We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the range buffet”

Day's Oriental Buffet
Ranked #617 of 1,124 Restaurants in Brighton
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Gillingham Dorset
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Top of the range buffet”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is how we found it. A wide choice of food, the quality of which seemed high and the staff were helpful. The buffet is subject to a fixed price for which you eat as much as you wish, which idea is becoming more common these days [excuse the pun], but not everybody does it right. We felt that Days had got it about right. We shall certainly give their Bournemouth restaurant, which is somewhat nearer to where we live, a try as soon as a suitable opportunity arises

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    191
    152
    107
    172
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“If you're used to eating out....avoid”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

I can understand that many may enjoy days for its takeaway esque appeal. If you eat out at nixe restaurants frequently then avoid days like the plague.

The food is greasy and old, perhaps having just been unfrozen and quickly heated up. The tables and chairs are very much dirty and broken. I had a chunk of wood fall off mine.

All the meat is fatty, all the pastry is stale. The desert selection consists of jelly cubes, ginger nuts and marshmallows for the most part.

Please, if you want a delicious Chinese then make a trip to hove and go to dannys on portland road.

Days is an awful place to eat, I feel disgusting.


  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NickTaylor333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing atmosphere. Amazing food.”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The food was hot, fresh, and delicious. My father (a chinese connoisseur) proclaims the fare served as the highest for this grade of restaurant (and relative fare charge, £7.99 for lunch, £12.99 for an evening meal per person) that he has experienced in the past fifteen years. Many costumers mistake a Busser with a Server in this self-service kind of venue, which is where the misconception around service occurs. The Host will take you to your table, if you wish for additional drinks, take yourself to the bar and order them (to your table number), a Busser will purely be responsible for clearing tables. The lemon chicken and chicken satay was delightfully moist, the aromatic duck was beautifully crisp. The lighting was gorgeous, a perfect blend between colourful, and intimate, perfect for a small evening out or a large party of work colleagues for friends, with private rooms available for hire The Teppanyaki was always operating with a large selection of fare, including options like calamari (squid), there was an amazing selection of sushi, plenty of chef's specials (vary seasonally and weekly, near the back of the primary seating area), the desserts were plentiful, and the decor was intriguing yet in keeping with the modern but intimate theme of the restaurant. I took my party of guests here after having a highly positive experience with a much larger group (30+ people in a private room, situated very close to bathrooms). I'm very pleased to say the quality of the experience was matched and bettered with a smaller group.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“ABSOLUTELY DISGUSTING!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Went with my wife and 5 kids for my daughters birthday.

Staff are rude and abrupt, foods not all that and you dont really get value for money. My wife had a free drink voucher which she used for one of the kids drinks and when they all arrived 4 fanta's were pints and the free one came in what can only be described as a thimble, we didnt even ask for pints and i dont really want my kids to be drinking a pint of fizzy drink either!!!

Its just a major rip off and they do not hide their disdain for you when they are rumping you and as for the "line on the wall" way of charging you (if you are taller than the line you pay £15 not £7.50) well one of te kids with us, 11 years old and the youngest in our parrty was over the line by an inch and paid double!

I asked for a pint of water and was told they dont do water pints, water only comes in a "Water glass"???? firstly whats a "water glass" and secondly when the "water glass" arrived, it was the thimble again!!


STEER CLEAR AT ALL COSTS

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AntonPolanski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Large choice, cheap price, young people around, poor service (and service is just to drink), as a total very good”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Even if Japan is just three sushi types and a few maki, the sashimi and other sushi were fake just for show, the very good and large choice of Indian and Chinese food is a winning point. The incredibly cheap price even if it is a "all you can eat buffet", the Mongolian ready to order wok, and Far East specials are great and they are the match point. Il you are thirsty pls drink before entering because it will take a life to get drinks. Then you will never know if you will get Pepsi or coke: whatever you ask they answer 'yes we have it' but if you ask regular Pepsi and then you ask 'are you sure this is the diet coke I've ordered?" They tell you "of course mister". Pls try! You will have fun! But get rewarded by the incredible choice of sweets including a white/black chocolate fountain and ice creams and cakes and candies and an ambulance for a diabetes attack!! I love this place!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dblazio74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Day's Oriental Buffet also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Day's Oriental Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing