We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing breakfast, friendly service and great tea cosies”
Review of Temptation - CLOSED

Temptation
Price range: $13 - $32
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Bourne End, Bucks
Level Contributor
120 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Amazing breakfast, friendly service and great tea cosies”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Had an absolutely delicious breakfast at Temptation this morning. A group of us were served by delightful and friendly staff and we all agreed that the food was worth the longer than we anticipated walk from our hotel. The cakes looked incredible - we were all just sorry that the breakfasts had left us so full, otherwise we might have stayed all day!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WanderingBun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    25
    7
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“The food saves the day”
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

The food is really nice, but the service is a bit of a let down. Very fresh and quick with a good selection.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CityHoppersLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Very disappointed, will not go back”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Had lunch here earlier, a sunny and very busy day in the Lanes. Service was very slow, staff were pleasant enough but seriously inefficient. We ordered one of their Sussex breakfasts and two eggs Benedict. The breakfast was really mediocre; poached eggs undercooked, watery and cold inside, bacon crispy but dried out, sausage and mushrooms tasty. When I complained about the eggs I was informed it's because they were so busy, not the greatest reason I've ever heard. The eggs Benedict were ok. As the breakfast was £8.95 I'd expect much better and I wouldn't eat here again or recommend it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JBizzzay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“late lunch in september”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a nice little cafe in on of the small streets with photo's to buy on the walls and a real sea side cafe feel to it. Lovely sandwiches and coffee and nice friendly service.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank AL8800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent organic and locally sourced food”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Lovely breakfast and nice memorabilia! The food was extremely tasty and the portions big for a good price. Home made cakes too and we saw them bring out a huge carrot cake that had just been finished. yum yum

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Evileva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Temptation also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing