We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful location & no sleep!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel
Ranked #37 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
London
Level Contributor
63 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Awful location & no sleep!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Well, lets start with the positives. The welcome was good, we arrived 2 hours before check in time of 3pm so had to pay the £10 for early check in but we were prepared for that. We were asked if we’d like a high floor to avoid the worst of the noise which was a nice gesture & one that we gladly took them up on. The reception staff were friendly & efficient. Prevous reviews have said they felt the service from reception was lacking but this isn’t the 4 seasons these people are here to take your money & give you a key & that’s exactly what they did so no complaints from me there.
The room was surprisingly nice, considering some of the other reviews, the bedroom looked like it had been recently refurbished so perhaps they’re working their way down the hotel. We were on the top floor (8th) & had an absolutely spectacular view across Brighton Marina. Sadly the windows are chained “for your safety” so they only open about 2 inches which, when it’s very hot outside isn’t really any good, they could give you a few more inches, as the room was extremely stuffy. Mind you as the hotel is frequented by hen & stag parties I suspect the narrow gap might be less for the safety of the guests & more for the safety of the people below!
Bed was comfortable, though very firm, felt like a new mattress. Two pillows, sadly one was not enough & two was too much so I ended up putting a rolled up towel under one, no problem at all, I have yet to meet a hotel with perfect pillows! Little flat screen Samsung TV which worked well & had freeview. Tea & coffee making facilities were a nice & unexpected bonus. Plenty of storage space in the bedroom too with an absolutely massive wardrobe.
Now for the negatives. The bathroom was much less impressive than the bedroom, the seat slipped on the toilet which made it hard to keep your balance! There were a couple of holes in the back of the door & some scratches on the doorframes that had left splinters sticking out. The floor needed a good clean & the hot/cold controls on the shower seemed to be totally ineffectual , it varied wildly between scalding & luke warm, seemingly at its own accord. It’s a budget hotel so what can you expect.
Now for the downright ugly. Sadly the location of the hotel means that I won’t ever stay there again. Right at the bottom of West street surrounded by bars & nightclubs. This means it is NOISY until 6am with very little chance of sleep, especially if you’re on the front of the hotel as we were. Even 8 floors up the noise made sleep impossible so I can’t imagine what it would be like further down! Our friends were staying at the back of the hotel & apparently it was no better. It’s a real shame because as a budget hotel I was quite happy with the room but we probably got less than 4 hours sleep.
A real shame as I would have stayed here again but the noise means that I would be more likely to spend the money on staying somewhere I can actually sleep! Perhaps if you’re one of the people that will be out in the street partying & then passing out around 5am this would do but if you’re looking for somewhere you can be comfortable & get a decent nights sleep I would stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor if you want a chance at sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moley42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Moley42, we’re really sorry to learn that you were disturbed by the external noise. We try to reduce noise by having insulated walls and double glazing. Unfortunately it is not always possible to completely reduce the noise due to the central location of the hotel. We are also sorry that you were disappointed with the bathroom but we are very pleased that you were pleasantly surprised with the quality of the room and the staff at the hotel. Our Hotel Manager will be made aware of your comments so they can address the issues you have highlighted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    346
    361
    244
    226
See reviews for
232
611
106
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oban, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Good location but 1 older member of male staff rude and unhelpful. Entrance horrible, dirty windows, really rundown, mens toilets according to husband were disgusting. Room was ok actually and for once in a travelodge we had 2 pillows each and plenty of towels.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 913Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear 913Helen, we are really sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your stay. We expect our staff members to be polite and provide high levels of Customer Service throughout your stay. All customer feedback is invaluable to us and we will ensure that the hotel is made aware of the comments that you have made. We are really pleased that you enjoyed the pillows which are a new addition to our rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Herts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel for a friends birthday weekend and what a hole ! The bathrooms are disgusting ! The reception is old and dated the lift is a death trap !
The only good thing about this hotel is the location !
We came home on the sat night to the so called security sitting around playing on their phones so completely un professional !
AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE !!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahbudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
We’re really sorry to learn you had a disappointing stay sarahbudd. We would like to further understand the issues you have highlighted to find a resolution. Please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to provide us with more details and when doing so please specify you have left a TripAdvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Hotel reasonably priced.Room small but adequate.Not very well cleaned.
Beware that the hotel will not let you access your room before the 3pm check in time, without paying a £10 surcharge per room.
The hotel has no facility to look after your luggage,so if you have parked your car or traveled by train you have to pay the surcharge or lug your bags around untill 3pm.
Check out time is noon on day of departure,so if you had intended to spend the rest of the day in brighton make plans on what to do with your luggage.

Room Tip: take ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear keith f, we can confirm that our standard check in for all Travelodge Hotels is 3pm and check out time is 12pm. We do offer an early check in and check out service for £10.00 subject to availability. We are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the hotel being unable to store your luggage; we can confirm that this decision was made following advice from the Police.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Me & my husband came to Brighton for a short break, the first night was only £50 which is a perfect price for this hotel, however the second night was very over priced for what we got £80 especially for week days.
The hotel is in a ideal location, close to the beach, town and lanes.
The room was nicer than expected as we have stayed in some awful travel lodges, it was very stuffy though and we asked for a window key as they were restricted with little air coming in, the lady said she couldn't give us it so instead we received a fan which we had to
keep on whenever we was in the room and over night.

I was a little concerned the first night as the bar across the road was blasting out music, we looked online and it said it closed at 3 am, but we closed the window as we had the fan and also there is a sound shutter and i was very surprised at how much sound it blocked out, the music then didn't bother me, we had a lovely night sleep.

I would stay again but i would feel more comfortable spending around the £50 mark :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophii-Louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Room clean and tidy, toilet flush and water pressure problems. Everything else great, especially breakfast, loads of food. Location very good for beach and city centre. Staff friendly, some British some not.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

The hotel was clean and the room was very good. Great bed. I was disappointed that the Wi-Fi was not free. no shower gel in the bathroom. The bar was fine. The maid was excellent and room was always cleaned. You know what you are going to get and was good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear David H, thank you for your positive feedback. We’re really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Unfortunately we do not provide toiletries in our rooms as standard, although they can be purchased from the vending machines in reception, this allows us to continue to offer great rates in great locations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.5 mi away
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Britannia Study Hotel
Britannia Study Hotel
#22 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,420 reviews
0.4 mi away
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
#27 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel

Property: Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel
Address: West Street, Brighton BN1 2RE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Travelodge Hotels Ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing