We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Fish the best in Brighton”

The Melrose Restaurant
Ranked #62 of 1,112 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $29
Cuisines: Seafood, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Fresh fish, shellfish and seafood restaurant. Scottish Steaks also available. Seafront location. Family run restaurant.(run by the same family for the last 50 years). Outside seating available. Opposite British Airways i360 tower.
London
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Fish the best in Brighton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We arrived at the Melrose on a very wet and stormy night. Upon our arrival we were welcome by the staff
and seated at the back of the restaurant away from the door. We order mussels and scallops for starters
and Dover Sole and Lobster thermidor for mains. Both starters and mains were cooked to perfection and so fresh that I haven't stop talking about it since. We finished with apple pie and cream caramel excellent again. Will go again and will recommend it to others. Well done Melrose keep the standards going.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stargazer833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    112
    29
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worse meal in Brighton”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

The place it's in need of a thorough clean. Prawn cocktail ... Frozen shrimps! My starter of scallops and bacon were obviously from a catering frozen bag. They were tasteless and overlooked. My fish platter had Frozen Calamari which was rubbery! The Scampie was obviously out of a frozen packet but they were overlooked. When we pre booked earlier in the day the waiter informed us they brought in fresh fish daily. What we were served. Was DEFINATLEY not fresh fish! This restaurant should not be called Melrose but Waitrose

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharpthorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Just as good as last time I went there.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We arrived by bike on a very wet day looking like drowned rats and had our usual warm welcome. We were allowed to park our bikes outside where we could keep an eye on them. Cushions were produced for our comfort. The food--whole plaice-was excellent as usual and the creme caramel amazing. We stayed for at least 3 hours waiting for the weather to clear up and had almost dried out by the time we left! Thanks to the staff for a lovely visit. Will be back soon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank kathy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Won't go again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We went here on a Monday night. Staff were very nice and service was good and quick, chips nice and the mushy peas and tartar sauce ........ But the main event the haddock let it down, the batter was too thin and the fish dry. We sat next to some stairs going down to the basement and the fusty smell coming up from there didn't do much for your appetite. The place needs a major face lift and you shouldn't get bad fish in Brighton.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cr4ftym00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

I had see bass and my husband had a steak and everything was very good. Nice and testy. Excellent chef and the service was very good. We had a good time. we going back again. Thanks

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Eva L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Melrose Restaurant also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to The Melrose Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing