We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“!st class food”

The Restaurant at Drakes
Reserve with OpenTable
The Restaurant at Drakes is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #83 of 1,141 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $78
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Considered by many to be Brighton's best restaurant, backed up by its status as the highest scoring local dining room in the Good Food Guide, The Restaurant at Drakes is an elegantly stylish setting for any occasion. Subtle lighting casts moody shadows across exposed brickwork and rich colours throughout the intimate dining room while Drakes cocktail bar offers airy sea views and excellent cocktails. The kitchen team insist on the best of ingredients, fresh and seasonal, including fish bought daily from local fishing boats, to create the excellent, refined menu that has earned the restaurant two AA rosettes. A special place, unpretentious in its warm atmosphere, it's easy to see why The Restaurant at Drakes has such a reputation.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“!st class food”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Excellent food and a good selection of wines - the vegetarian menu was also 1st class as was the choice of desserts. We eat late on a Sunday evening but the staff still gave us a friendly welcome and were knowledgeable about the food & the wine

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank wandagold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    93
    43
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Quality food served here”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

As a regular visitor to Brighton we have eaten in most of the City's top-end restaurants and I have to say that Drakes, in it's current and previous form, has always been a favourite. The four of us met up for some interesting cocktails in the bar before descending down to the restaurant. Menu choices are limited here but I've never had a problem with making my selections. Staff are efficient and friendly and there is a good atmosphere in the restaurant. My wife started with the pea and parma ham soup which she said was superb. The whole table tried the lamb with sweetbreads. All plates were empty at the finish. Instead of a dessert I had the stilton and port on toast which was very tasty. The raspberry soufflé was a popular dessert choice at our table and was delicious. All-in-all a very good meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kempr52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great restaurant and cocktail bar”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Excellent food. The best dessert we have had in a long time. Service was very attentive but not intrusive. The cocktails in the bar were delicious. Lovely ambiance for a romantic meal.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank preciouslovelygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Food was wonderful and great value off the fixed menu, drinks a little on pricey side but very good. Lovely beef and duck, perfectly cooked. Friendly and prompt service

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Wedding Anniversary at Drakes”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My wife and I love Drakes.
We've celebrated all our first date anniversaries here, the combination of the excellent food, fantastic service and the cosy dining area make for a wonderful experience.
We came to Drakes the day after our wedding to try the tasting menu, and decided we couldn't think of a better place to come for our first wedding anniversary.
We'd booked an 8PM table, but arrived early and they were able and happy to move our table forward (this being a Sunday night) to 7PM.
We had a quick drink upstairs and move down to the dining room where we were greeted by Eddie our waiter, who was extremely friendly and helpful, and made our evening go beautifully.
My wife had a ceviche of scallops to start, which she loved, and I had pea soup, which sounds boring but was really tasty, including a couple of pieces of parma ham (I think) and whole peas at the bottom.
We both ordered the poussin for our mains, which came with a chicken broth that really enhanced the flavours.
This was accompanied by a very nice Saint Emilion red wine, and we finished the evening off with the Port and Stilton toast which is almost their signature dish from our point of view.
Finally we received an unexpected plate of petit fours with happy anniversary piped on in chocolate, a really lovely way to end the evening.
We had a lovely evening, as always, and Drakes remains one of our favourite restaurants in Brighton, and the go-to for special celebrations.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant at Drakes also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to The Restaurant at Drakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing