along by a piece of rope, with small children running around it. We returned and complained, and were given a refund.

We then went to look around the main centre, which was poorly arranged. It took about half an hour to look around the whole centre which left us feeling ripped off given the high admission price we paid. The centre was outdated and overall a bad experience and a waste of money.

Helpful?
3 Thank jm_1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corsham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not worth the time and money”
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We took our two year old grandaughter on her Birthday. Luckily we found you could get a £5 discount by pre booking on line, otherwise cost is £16 per adult. The attraction is run down and well past its sell by date. Poor cafe and toilet facilities. The exhibits are poorly presented, there is not alll that much to see and it is questionable whether some of the creatures e.g Turtles and Octopus should be there at all. Compares very poorly with other UK aquaria.
Glass bottom boat ride costs extra. Submarine ride actually a cimema experience and very run down and tacky. Felt ripped off. Would not return and would not recommend.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank SUSSEX020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Life Brighton also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Sea Life Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing