We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Welcoming!”
Review of Kempfield House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kempfield House
Ranked #30 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I stayed at Kempfield House at the end of July with my boyfriend as we were staying in Brighton Mid week for a couple days. It was a lovely experince, very welcoming and friendly and I loved the dogs reminded me of being at home. Very quite location and what a lovely room, lots of room and very comfy bed :D Very clean and a fantastic breakfast cooked to perfection! I would highly recommend this place and will be staying here again!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nathalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 363 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

Great B&B. Our room was spacious, newly decorated and spotlessly clean. The cooked breakfast was lovely and the staff very friendly. Situated in a great location by the pier and close to the Lanes shops and restaurants. We parked right outside the hotel on a bank holiday weekend, using the very cheap voucher parking tickets which you can purchase from reception at £10 for 24 hours an absolute bargain for Brighton. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happy_traveller648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed with a group of friends in Brighton for 2 nights at the Kempfield House hotel. We received a warm and friendly welcome on arrival (and from the 2 lovely Labradors) and were all shown to our respective rooms. Ours was a twin on the ground floor. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable but the only downside was it was somewhat noisy at night due to people coming out of the nearby bars, although to be fair we had the window open as it was hot. Good breakfast included in the price. Brighton itself is looking a bit tired these days but this hotel was in a good spot just off the main beach road and near the pier. Short walk to the shops or entertainment, the Lanes and transport.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jan_adventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Things you need to be aware of;

This establishment is not a hotel it is a B&B.
The on street parking is bad. If you have an expensive motor you will not be happy leaving it in this area. That is if you can find a place to park. Which, by the way, will cost you a minimum of £10 per night for a permit.
Reception is not 24 hours. If you arrive late you will need a front door access code.
They change the door code from time to time and don't always tell you, which means you could find ourself locked out.
I stayed in a superior room. Not a description I would apply as it wouldn't even match up to a Premier Inn.
The bottle of wine provided in the room was a third of a bottle - for two people!
The mattress was new but the bed frame was distorted out of shape so it still dipped in the middle.
Some of the rooms overlook a pub beer garden.

I moved on to a proper **** hotel down the road. It cost me just £20 more. I got free parking and a sea view!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fotovoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The top floor single room I stayed in really was very tiny indeed but I have a fondness for attics and small spaces and herring gull cries (all three of which remind me of my childhood) so I loved it and the bed was wide and comfy. The whole place is spotlessly clean and welcoming. It has a pleasant, cosy atmosphere and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Great location, nice breakfast and excellent value for money. Wi-fi worked faultlessly also, and complimentary goodies are a delightful touch.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elderwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed 1 night mid week in August 2013. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and couldn't do enough for us. The room was clean and tidy, wet room brilliant. The seafront was less than 2 mins walk.
The breakfast was great, English breakfast was cooked to order quickly. Would defo stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nursecarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My experience at Kempfield was simply wonderful. Convenient, well maintained, cleaned. The breakfast was really nice, served in a nice relaxing area in the basement. It was a bit noisy at night from the bar(s) nearby but that has nothing to do with the hotel itself. There are many restaurants nearby, and walking to the beach was within 5 minutes. Going to the Royal Pavilion was easy, and it was worth a visit, touristy as it is. Visiting the Town Center was not far either. Great shopping to be found there. I love walking among those little streets with shops on both sides!! Kempfield also has wonderful staff -- Scarlet was a prize, making my stay totally worth the money and time. We had some great conversation. Friendly and yet very professional.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beebahk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
870 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#27 of 43 in Brighton
605 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avalon Guest Accommodation
Avalon Guest Accommodation
#50 of 94 in Brighton
187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coward's Guesthouse
Coward's Guesthouse
#25 of 94 in Brighton
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempfield House

Address: 18 Madeira Place, Brighton BN2 1TN, England (Formerly Genevieve Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: $63 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kempfield House 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quality grade II listed, RAC 4 Diamond regency hotel with a friendly and relaxed atmosphere located in the fashionable area of Kemptown, close to all main attractions and the city centre. All our rooms are well appointed with en suite bathrooms and we have luxury four poster and super kingsize balcony rooms available for that special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kempfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempfield House Hotel Brighton
Kempfield Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing