We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,218)
Filter reviews
1,218 results
Traveler rating
790
319
55
30
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
790
319
55
30
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cocktail shack regency square roberts radio ping pong room sea view quirky hotel local artists west pier old west basement room breakfast was included bigger room comfy bed tea and coffee full english breakfast was amazing top floor
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1,218 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent location, tasteful decor! Very beautiful welcoming, friendly and accommodating stuff! had to change rooms as we have extended our trip. second room much bigger even more beautiful at a very good price. At the second room we had a small problem with the tv (at 1 o clock at night) and the stuff very willingly tried to solve it. On our departure the girl gave us a small gift to apologise for not being able to solve the problem with the tv. We apreciated that very much. we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: we had to extend our stay so The stuff changed us room, much bigger, even more beautiful than the previous one.
  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alexia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtistResidenceHotel, Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Alexia,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review.

Being a small independent hotel, we rely solely on the feedback of our guests. All of your comments will be treasured by all the staff here at Artist Residence Brighton! How great that you got to experience more than one of our rooms, they all differ in size and style so I always recommend moving around throughout your stay. Thank you for understanding regarding the TV, I can confirm this has been resolved now.

If you liked our style then please do not hesitate to return! Or even take a visit to our other hotels in London, Oxfordshire, Penzance and coming soon .... Bristol!

Warm regards,

Ruby & the ARB team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I returned to the hotel to celebrate our wedding anniversary and the first day of our daughter's University Freshers Week and we were greeted with a complimentary bottle of chilled prosecco, a card and chocolates!

Thank you for making it a real treat!

Room Tip: Top floor with sea view was lovely
  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank VictoriaC641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtistResidenceHotel, Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Victoria,

Thank you for your kind comments! I know it was an emotional day for you, so I'm happy we could do something to make it more special.

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,


Samuel & the ARB team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Though we arrived on the wrong day (entirely our fault) the gentleman on the desk was very accommodating and managed to find us a room for our 2 night stay, I wish he was there at check out to thank him. He’s an asset to the hotel!! We checked into our suit which was on the lower level, wasn’t sure how we’d feel about not being able to see out the windows, but we pleasantly surprised with views of the sky instead but seeing as we were looking up.. people passing by were looking down, straight In to our room which lacks a little privacy for my liking! And seems there’s a cellar of sorts right out side the window, which again lacks privacy with staff needing access throughout the day. During the day the room is well lite with natural light but evening comes a little harder to see with either bulbs not working or just the general dark vibe they’re going for in the rooms, but a decent spot light is needed in the bathroom by the mirror! The mini bar was extremely well stocked full of local snacks and beers and most were reasonably priced!! Though a little disappointed when we tried to make a cup of tea and milk was more like cottage cheese than milk..?! With the room being under the bar/ restaurant and being an older building there’s a lot of noise from above, which if you like an early nights sleep you may not get. My partner found the bed comfortable, I personally have slept better on a blow up bed. Each to their own I guess. The room was quirky which is what lured us in the hotel in the first place, it definitely delivered just that. Breakfast was tasty and served until 12 which is great!! There’s a really fun and different vibe throughout the hotel which love with No 2 rooms the same. I would be intrigued to stay again but not on a lower level!!!

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
2  Thank HannahM2446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtistResidenceHotel, Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Hannah,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We will pass on your lovely feedback to Samuel, who managed to book you in last minute. He will be very grateful for your kind comments! It's great to hear we were still able to accommodate you after the mix up with your dates.

Thank you for the feedback regarding the basement room. These are definitely some of our quirkiest rooms and we are glad you enjoyed that factor. We are ever so sorry that you experienced that with the milk. Milks are replaced daily and ensured to be well in date but this may have been caused by the extremely hot weather. However, this is no excuse and should have been spotted beforehand. We do make sure to warn guests before booking that there can be occasional noise from above when you are staying Below Deck. On this occasion the basement room may have been the only available for a 2 night stay when we would have usually offered you a room on an upper floor if you were in need of an early night!

It means so much to hear that you would like to return. We would ensure to put you in a room a bit more suited to your needs next time. If you choose to rebook, please email us directly at brighton@artistresidence.co.uk so we can handle your request.

Warm regards,

Ruby & the ARB team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Booked this hotel as a change from the normal. What a lovely location, the cocktail bar and restaurant were amazing and staff were great. Loved the rooms and the decor as well as the atmosphere which is what really makes it.

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtistResidenceHotel, Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Andy,

Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us here in Brighton. We do try to get our hotel feeling like a home away from home, so I'm thrilled about your comments over the atmosphere - I agree with you!

Hopefully we will see you again, if not here in Brighton, then one of our other hotels.

Kind regards,


Samuel & the ARB team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2018

The staff were lovely, a warm welcome and checkout. The view from our room was great, lovely to be able to open the window for the sea air in the morning. Great DAB radio playing Classical FM when we arrived, which we actually kept on for our whole visit.
The bed was comfortable.

We own a lot of animals, so don't get the chance to travel abroad. Our only holidays are overnight stays across the UK, and this was one of these occasions. We always choose independent hotels and the Artist Resident looked right up our street.

Ultimately, the room is not worth anything like the £185 they charge. Which is the most we've ever paid for a one night stay! It has the potential, but far too much wrong for the price.

Bathroom door - There are such massive gaps around it when closed that there is very little sense of privacy. The bathroom is basically a partitioned off bit of the bedroom, and you can see right through the gaps. I know that as this is a double room, you'll be pretty close with anyone you're staying with in here. But everyone wants privacy in the bathroom, and this doesn't offer it. We ended up hanging a towel over the door to try and improve this.

The metal bracket on the floor that keeps the door sliding in place was very loose, and the door kept slipping out of it.

Inside the bathroom, an LED lightbulb above the mirror was dead, just flashing occasionally. Unfortunately we noticed this too late to ask anyone to fix it.

In the bedroom (above the bathroom area) you can see some drainage pipework with wallpaper that is just hanging off - not pretty. This also feels like a weird use of the space!

Also outside of the bathroom by the bin, you can see where water has seeped through the wall causing the wallpaper to brown and peel away.

Our room (Room 2 / Comfy Balcony Sea View) does have a small balcony, however the only access to the balcony is through an open sash window. It is a large, floor to ceiling window. But you have to crouch very low to get through it. Not suitable for anyone with mobility issues, or a bad back, like me!
This window had no locking mechanism which left it feeling a little insecure. You could easily get to this window from neighbouring property as the balconies join up.

The television had not been re-tuned in so long that the majority of the channels wouldn't work any more. The ability to retune had been locked out by the hotel. It was late at night so couldn't get help for this. Thankfully after a bit of googling I worked out how to temporarily access the scanning function to fix this. You're welcome, next guest :).

The hallways between rooms are dark, and outside ours was a broken rather dodgy looking light switch.

I feel a little pedantic listing all of these things. But for a hotel to be charging such a high rate (without breakfast!!) it's these little things that you expect to be absolutely perfect! Unfortunately we left feeling disappointed and that we'd overpaid.

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jules W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtistResidenceHotel, Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Jules,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We appreciate your kind comments about the staff here at Artist Residence Brighton and I will make sure to pass this on to rest of your team.

Thank you for leaving such detailed feedback. This really does help us learn from our guests how we can ensure they have the best experience possible. We are ever so sorry that a light in your bathroom and the hallway entrance were not working. We conduct daily routine checks of the lighting in the building and are very sorry to hear that an issue arose after you had checked in. We would have been more than happy to fix this for you during your stay but completely understand if you didn't have time to report.

Our quirky features aren't for everyone, however all of our rooms are unique in style and if you chose to return we could secure you a room with different features. Such as a different style of door! The sash windows in room 2 does actually lift up the whole way. We are ever so sorry that this wasn't explained to you when you arrived or that we couldn't assist you with lifting it.

Thank you for letting us know about the maintenance problems you experienced with the room in this review. We can confirm these have all been addressed now.

It is our primary goal for you to enjoy a stress free, fun vacation with us and we offer our sincerest apologies if we weren't able to provide you with this. Please get in touch if you would like to discuss this further as we would be grateful for the opportunity to change your mind.

Best regards,

Ruby & the ARB team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews