We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do Not Stay Here!!!”
Review of The Willows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Willows
Ranked #82 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 6, 2014

This hovel is the worst excuse of a hotel that I have ever experienced.
I had the misfortune to stay here for 1 night, and when I left I felt like I had to go and disinfect myself.

A Summary:

Disgusting shower.
Blocked sink
No towels (although even if they did provide them - I would not be touching them).
Dirty linen (I slept on top of the bed).
No curtains.
Hole (!) in room wall.
Unhelpful staff.

The only bonus was the 10am checkout!

Do not stay here - you will regret it.

Room Tip: Find somewhere else!!
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dave200026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
There are newer reviews for The Willows
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 207 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2014

I stayed one night in a twin bedroom with my friend. the only furniture in the tiny room was two uncomfortable single beds and two tiny little round tables. The bathroom was in a cupboard and the shower took ages to heat up and was a trickle. there were tea and coffee stains on the wall where people had thrown their teabags into the bin. The heating was on full (in july and a very warm night) all night which is probably why they charge so much. We paid £140 for the room for one night and this did not include breakfast. I would not recommend this place at all.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

I like to see the positive side of most things, but once you step foot into this 'hotel' then all the positive will drain from you. I am going to bullet point the review as its a lot quicker to get through.
. I ordered a car park space (1 of 2 available) and someone else parked in it when i had arrived so had to find on street parking.
. Walked into the entrance and no reception or welcome.
. Spoke to a lady who didn't seem to care or know the area.
. Paid £80 on entry which is weird as its normally at the end.
. Walked into the room and instant smell of damp.
. Smallest shower room in the world and had to stand in the room to use the sink.
. No extraction in the shower room (hence the damp).
. The bathroom door didn't shut or lock.
. The whole floor uneven.
. Mould on the skirting in the room.
. No remote for the TV so unable to use.
. The bed was 2 single beds pushed together and they were disgusting and frayed.
. The mattress's were lumpy and very uncomfortable.
. The 1 table lamp was flickering and couldn't be used, which was annoying as the only light switch was by the front door.
. There was only one curtain.
. The pillows were lumpy.
. There was no wardrobe.
The whole experience was just awful. £95 is a joke. A borstal would be nicer.
This is the worst 'hotel' i have ever stayed at and i cannot believe it can stay open and charge for letting people stay.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

PLEASE spend the extra £20 on a 'good' place!

In response to the person who wrote a review claiming 'not to trust the bad reviews'. - You must have been tripping when you stayed there!

Ok, so I stay in a lot of different hotels in Brighton, one in particular in Hove, which usually costs ca. £50-70... on this occasion, it was booked up. So I chose to stay at the Sandalwood. I usually check tripadvisor before booking, but I was in a rush.

-The first floor smelt of stale urine.
-The carpets were filthy - (Why no one hoovers is beyond me)
-The walls are all scuffed up - (one in fact looked like it had been urinated against)
-Our bed (double) was two singles pushed together, with a pube infested blanket covering the mattresses and a blood stained sheet on top. (oooph)
-The sink in our room was blocked...(a previous review mentioned this - they've obviously done nothing about it - it would take me 5 mins to clear it)
-The fire-alarm was set-off at about 4am by people smoking on the floor above us. (Someone tried to re-set it after a while, the alarm went off, but the unit kept on beeping throughout the rest of the night)
-The shower sprayed more water out of the shower and on to the floor than it did on the person standing in the shower (cold as well)

It is such a shame, that this place is what it is.. a lick of paint, some CLEANING and a friendly smile when checking in would be marvellous. It would change the whole dynamics of this place.
The owners obviously don't care. It's just lazy!

I will never stay here again... dreadful!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 55MK55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

In this hotel now after gig in Brighton. £95 for a twin room. Filthy. Central heating on full blast and it is summer outside. No means of switching off & no ome to ask. Single light from ceiling but no bedside lights. Bathroom is a cupboard with shutter doors (no privacy), loo & tiny shower. Sink doesnt drain. Stay somewhere else. This is abysmal.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank gleelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

This place need to be closed and a total refit. Then some owners that have an idea about running a guest house ie cleaning rooms daily, putting clean towels in room daily and refill tea, coffee and milk daily then it maybe ok to stay because in is in a very good place there are some good pubs and restaurant in walking distance. Then there is Brighton centre about 1.5 miles away.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Joth70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Tiny, dirty, noisy. We booked a twin room and were given a double. No hot water. Sink blocked. No curtains or shutters on the windows. No staff to complain to..
I cannot imagine in what sort of crazed parallel universe a night in this place would be worth the extortionate rates charged, for zero service, zero comfort, zero cleanliness.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Di D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Hamptons Brighton
Hamptons Brighton
#48 of 94 in Brighton
120 reviews
0.0 mi away
Court Craven Guest House
Court Craven Guest House
#44 of 94 in Brighton
72 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waynes Place
Waynes Place
#56 of 94 in Brighton
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Istanbul EV Guest House
Istanbul EV Guest House
#63 of 94 in Brighton
84 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brighton Breeze
Brighton Breeze
#76 of 94 in Brighton
97 reviews
0.8 mi away
Churchill Brighton
Churchill Brighton
#43 of 94 in Brighton
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willows

Address: 27 Lower Rock Gardens, Brighton BN2 1PG, England (Formerly Sandalwood Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: $52 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Willows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Willows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing