We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attentive staff, stylish interior and good food makes this our number one local restaurant”

Preston Park Tavern
Ranked #501 of 1,133 Restaurants in Brighton
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Locals and foodies mix in this delightfully bright and cheerful family-friendly food pub – a hidden gem, which has remained busy and buzzy since it opened six years ago. Something of a local institution, this fabulous pub serves good honest food, prepared with skill and passion. Beautifully prepared roast meals are served on Sundays from 12 to 6pm. With superb Sussex reared meats, a vegetarian and fish option as well as small portions for children, it’s hard to find a reason not to visit.
Brighton
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Attentive staff, stylish interior and good food makes this our number one local restaurant”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

PPT, as it is known locally, is our number one choice when we want to eat locally. The food is always good and the service is faultless. Our neighbours must feel the same as it is frequently full and there is often a wait for tables. There are tables outside which is great in the summer.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BrightonJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Preston Par... T, Owner at Preston Park Tavern, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thanks for your great review. Yes, we love the fact that we have so many local people who come in regularly. It's really good to be able to get to know our customers. Hope to see you again soon. Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    54
    22
    27
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Watlington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“5 Stars!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

First time at this restaurant on Monday night and enjoyed every bite. Between the four of us, we had, home baked bread, hake fish cakes, thai mussel broth, slow-roast pork, char-grilled mackerel and whole plaice. All pronounced delicious and served as generous portions. The lemon posset and bread and butter pudding went down well for those who still had space for desert. Welcoming, knowledgeable staff and plenty of space between tables, which is not often the case these days. Drank a cote du rhone and a recommended white. Thought both good value. Will definitely return when next in Brighton.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidNiven2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Preston Par... T, Owner at Preston Park Tavern, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of the PPT. We're really pleased you enjoyed your meal with us and look forward to seeing you when you are next in town. Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Roast for vegetarians and meat eaters!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My partner and I regularly eat at Preston Park Tavern, they do a seriously good Sunday roast, incomparably better than any of the other local pubs. I'm vegetarian and my partner eats meat which can sometimes make it challenging to find a restaurant we both enjoy, but Preston Park Tavern almost always manages to cater well for us both. My only slight criticism would be that the veggie selection on the lunch and evenings menus can sometimes lack imagination in terms of dishes being frequently repeated, it would be nice to see more variation to ensure regular customers can try something new when they visit! Overall though a really lovely pub,good atmosphere, great staff and good quality food!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LCV5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen C, Owner at Preston Park Tavern, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thanks so much for your review, I'm really pleased you enjoyed your meals with us yesterday and that you enjoy visiting the PPT. We take on board your comments and will look to change the vegetarian options more often. Once again, thanks for taking the time to write a review and we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Nice”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Friendly, great staff and earnest kitchen.

Last time they were shut on a Bank Holiday, fgs!!

Portions a little mean with the mackeral and crab - overwhelming plate of cabbage. Asperger's soup tasteless. Steak's a good effort, but maybe steak's not be eaten in gastropubs when you can generally serve up better at home.

A tune away from outstanding, maybe needs an old doggy in the kitchen to head the team?

Importantly tho' is the best pub in the area for poshos. My wife's very posh and Parkview is hideous pushchair, crap food,knobs and tattoo sleeve virgins; whilst down by Blakers park is like a East End blitz pub - drink lager for safety.

So always Preston Park Tavern for a mental, graduate to the Park place when we've lived here a bit longer.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mat578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen C, Owner at Preston Park Tavern, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thanks for your review and sorry you didn't like the asparagus soup. Had you let us know at the time, we would happily have replaced it for you. We do open on bank holidays but not Christmas Day, Boxing Day or New Years Day as we like our staff to be able to spend these holidays with families and friends. So, if you did try to visit on one of those 3 days, I'm really sorry to have disappointed you. Hope to see you again soon at the PPT.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
342 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Recovered since I last visited”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I last ate in 'the Lady Pub' (so-named because of the preponderance of Boden wearing females) a few years ago and was severely underwhelmed by the service, standard of food and cost.

I gave it another chance last night and was impressed by: the attentive (without being cloying) service, the great Long Man APA and well cooked food (although one of my fellow diners moaned about his dry pork, but nothing's ever perfect for him). I had hake on sweet potato with a side order of new spuds. Although its a gastropub, it charges restaurant prices but its worth it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrightonShredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen C, Owner at Preston Park Tavern, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
The Lady Pub - I like that!!! I'm so glad you enjoyed your meal with us last night and thank you for your comments. If the pork was on the dry side for your friend, I do apologise and will certainly let chef know. Many thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Preston Park Tavern also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Preston Park Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing