We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Pints and good location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wick Inn

The Wick Inn
Ranked #321 of 1,098 Restaurants in Brighton
Cuisines: Bar, Asian, Thai, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good Pints and good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The Wick is a nice Spot to go for a couple of quiet mid week pints. The food looks great and tastes good.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    46
    11
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Pub In Hove”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

I love this place, there is something about it that just works, i am a great believer in if you do things right and simple then you wont fail and this place does just that. First things first it is a pub so you have to make sure your drinks are well kept, this place definitely ticks this box, great selection of beers, always cold from the fridge and a good wine selection as well. The staff are all so friendly and you never have to wait to get served a drink. It inst the biggest bar in the world but you will regularly see 5 people working tirelessly away behind it. Another good thing about this place is it plays some of the coolest music ever, the amount of times i have had to use Shazaam in there to get the name of some quirky artist that the guy behind the bar has found on the net. The food in the wick is spot on also, its all Thai as they have a Thai kitchen upstairs, you never have to wait too long for you food, you can either eat it upstairs on sit at the bar and enjoy it, very reasonable, they do offers for lunch and in the evenings its just as competitively priced as any other pub in the area. The quality like i said is very good, all cooked fresh to order and the combination of friendly service, good music, cold beer and banging Thai food is a win win scenario in my book and am proud to call the Wick in my new local.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
477 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

A really busy Saturday night but the central bar makes it easy to get served from the large selection of beers and wines. The beers are well advertised with helpful descriptions. The staff work hard to ensure that there is the minimum of waiting time. As a real bonus the Thai Kitchen offers a really good menu to eat in or take away. Loved the Thai green curry, well presented and a really tasteful dish. We'll be back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BeeGee45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minchinhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Surprising good roast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We love a Sunday roast seeking out the best Brighton has to offer every week.
The roast at the Wick used to be a strange concoction of meat with Thai sauce. Also children did not seem particularly welcome.

However...popped in the other Sunday:
Friendly, fast, child friendly, pink beef, tasty gravy.
In short a real surprise.

Would recommend it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England
Level Contributor
86 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great well priced Thai pub food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

We ate here a couple of months ago and were very impressed with the price, quantity and quality of the thai pub food on offer. We would definitely go back when next in the area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stylusman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wick Inn also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to The Wick Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing