We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your typical chain”
Review of Jamie's Italian

Jamie's Italian
Ranked #170 of 1,133 Restaurants in Brighton
Price range: $19 - $32
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: JAMIE'S ITALIAN BRIGHTON A partnership between Jamie Oliver and his Italian mentor, chef Gennaro Contaldo, Jamie's Italian has won thousands of fans for its delicious and affordable food since launching their first restaurant in Oxford in May 2008. The Jamie's Italian menu is based on dishes you'd find people eating all over Italy, made with care but delivered without fuss. The family-friendly restaurants are all about serving up rustic, Italian food made using the best possible ingredients, plus fresh pasta that's made on-site every day, and an award-winning children's menu, too. The lovely Brighton restaurant is located on Black Lion Street, a stone's throw from the seafront, nestled within Brighton's famous Lanes. The rooftop terrace is a great spot to enjoy a drink and a bowl of our freshly made pasta or a burger after a trip to the beach, or relax in one of the cosy booths and watch the chefs at work in their beautiful open kitchen. There's something for everyone here, whatever the occasion - a quick bite with friends or a big family dinner - come in and soak up the atmosphere while you tuck into some delicious Italian food.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not your typical chain”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Great food, great service, great value, family friendly and nice setting with a rooftop terrace.
Really good starters, really good pasta dishes and great drinks.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ISGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    716
    664
    491
    300
    195
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had gone to Brighton for a few days away and my partner booked a table for 7:30pm on a Wednesday Evening. We Queued until 7:45 to get through the door to then be told our table wasn't ready so go and have a drink at the bar!!
Only 2 staff working the bar, one to restaurant orders and one for bar area... waited 20 MINUTES to be served!! Despite standing directly in front of barmen he continued to serve a group that came in 10 minutes AFTER us.... NOT HAPPY!
When we mentioned to the barman that we had waited 20 minutes for a drink ( they had limited choice of drinks too!) we were then told very sternly by a waitress in the background "We're busy!"
Not a good first impression....
Anyway once seated ( by the bottom of the stairs!) we had a different waitress that was very friendly and helpful but unfortunately what we had ordered was a total let down.
Mushrooms to start with... floating in old with burnt cheese around the edge, bland and tasteless and the main coarse chicken was so gristly I spent 15 minutes trying to pull it apart... eventually gave up and couldn't eat it.
It is amazing how much money Jamie Oliver earns from his reputation and restaurants ...people go to his restaurants expecting descent food but what you get in reality is bland food and poor service...Jamie clearly needs to eat in his own restaurant to experience it for himself!
Would not recommend or return for a second visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank valentine73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
telford
Level Contributor
119 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Just as we expected”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had visited Jamie's in Birmingham and really enjoyed our meal - this meal was even better and very good value for money.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TelfordHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great pasta and good service”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

6 adults us 1 baby in a busy Saturday afternoon in Brighton!
Table right next to the kitchen but this only added to the entertainment. Very busy but service still more than acceptable. Great menu choice plus specials. 3 of us went for the special pasta 'ragout'. Fantastic! Crab Spagettini a bit over spiced (chilli) for my wife but otherwise excellent. Baby looked after - great quality high chair, crayons etc plus foc breadsticks while we waited.
Overall well worth a visit at about £25 per head including wine/drinks.
Would certainly go again if only to see if one particle member if the kitchen staff could drop as many plates again!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely food.”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We visited for lunch and was our first visit. The menu left us spoiled for choice but we eventually chose and weren't disappointed. The food was delicious and portion size was generous. I can highly recommend the polenta chips.
The service was friendly and very quick and the restaurant itself was modern and fun. With quirky but ultra clean toilets.
This isn't probably my first choice for an intimate dinner for two but is just right for families or an informal lunch. I intend to return again very soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jackosaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jamie's Italian also viewed

Crawley, West Sussex
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Jamie's Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing