We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good service, average food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pavel

Pavel
Ranked #247 of 1,098 Restaurants in Brighton
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good service, average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Visiting Brighton for just a week for work, I saw this little Indian right around the corner from my hotel.

I ordered boiled rice and chicken in a tomato & coriander sauce, medium hot.

The rice was fine; I've had worse! It was a good portion size and not dry. The chicken was cooked, moist and an average few chunks featured. However, the sauce was a little disappointing - it was described as 'medium hot' but it wasn't even mild - absolutlely no heat to the dish in terms of spice. Nice but very bland.

The staff were friendly and the service was swift, and it cost £8 for my dish - a good price.

Just put a bit more heat and spice into your dishes and you'd get a 4/5, Pavel!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WeTravelAtDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    77
    35
    17
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Local Indian that always delivers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Brilliant local Indian. It took us 5 years to find a decent Indian in Brighton. Since Chilka House closed in Kemptown there's been nothing other than the odd curry house serving bland inauthentic dishes. Pavel delivers in every sense. Lovely staff, attentive, polite. Interesting dishes. Will offer you something off the menu if you ask. For my father's 90th birthday party they served us 5 different fish courses all specially prepared because he loved fish. It was stunning. Couldn't ask for more of a local than that. And it's always packed, which shows the proof is in the eating!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villeneuve-les-Avignon, France
Level Contributor
112 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

What a pleasant restaurant to eat at! The service was excellent, the place immaculate and the food out of this world!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank doublemixte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“nice meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

In Brighton on my own and found my way here for dinner. Food was nice with good portions and friendly service. Complimentary brandy was a nice touch. Was was not as hot as I was expecting but good flavour.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scankguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fab food and great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

My boyfriend and I ended up in here after a disastrous experience in the Thai over the road. I really wanted Thai but I certainly wasn't disappointed. it was very busy when we got in there but they managed to seat us straight away. The s was waiters were very attentive and the service was brilliant and the food to match. I have curry a lot but don;t usually rate them down south but this lovely lovely food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Moomiloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pavel also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Pavel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing