We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure what I expected”

Proud Cabaret Brighton
Reserve with OpenTable
Proud Cabaret Brighton is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #38 of 1,133 Restaurants in Brighton
Price range: $42 - $64
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: The Brighton Ballroom has recently been taken over by Brighton-born Alex Proud, owner of the Proud Group, a conglomerate of six UK locations based in entertainment & the arts. The Brighton Ballroom has been many things and as a member of the Proud Group it will continue to live up to its legacy of a popular live music and retro venue during the summer. The venue features a swanky cocktail bar with a well-placed balcony, offering guests a bird’s eye view of all the club’s goings-on. Proud Group reopened the iconic venue with the promise of a gradual yet extensive restoration project. The transformation began with the launch of the Ballroom’s new restaurant offering a bespoke dining experience under the direction of Michelin-trained chef Finlay Logan. The launch has established the Ballroom as the retro supper club of the south at the same time bringing a touch of old-world glamour back to this historic venue.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Not sure what I expected”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We had a lovely waitress Naomi, who was great. Food was very good. The show host was entertaining and very funny, but I'm still trying to work out whether there was something missing - hoola hoop girl, a girl with feathers and one other as the main burlesque show. To be fair, the atmosphere and ambience may have seemed better if a) I'd have gone with a bigger party and b) if I'd have gone on a Friday or Saturday night rather than a Thursday, when I had work the next day and had to be relatively sensible :-( Much smaller venue than I was expecting, but that's not a bad thing, but overall - every member of staff gave their all, and food choice was fantastic. Could have been hotter on arrival, but that's the only criticism food wise - quality, quantity and presentation top notch. Now to decide whether this is the venue for a planned hen party in September??

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    788
    153
    76
    46
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great entertainment, good food, but not a cheap night out.”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Went here whilst we were away as a couple in Feb and had a great night. We couldn't fault the entertainment and the 3 course meal we had was lovely. The drinks list was extensive but pretty much London prices and bar to table service was pretty slow (but the night was totally packed out). It was a fun experience, with corseted and stockinged waitresses and hoop spinning cabaret acts - just be prepared to spend a bit if you plan on drinking.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wedding & Reception 25th May”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

As we write this review on our honeymoon one week after we got married; we are still BUZZING from a brilliant and perfect day,and a day that both of us wish we could relive.
At the Proud Cabaret Brighton, we got married, made use of the cabaret bus for beach photos and champagne, had our wedding breakfast and then held the evening reception.
A truly unique and world class venue to get married. EVERY guest said it was the best wedding and reception they had been to (even some said better than their own!)
Superb organisation and planning. Delicious food. Wonderful staff. Electric atmosphere.
If you are getting married then do not hesitate to put a little bit of (but we recommend all) Proud Cabaret Brighton in to your day.
Thank you so much guys. Julie & Jason :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Sicilian & Viking wedding 29th May Proud Cabaret”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Wanted to stop by & say what a truly, amazing wedding yesterday at Proud Cabaret, cousin Harry Eiken the Viking & his beautiful wife Sicilian Stephie Ciancimino....married at the bandstand & held their wedding reception at the fabulous atmospheric dripping in gorgeousness Proud Cabaret.

Attention to detail was just perfect, food was luscious, the cake rocked, til death do us part from choccywoccydoodah & all of the staff were absolutley lovely, scantily clad belles, & bearded boys...all so divine, thankyou again, Proud Cabaret <3

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thame, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fab hen night”
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

We had a fab hen night at the cabaret. I was perhaps a bit too sober for the burlesque show that night. However, it was fun and we had as great laugh! Food was ok but the atmosphere made up for it.
By the way if your feet ache from heels, don't try and take your shoes off you will be pounced on by the foot police! Maybe they just wanted me to buy more drinks to get rid of the pain!!!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rainbow2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Proud Cabaret Brighton also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Proud Cabaret Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing