We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's ok, I guess”
Review of Steki Brighton

Steki Brighton
Ranked #253 of 1,133 Restaurants in Brighton
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
383 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“It's ok, I guess”
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

I chose this restaurant as it was close to my hotel and time was at a premium. I was sorry I had.

The place was very busy (owing to a largish convention next door). Service was understandably on the slow side although our waitress was really lovely and appalled that I didn't like my meal.
I've travelled to Greece a few times and LOVE the food. Sadly, only the pita bread was great. Everything was bland or tasteless.
It's too bad, really. Great location and nice staff.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmberK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    72
    37
    42
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
139 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Delicious home-cooking”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We fancied something a bit 'different' and as we don't have any Greek restaurants near home, thought we'd give Steki's a try. Some of the Tripadvisor reviews made me a bit nervous, but hey...

As we entered we were greeted and shown to the table of our choice (there were a few other diners, not many).

We plumped for a bottle of Retsina and ordered the meze for 2 plus Feta Saganaki with honey (which is a delicious fried feta cheese). We also ordered a side of Greek salad.

Main course I wanted Moussaka but there was none left (disappointedm but on the plus side shows it wouldn't be coming out of the freezer!) so I plumped for Stifado, and hubby went for Kleftiko.

What can I tell you? That the starters were SO tasty & filling we almost couldn't eat our mains? (the octopus was simply divine!) That the mains were SO delicious we couldn't leave them? We love our food and we love GOOD food. This is GREAT food! (oh and yes, we know Greek food very well, through travel & through family)

We had a coffee and Tsipouro to finish - no room for a dessert. The bill was in the region of £55. Amazing value, amazing food and a lovely place.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank janeymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice food, bit of a squeeze”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The food was lovely. Not as big a choice as I've had before in Greek restaurants but the food was good quality. It was a bit tight to fit us all in though!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Felicity H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hove sussex
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“fab night”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

we had a very nice meal here on saturday night friends from Iceland loved the food,service was great food came out piping hot.
Would deffo go back.Oh yes and the place was packed

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank simba1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Close to Hotel - a big plus”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I loved being able to get a "bottle only" of Pino Grigio by the glass! Hence, very accommodating staff. Unfortunately my partner was not very keen on the food and is well versed in Greek food! Nice atmosphere with exterior eating for hot nights.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bmcream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steki Brighton also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Hove, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Steki Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing