We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family run Italian”
Review of La Capannina

La Capannina
Ranked #31 of 1,139 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent family run Italian”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We love Italian restaurants and this was excellent. Wife loved her pizza and wine selection was perfect. A very enjoyable evening (we were in Brighton for our anniversary) and can't recommend it enough. Staff and service were excellent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob_S_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    357
    191
    47
    24
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hen Weekend Dinner”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The venue was perfect in relation to our accommodation. The venue had space enough to put us in the down stairs area on our own, we were 12 people on a hen do. The service was very good. The food was ok. We had a selection of breads and olives for a starter. My main course was made from scratch as was not on the menu, Penni Arabata pasta and was very tasty. A couple of the other guests commented they thought their food was mediocre. Overall opinion from me was it was perfectly priced for a simple authentic Italian meal, with great service. I would recommend it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tarnia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Dorset, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We thought this would be an authentic Italian.

Starters OK,

Pizza burnt.

I had a steak in peppercorn sauce. Sauce was too watery and split, very small amount of veg, tasted like frozen potatoes and the steak was very poor quality for the price of £17, very underwhelmed.

Just had 1 drink and then couldn't get out quick enough.

After getting outside, realised we had been overcharged by £12. Did go back in to query it and had to wait for the guy that sorts the bills to write out another bill before dealing with me. So embarrassing having to go back in but then having to stand there for 5 minutes waiting for it to be sorted was really bad, he did apologise to be fair but all he had to add up was 7 items, not rocket science.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

If you visit Brighton and don't come to this restaurant you are mad.
The attention to the customer and their enjoyment of the eating experience is impecable.
The food is marvellous
The house wine is quaffable even if it's not 'quality'
My daughter and I have been looking forward to this return visit for the last year and were not disapointed...roll on 2014!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Markaich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad Food And Rude Waiter”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

There were 5 of us. We ordered 2 starters between us to pick at. A small dish of prawns, priced just under £10 arrived. We tried the prawns. They honestly tasted like they'd been cooked, frozen then over-recooked. Felt like I was chewing on rubber. Truly disgusting and unacceptable.

When the waiter arrived back at the table, we made it clear that we didn't enjoy the prawns and didn't feel comfortable paying almost £10 for them. He immediately became confrontational stating that 'we ate them' so we should pay. He couldn't quite grasp that we had to eat them to try them - there were only 3 prawns in a party of 5 after all! We explained that we were only giving him feedback and that feedback is a good thing. This didn't interest him and he continued to be confrontational; it almost became a heated argument. He just didn't get it!

When he walked away, we just wanted to get out of there. We cancelled our pizzas (which were actually ready and waiting to be served) and asked for the bill. We weren't charged for the prawns.

Very sad really as all we wanted to do was give him feedback and re-negotiate a price for the very poor prawns. I've never seen a waiter act that way - ever!

Instead, we went to Oregano around the corner and had some cracking wood fired pizzas.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gav M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Capannina also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to La Capannina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing