We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, great atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jamie's Italian

Jamie's Italian
Ranked #172 of 1,098 Restaurants in Brighton
Price range: $19 - $31
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: JAMIE'S ITALIAN BRIGHTON A partnership between Jamie Oliver and his Italian mentor, chef Gennaro Contaldo, Jamie's Italian has won thousands of fans for its delicious and affordable food since launching their first restaurant in Oxford in May 2008. The Jamie's Italian menu is based on dishes you'd find people eating all over Italy, made with care but delivered without fuss. The family-friendly restaurants are all about serving up rustic, Italian food made using the best possible ingredients, plus fresh pasta that's made on-site every day, and an award-winning children's menu, too. The lovely Brighton restaurant is located on Black Lion Street, a stone's throw from the seafront, nestled within Brighton's famous Lanes. The rooftop terrace is a great spot to enjoy a drink and a bowl of our freshly made pasta or a burger after a trip to the beach, or relax in one of the cosy booths and watch the chefs at work in their beautiful open kitchen. There's something for everyone here, whatever the occasion - a quick bite with friends or a big family dinner - come in and soak up the atmosphere while you tuck into some delicious Italian food.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food, great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Hadn't booked but got a table although the place was pretty busy for a Tuesday night. Staff were charming and friendly and there was a nice buzzing atmosphere. Loved the decor and feel of the place, and the food was very good - perfectly cooked chicken & burgers. Slightly overpriced for what you got, but to be honest I've paid more for far worse meals...We had a couple of kids with us and found it very child friendly. Had a great evening and would definitely go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ClaireS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    678
    643
    477
    291
    184
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cardiff wales
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Over rated... Wheres Jamie?needs to oversee !”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

A casual evening with friends in Cardiff who were visiting from Bristol. Never go to a chain restaurant normally, I have walked past Jamies a few times recently and thought' I 'll give it a try again, after swearing Id never go there again after a bad experience.
How wrong was I again a bad experience, don't get me wrong the service was fantastic, only because we had a really really good waitress.
Starters pathetic.... Small sizes and I have not got a big appetite just as well. Bread stale! No flavour, or taste to the Squid at £6 pathetic. Main course Ravioli with pea, broad beans ricotta cheese,
3 pieces of Ravioli disguised under a forest of pea shoots, peas and beans!! A butte sauce and again No taste so added salt black pepper and parmesan to kill the bland taste. Friend had what looked like rice floating in soggy
Slush was supposed to be a risotto! Um don't think so. Followed by a over powering chocolate flavored tiramisu.
Come On ... £45 for two and 1 coke bottle of water 2'coffees and for what... I am not a moaning customer but save your money and eat at the Corner house across the pavement, or anywhere except Jamies.
Jamie Oliver you should be ashamed of ripping the general public off.
A quick buck is what your looking for not customer satisfaction - very sad don't bother. Take your name off this awful place before it ruins your reputation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tasherCardiffWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Expensive and small portions,slightly disappointed.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Came here for the first time today for lunch. Didn't need to book,but place was full of families with noisy children. We ordered drinks which were expensive and both of us had a chicken pasta dinner with walnuts. There are two portion sizes,small and large,was very glad I chose the large and did question whether they had brought the small one out by mistake as it was a very small portion. The pasta you could tell was freshly made and there were lots of interesting flavours, my friend didn't like the flavours at all but I quite enjoyed it. We both finished in no time and were both still really hungry afterwards, maybe that's the idea, a small dinner so you have to buy dessert! I had the chocolate brownie with ice cream and pop corn on top, it was absolutely delicious,generously sized and would highly recommend. My friend had a lemoncello meringue pie and she said it was very good. We finished with cappuccinos which were very nice.
I would recommend it here, the menu is 'different' but in a good way, the chips didn't look particularly nice and were a very small portion. I would like to come back but not in the school holidays and would like to try something different.
The staff were very busy, some quite friendly and some not, there was a lot of general chit chat between them about where they were going on holiday and not a lot of talk about what was happening in the restaurant, there were a lot of tables left uncleared which made the restaurant have a messy look about it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank angeh15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Underwhelming.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Arrived at around 5.30pm and were seated immediately. Restaurant was busy but not full. Food overall was okay, but nothing special. We struggled to chose from the menu - if you don't like chilli you are a bit stuffed. 90% of dishes contain some form of chilli!
Starters arrived quickly, quickly followed by main course. One of us had steak and chips off of specials board - not that special, but tasted ok. Was cooked to his liking but small sized portion of chips served in a little aluminium bucket/flower pot. Two teenage children had tagliatelle bolognaise, as they are not keen on chilli and not much else to chose from. Both commented that it was very meaty but a bit bland and needed seasoning. Pasta wasn't drained properly, water floating in bottom of bowl. Spring Ravioli was very nice, however homemade pesto was very intense - I could still taste it the following day. Overall a pleasant experience, service was prompt and friendly. Drinks expensive as you would expect. Probably won't return - much better local Italian restaurants within the local area to choose from serving better quality good food. Shame as we all had great expectations.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GillyC_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid Wales
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A bit like Frankie and Benny's!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

A nice restaurant with a buzzing atmosphere. First time at a J O restaurant. Thought it would have a bit more of a unique touch than a 'chain restaurant' however the food was good and the service was particularly friendly. Happy with what we paid for food however drinks a it on the expensive side. Pleased on the whole. :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AngandEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jamie's Italian also viewed

Crawley, West Sussex
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Jamie's Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing