We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A WOW meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Steine Restaurant

New Steine Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
New Steine Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #509 of 1,098 Restaurants in Brighton
Cuisines: French, European
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Ashford Kent
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A WOW meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Went here with a Gourmet meal Voucher offering two of us a special meal. And the Restautrant certaily delivered. We eat out a lot around the world and this meal is up there amongst the best.

Everything as promised - five courses plus sorbet, an opportunity at the beginning to tell the chef if there were any of his course choices you didn't like, excellent food, perfectly cooked, well presented and pleasently served. I would have hated to have a "full" dish of any of the courses.

We will certainly go back, , next time taking friends to share our new found delight.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TonyB100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    34
    21
    15
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, England
Level Contributor
199 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Could be great with a bit of tweaking.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Used a Living Social voucher for dinner recently. Nice welcome and seated comfortably in a very pleasant room that soon filled up with diners. There was an option of a small glass of red or white, no rose available. The white we had wasn't all that. For starters I had crab rillette and my husband had the duck pate. After a considerable wait, we were both served three slices of sour dough toast with the rillette and pate in an espresso cup with a morsel of parsley on top. We both would have preferred one less toast and maybe some mayonnaise (lime?) with the crab and a few baby leaves, and a chutney or sauce with the pate. Both of them were pretty dry and crumbly to eat as served, and mine wasn't particularly flavoursome. I then had the pork cheeks cooked in red wine sauce and hubby (unwisely) had the ballotine of chicken. I received five good pieces of pork, beautifully tender with a portion of creamed potato. The chicken was huge and so was the lump of dauphinois potato that accompanied it. Again, we would have preferred smaller portions of meat and have some vegetables with the meal. Also, the chicken was stuffed with cheese, the dauphinois was very cheesy, and it overwhelmed the rest of the flavours. We had two large glasses of red with our meal which was a lot better than the white we started with. At no point were we asked whilst we had our food in front of us if everything was ok.
So......., for the money we paid, we mustn't grumble. However, these meals were from the a la carte menu, and had we paid full price we wouldn't have been happy. The people that served us were very pleasant, the place had a nice buzz, and our meals could have been brilliant with just a bit of thought and care.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pearlpoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“great meal great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

visited the new steine bistro this week with a living social voucher, my wife and i both had pate to start which was nice, my wife had guinea fowl to follow and i plumped for the porterhouse steak, both meals were very tasty and the service was excellent, i really cannot understand why some people are tarnishing this bistro with bad reviews, anyway it gets the thumbs up from us and we would recommend it

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank terry l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Amazing food and service, WOW what a find......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

We visited this restaurant last night after buying a Living Social Deal. WOW what a find...
My husband and I came with 2 other friends.
The bistro is attached to the hotel and is small with only 8 or so tables and had a lovely intimate feel.
We started of with, Foie Gras and also snails, both dishes were superb, we then had the Moules Marinier for a main along with Pork Cheeks, and also calf's liver, again all of the mains were really tasty, well portioned and well presented.
The service was great and the waiter was very informative and also happy to make changes to the vegetable that came with our mains without any problems whatsoever.
We don't have any negatives to say about this restaurant and will certainly be going back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

I visited the New Steine Bistro on Saturday evening,. I went with quite low expectations as we were going with a voucher that we had bought off Living Social. How wrong i was...the New Steine Restaurant surpassed all my expectations, the food was simply outstanding. We both opted for the main Duck special and it was cooked to perfection with the most delicious sauce. The service was attentive and friendly and the selection of wines were good.

I can't understand why this little gem is not busier.

Thank you for a lovely evening.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Annie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Steine Restaurant also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to New Steine Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing