We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The worst ive had”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Warung Tujuh - CLOSED

Warung Tujuh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $19
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: An authentic Indonesian ding experience Indonesian food is at it's best when it is eaten at a Warung, a road side food stall which is frequented by locals and tourists alike. At a Warung you are guaranteed a wonderful gastronomic experience at a very reasonable price. At Warung Tujuh it is our aim to recreate this dining delight for you here in Brighton. With our Indonesian Chef's and owner we hope to bring selection of the dishes that make up our diverse regional cuisine to your table and we hope you enjoy eating them as much as we have enjoyed creating them for you.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The worst ive had”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Ordered a delivery and the portions where sooooo soooo smalll the main loooked like a starter wosrt 31 pound ever spent foood wasn't wow it was normal first and last time

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank hiba87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    106
    25
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food, awful service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Having been here before and had a brilliant meal, we decided to come back on Saturday. The food itself was absolutely lovely - I had the swordfish satay and the grilled lamb for main. Swordfish satay was very small - another skewer could have been good! The service however was shockingly slow - we waited a while for our starter, then our main took over 40 minutes to arrive afterwards and that was only when we asked as to why it was taking so long...it had clearly been forgotten judging by the waitresses face and came out fairly quickly after we asked, but by this point we were absolutely starving! It was a bit of an effort to grab the attention of the waitress to request more drinks, and looking around at the other tables it seemed everyone was having the same problem - she seemed absolutely oblivious to the 7 tables she was serving! Also, would recommend that you don't sit by the window on the first floor as it was chilly! Our bill came to £65 including service which whilst not completely unreasonable, seemed a lot for 2 small starters, 2 mains and 3 Tiger beers each...! We would probably go back because the food is so delicious but the service does need to improve somewhat!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Mild food poisoning”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

I'd eaten here before and the food was good, however this time round I ordered beef rendang on a Saturday afternoon and it was served up looking like yesterday's leftovers. The service was so good that I felt rude to complain so I ate it and I've spent the rest of the day and night complaining of a tummy ache. I won't be going back!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank MrVertigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Indonesian Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

We decided to try this restaurant after reading the reviews. Glad we went. The waitress was very friendly. The food was fab. Really enjoyed our meal. It was nice to have something a bit different to the usual Thai.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheungster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fresh”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

Everything was fresh and delicious. It is a small restaurant so reservations will keep you from waiting for a table. House red is surprisingly good. Recommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warung Tujuh also viewed

Hove, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing