We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kind owner, limited menu choices.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of IL Bistro

IL Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
IL Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #79 of 1,098 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Locally owned and locally loved, IL Bistro is the original bistro in the lanes. A family run steakhouse brasserie that specialises in the best available scotch steaks, prime cut meats and seafood dishes. IL Bistro has worked with local food suppliers since 1976 and prides itself on being one of the longest serving independent restaurants in Brighton. Set in a fisherman's cottage which dates back to the 18th century in the reign of George I the restaurant is situated in the heart of the lanes in Market street and is within walking distance from the beach, Churchill square, the Royal Pavilion and the Theatre Royal and is open for pre theatre dining, breakfast and lunches seven days a week.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
136 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Kind owner, limited menu choices.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

the menu did not thrill me in its choices and the food was just ok, if the prices were cheaper then it would justify the look of the place and the cuisine. kind manager/owner and a nice evening but not special and not wow factor.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank spaggia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    117
    51
    15
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Vegetarian lasagne I have ever eaten”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

I had lunch here with my partner about a week ago. He had a burger and I had a vegetarian lasagna. It was utterly amazing. Came to about £15 including drinks. Will be returning! Best veggie lasagna I have ever eaten.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bobzw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“lovely hidden gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

When we arrived the restaurant was very quiet for 8pm in the evening, although it was a very cold and rainy thursday! The restaurant is cute and quirky with lovely decor. The staff were very friendly, attentive and charming. The food was delicious, I went for the chicken and it was beautifully cooked and full of flavour. The food was very reasonably priced and of a high quality - my friend and I felt that a lot of love was put into the food - I would definitely go back again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ean11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

I booked quite late for a party of 11 and was looking for a private room. All I asked for was provided and the staff bent over backwards to be helpful and accommodating. Food tasted great and was excellent value. All in all a great place for a party if you want a private room with good food for everyone with a lot of choice. Other part of the restaurant looked like it had a great atmosphere so in sure it's fantastic if you're in a smaller group.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonTravel78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Great service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Booked last min for a friends 40th & the manager gave us a private room. It was perfect! The food was ok but it's reasonably priced. Most of our party had steak which were v good. Staff couldn't do enough for us.

Helpful?
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed IL Bistro also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to IL Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing