We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Week”
Review of Kempfield House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kempfield House
Ranked #32 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2007

Me and my Fiance went to the Genevieve for a little break by the sea and when we seen the pictures on the internet we phoned them up to book one of there 4 poster beds and from the moment David picked the phone up that evening to when we left after our 3 nights he could not have been more helpful.

Fantistic breakfast, excerllent service and the hotel was totally spotless just a superb place to go and the location makes it great being so close to everything you need. Me and my Fiance will be going back there again.

Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank AJ100Hucknall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
There are newer reviews for Kempfield House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 350 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2007

We stayed in the Genevieve Hotel for a long weekend, to celebrate my husband's 50th Birthday. The Hotel had a very friendly atmosphere and any questions we had were soon answered. The Hotel is a stone's throw from the pier and it was easy to reach the town and the beach, whichever we decided to do for the day. For families too, the Sea Life centre is only a 5 minute walk away. The full english breakfast set us up for the day and I would certainly recommend this warm, friendly Hotel.

Stayed: June 2007
Thank nineacres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2007

We stayed here for 4 nights in June. We had a great time and really enjoyed the hotel. The room (Nr.1) was spacious, the 4-poster bed was gorgeous and David and Lyn were really friendly. Breakfast was very tasty and the hotel is well located for the town centre and pubs, without being noisy. The only small improvement would be to install a power-shower!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SweetsFrankfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2007

HI have just came back from our weekend stay in the Genevieve Hotel. Had a great time. The rooms were clean and tidy and the breakfasts were fab!! Too much to eat!!!! The hotel was in a great location in Brighton close to shops, bars etc.
David and Lyn looked after us really well and they did a magnificent job of taking care of us all and helped us out if we needed advice or information.
Thanks David and Lyn. We look forward to staying with and seeing you both again.
Would recommend this small hotel with a great personal service.

Debs & Paul

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank IrelandCristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2007

Stayed at Genevieve for last minute night out and found it to be excellent. We stayed in the 'superior' room (No.2) which was 5star for the price (£95). Room was very, very clean and had a massive king size bed. En suite was a good size with a decent shower for a change. Very quiet considering it was ground floor at front of property. Breakfast was superb and very genrous portions using quality ingredients (Heinz beans, Anchor butter etc) - The small things do go a long way! All in all an excellent B&B run by friendly and polite people. Will definitely make this our first choice when we visit Brighton again.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2007

Probably one of the best hotels in Brighton (great value for money)

Stayed: May 2007
Thank chickroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2007

The Genevieve Hotel is possibly not a "Hotel" if you're used to a Reception area, a bar and a lounge 'cos there ain't any; and so, by definition, is probably more of a Guest House. But don't let that put
you off if Guest Houses aren't your thing. It's non-smoking (ok, so it.s not for you if you smoke) and exceptionally clean throughout. It's very comfortable and all of a very high standard. We were in Room 9 which is at the back of the hotel and though without a "nice" view, you are guaranteed peace and quiet which is what we wanted. The bed is huge and comfortable (though if we nit pick, more plush pillows would have made "excellent" into "luxurious"). The facility of WiFi was faultless and very easy to use - if we can use it - anyone can!!! Breakfast was spot on, we're early (ish) risers so the issue of being too late for breakfast never arose. If you state your personal cooking preferences, chef is more than happy to oblige. The proprieters were lovely. Very friendly and very helpful. Our room was 3 flights up and our ample bags and baggages were all taken to our room for us, which after a long journey was very welcoming and much appreciated, as was the choc bar provided on the refreshments tray! The hotel is ideally situated for just about everything. 5 minutes walking to the sea front and pier, 10 minutes to the city centre and 2 minutes to Kemptown - the location populated by the gay community. As a gay couple we felt totally accepted and welcomed. There are a wide variety of clubs, bars and pubs in Kemptown to suit every taste. The only pain in the butt was the parking (the place needs a Park and Ride) but again, Dave - the proprieter made sure we didn't make any expensive errors. Thanks Dave and Lynne for a great Easter break - brace yourselves - we'll definitely be back! Jude and Ruth - the Cheshire Birds.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TrenthamTarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
One Broad Street Guesthouse
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#39 of 94 in Brighton
147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Paskins Town House
Paskins Town House
#21 of 94 in Brighton
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Charm - Brighton Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Brighton Marina House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Strawberry Fields
Strawberry Fields
#27 of 94 in Brighton
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempfield House

Address: 18 Madeira Place, Brighton BN2 1TN, England (Formerly Genevieve Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: $62 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kempfield House 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quality grade II listed, RAC 4 Diamond regency hotel with a friendly and relaxed atmosphere located in the fashionable area of Kemptown, close to all main attractions and the city centre. All our rooms are well appointed with en suite bathrooms and we have luxury four poster and super kingsize balcony rooms available for that special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kempfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempfield House Hotel Brighton
Kempfield Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing