We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expectation sadly unfulfilled”
Review of Jamie's Italian

Jamie's Italian
Ranked #174 of 1,124 Restaurants in Brighton
Price range: $19 - $32
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: JAMIE'S ITALIAN BRIGHTON A partnership between Jamie Oliver and his Italian mentor, chef Gennaro Contaldo, Jamie's Italian has won thousands of fans for its delicious and affordable food since launching their first restaurant in Oxford in May 2008. The Jamie's Italian menu is based on dishes you'd find people eating all over Italy, made with care but delivered without fuss. The family-friendly restaurants are all about serving up rustic, Italian food made using the best possible ingredients, plus fresh pasta that's made on-site every day, and an award-winning children's menu, too. The lovely Brighton restaurant is located on Black Lion Street, a stone's throw from the seafront, nestled within Brighton's famous Lanes. The rooftop terrace is a great spot to enjoy a drink and a bowl of our freshly made pasta or a burger after a trip to the beach, or relax in one of the cosy booths and watch the chefs at work in their beautiful open kitchen. There's something for everyone here, whatever the occasion - a quick bite with friends or a big family dinner - come in and soak up the atmosphere while you tuck into some delicious Italian food.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Expectation sadly unfulfilled”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Dinner with three friends, all had the fixed price menu, 2 friends had been there once before and raved about, sadly, they were disappointed with this visit and so was I.

The starter, which was on the "plank", was the vegetable selection, was ok, a dish was swimming in oil, which was not at all palatable and left one's lips feeling very greasy, not nice. The others had the meat, which they said was adequate,

The main course was the fish, was ok, but a tiny portion and swimming in garlic, bits of salad, which did not really give anything and spoiled the fish. The side dish of the polenta chips was really a load of deep-fried nothingness, and the broccoli was very al dente and could have done with a few minutes longer in the microwave (bits of it were mushy so I do not think it was freshly cooked...). The others all had the pork belly, I tried this and could say I was impressed, the meat was very chewy on the bit I had, perhaps I was unlucky?

The dessert was the chocolate brownie with ice cream and a lump of pop-corn, what was that all about? Not all the kernels had popped, had to be spat out, the brownie was something that could have come from Asda and the ice cream was nothing special. The others has tiramisu, they said it lacked a coffee flavour and was bland.

It seemed to me that the food had been prepared by trainees, and not that well at that.

The cost for 4 persons, including the tip, wine, and coffee for 2 came to £150.00, an adequate meal that deserved only a fraction of the price, so was poor value for money and was disappointing, I will not be returning there again!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    705
    659
    487
    299
    191
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A good experience”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Overall a good experience. Having never visited a Jamie's before we weren't sure what to expect. The atmosphere was great and the service very attentive. My daughter loved the children's menu - which was read through old school kids binoculars - a nice touch also for the kids was the "I ate my veggies at Jamie's badge". Food was good italian food but a little overpriced but I think that's to be expectede with the name. Would recomend for special or family occasion.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gruffalo-Crumble-01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“As you would expect”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I have been to several of Jamie's Italian restaurants around the country. They do not disappoint. The food as you would expect is very good. It is also priced reasonably when you compare with other chains. The service in Brighton was attentive and good. We had a drink at the bar before sitting down, and the bar person was very adept, he made two lovely cocktails for us. My only minus to this place is that it is rather dark and murky, it would benefit from a little more light, or some lighter colour scheme. We had a lovely time at this venue, and managed not to be put off by the couple who seemed more intent on eating each other, rather than the food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
266 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Excellent food and pleasant service”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I love Jamie's Italian restaurants and have been to several. In my view they never disappoint, with tasty original food, good service and an excellent choice of alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks. The Brighton Jamie's was just as good as all the others I have been to. We ate quite late on a Friday night-I had pre-booked- but were not kept waiting long-our waitress was friendly and helpful and the bar staff were very nice and good at their jobs.
It was an awful rainy night, the waitress called a cab for us and it was with us within 5 minutes!

The crab and mango starter is fabulous as is the pork belly main!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bea_K186223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Ate here 30/10/13 for lunch. Great room to eat in, attentive staff and good selection of food and wine. Portions good be bigger but the food was yummy and the place had a good vibe. Will return!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foster3960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jamie's Italian also viewed

Crawley, West Sussex
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Jamie's Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing