We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fish and chips in Brighton and more”
Review of Fishy Fishy - CLOSED

Fishy Fishy
Price range: $0 - $56
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Fishy Fishy Seafood Brasserie, a relaxed, informal, predominantly seafood led dining experience in Brighton promoting fresh, local and seasonal seafood. With its focus on all day dining encouraging, a relaxed atmosphere and its simple décor including a large outside dining area.
Hove
Level 6 Contributor
401 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips in Brighton and more”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We regularly eat at this excellent fish restaurant. Today it was Sunday lunch with family including a 5 year old. Two delicious plates of fish and chips, a whole crab, roasted gurnard and fish goujons. Followed by home made treacle tart and creamy ice cream. A good wine list and excellent coffee topped off with friendly staff and all at a reasonable price. What more can one want?

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sjhHove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

739 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    365
    230
    79
    39
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best place in Brighton for fish, service and ambience.”
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

The best Restuarant I visited whilst in Brighton. The lobster is to die for!! The service there is immaculate, they really look after you! The prices match the food quality and the over all experience is relaxing and luxurious. I would recommend to any fish lover!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Finchyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A fishy lunch”
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

We ate hear after reading about it in the national press
Had wanted an economical lunch and the only thing on the menu to for the budget was fish and chips so we chose a soup
The soup was brilliant but so spicy hot it brought tears to your eyes
As it started to fill up got the impession there is a lack of space when seated not somewhere we would go again but glad we have been

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Surreysurfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“come for the service”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I don't know how they do it, but this restaurant has the best staff on the planet. I've never eat anywhere where I've been treated with such a winning combination of friendliness and efficiency. Full praise to the owner.
After all that I feel really cruel having to say this but our two dishes were mean and mediocre. Classic fish and chips, was two small bits of so so quality cod in heaps of batter. Clever marketing having two rather than one piece of fish but also clever accounting as it meant more batter and less fish. Moules marinieres; the mussels were tiny to the point of hardly worth the bother to extract from their shells; sauce was indifferent. Chips were Mcdonald type fries; the oven version from Marks are vastly superior. All in all a thoroughly dispiriting culinary experience. For better fish at half the price do down to Marine Drive. This was the cheapest end of the menu and maybe we were just unlucky, given the wonderful service I do hope so.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank visitor_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Gone downhill”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We have visited the restaurant many times in the past and always had a good meal.

We went for lunch today and the whole plaice had gone downhill, we had fish and chips, although not the most adventurous choice, we thought given its a fish restaurant that it would be top class !
Well it wasn't, the fish batter was soggy where it was soaked in oil, the chips were similar to McCain fries and the condiments were thrown onto a plate.

Given the prices they charge I would have expected better.

Not sure if Dermot still owns this restaurant, but if he does he needs to give it a bit of the X-factor before it goes out of business.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fitzbern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fishy Fishy also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing