We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh and fast”
Review of Pho

Pho
Ranked #52 of 1,139 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $16
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
brighton
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fresh and fast”
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Exactly how Vietnamese should be. We have eaten in a Vietnamese family owned restaurant before and Pho is just as authentic. The starters arrived within minutes of ordering and were s fresh and light. The staff always initiated an explanation of each dish and how to 'built it'. The mains were of a decent size and were again crisp and fresh. The hoi sin, fish sauce, chilli sauce and garlic and chilli oil that can be found on the table gives you the option is tweak the dish to your precise tastes. The mains offer fantastic value and quality, but perhaps the deserts do not offer such value for the price. Mains deserve 5stars if judged alone.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank matandbecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    465
    314
    82
    33
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely place for hot and spicy”
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Can't wait to visit again. Looks normal outside when I passing by for several times. Try it just because I'm so hungry and wanna have some hot and spicy for lunch. Ingredients are fresh and the soup mix several flavors together harmony. Love this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We really enjoyed finding Pho in Brighton which was near our Hotel
The staff were very helpful and attentive and the food special the spicing was spot on and the ingredients extremely fresh.
We wish we lived nearer so we could visit often

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oaks46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“YUM”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Lovely curry and tea pig green tea :o) Can't wait to go again! Have only tried the one dish on a visit but will be going back form more. Reasonable price for food quality too!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank BMY89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Terrible service and food”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I came here yesterday after a long day at the seaside. As a couple we love Asian food, and specially vietnamese street food. This restaurant seemed to tick a lot of boxes for us on our food quest. We asked a friend of ours if the restaurant was any good and she said it was OK, but nothing special.
We decided to go in. It was half full but they said all the tables were booked up - so we sat up by the kitchen. We ordered at 7:30 and waited. We ordered food and drink at the same time. First we waited 20 mins for our herbal teas and tap water, a further 15 mins for our starter, which was not great. Then over an hour for our main. When we complained to the waitress she went to the kitchen and it seemed like they had forgotten our order.

About the food: i ordered the chili octopus and my boyfriend ordered the prawn spring roll. We saw them preparing the food as we were sat at the kitchen. The chicken, prawns and other meats were on the side left at room temperature, in plastic lidless tubs - and not once were they put in a fridge or the lids put back on. My starter of chili octopus was really rubbery as if it hadn't been cooked properly and was swimming in a pool of oil. The spring roll was nice, but knowing how they kept the prawns, put us both off a bit.

Then we both ordered chicken cari. We waited over an hour for it, and we were so starving that when it finally came we didn't want to compain and have it sent back. But the rice seemed like it had dried out , as the external layer was crispy. The cari wasn't great and again, because we had seen how the chicken was kept, it put us off again. Then when our waitress came to ask us if our food was ok, before I could say anything, she said sorry about the wait and basically ran off!!
When we paid we expressed we weren't happy, and our waitress apologies but didn't offer us any form of compensation.
So we left, very unhappy by the whole experience.
I've worked in a lot of restaurants and in different roles so I understand redtaurants get very busy, but the food, the service and the hygene were all terrible.

Definitely will not be going back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tanya_Downes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pho also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Pho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing