We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Freshly Cooked Meal”

Brasserie Fish and Grill
Ranked #514 of 1,154 Restaurants in Brighton
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Brighton
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic Freshly Cooked Meal”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Early Saturday Evening in the sunshine, and the service was quick, professional, and un hurried.
The large portion of Fish & Chips was freshly cooked and tasted delicious, and the clean surroundings were a bonus. As it was a warm evening, most people were sat outside on the terrace, but we chose to sit inside in the cool. Drinks were usual price, but the cost of the mains were on a par with other Fish Restaurants I have been in, if not a little cheaper. Good selection of 'other' mains aswell were on the menu, and they have Lobster and Steak Evenings, which I look forward to trying

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brightscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    101
    66
    62
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awful-don't eat here!!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stood for ages being ignored by staff whilst waiting to be seated. Service continued to be awful and incredibly slow.
Food (when it turned up-30 minutes later!) was awful, tiny frozen prawns and tasteless soup. The sauce on the fish had split and I counted 10 closed mussels in my moules marinara. Awful all round- don't eat here!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Teacher277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, service could be better”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had dinner there with my boyfriend on Saturday night - no booking required which was great. Restaurant is quite small but with lots of tables so you cannot move your chair without disturbing people behind you. Food was great and we weren't waiting long for any course as mentioned in other reviews. We actually though there were too many staffs on the floor and everything new were bring to us by different person. I prefer if there is only waiter taking care of us during whole evening. None checked if everything is going well during our main course etc. Overall we liked it there and we would probably go back next time in Brighton.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ellynka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Going downhill”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I have been going to this restaurant for a number of years and always had good food and service. The last twice I have been there (two weeks apart), the service has been appalling. The first time we waited almost an hour for our food and when it was serviced my mother's potatoes were stone cold and her lamb chops completely overcooked. When I visited again last weekend, one of the staff members was so rude and again the standard of service was terrible. It is very sad as I have always loved going to this restaurant, but will now avoid it and eat elsewhere at the marina

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crawley1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breakers, grand cayman
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a joke of a service”
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We had lunch at this place 10 of us and spend 300 pounds, we waited 35 minutes for appetizers, we had to ask for bread, for more drinks and I had to get the attention of the manager Kash, which he was more busy talking to staff than looking after the service to get him self organized and try to give some attention to us, we than started to get some service and he was nowhere to be seeing after that, the food is average. May I add that the place was not busy as we arrived at 1.30 and left at 3.30. Don' waste your money. The owner should pay attention to his management staff

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank captaing13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managment-AR, Manager at Brasserie Fish and Grill, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for your review I will have a look and investigate
Please accept my apology.


The food in the restaurant is freshly prepared and to expect starters for 10 persons in 35mins is quite reasonable as the food needs to be cooked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Fish and Grill also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Brasserie Fish and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing