We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Artist Residence Brighton
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Cute”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Love this little boutique hotel! Lots of charm! Our room was small, but the sea view def. made up for the room size! We had breakfast included in the price by booking the room directly with the hotel. The breakfast was a reinvented traditional english breakfast which looked/tasted amazing! Very friendly and helpful staff! We parked on the road just outside the hotel, which is free of charge from 8pm-9am.

Room Tip: We had the small room with sea view. I was fine for for 1 night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtistResidenceTeam, Front Office Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Fiona T

Thank you for your lovely review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you again in the future, remember your 10% returning guest discount, maybe you can try one of our larger sea view rooms next time.

Best Regards

Chamane, Amber, Mel & The AR Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    296
    49
    26
    21
See reviews for
139
594
46
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2014

A great place to stay after a two week, 2300 mile road trip around France and Geneva but not time to go home right away.
I had a sea view room, everything presented nicely and provided for and a great booklet of ideas for places to eat, drink etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room if you can get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtistResidenceTeam, Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Andy S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope that you enjoyed a well deserved rest after your road trip!

Best Regards, Amber, Chamane, Mel and the AR Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Spent a night at this quirky hotel recently. The room had a sea view, a circular bed and hand painted mural of the sea-front on the walls. Brilliant! The hotel is set at the back of Regency Square, which is picturesque and quieter than the main road, and offers a lovely view. We had a better room and experience compared to a more expensive hotel locally. Breakfast was good, and everyone was very helpful. They did take time to look after both of us extremely well and remembered us from a previous visit. We enjoyed our visit to Brighton, which was helped by everyone here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtistResidenceTeam, Front Office Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Mark J

Thank you for your lovely review, it was a pleasure to accommodate you both again.

We hope to see you in the future should you be back in Brighton.

Best Regards,

Chamane, Amber, Mel & The AR Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2014

This is the nicest hotel I have ever stayed in in Brighton. So friendly, inviting and clean. As someone who works in interior design I always pay high attention to my surroundings and you can see the amazing thought that has gone into the concept of this gorgeous hotel. Breakfast was delicious too and all the staff were so friendly! Go go go!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swsyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtistResidenceTeam, Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Swsyx,

Thank you for the lovely review.

We are glad that you liked the decor of the hotel, and enjoyed your breakfast.
We hope to be able to welcome you again in the near future.

Best Regards, Amber, Chamane, Mel and the AR Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Excellent hotel! We had such a beautiful room. Breakfats was so delisous!! We will definately be back there!!! So in love with this place:-) Staff was ever so friendly and polite. Before we went out we have tried some of the coctails in Shack bar and we loved it. I cant describe more how happy we were with our one night stay!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wioletita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtistResidenceTeam, Front Office Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Wioletita,

Thank you very much for writing us such a lovely review.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you again in the future in Brighton or our sister hotel in Cornwall.

Best Regards
Melissa, Chamane, Amber and the AR Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Another visit to one of our favourite uk hotels, ended in pure satisfaction once again. This time we stayed in one of the newly decorated contemporary rooms, with a large french style bed and a gramaphone on the dresser, the room did not disapoint. Especially being able to sit on the balcony and enjoy a bottle of cava together watching the sun glistening over the waves alongside the old pier.
The included breakfast was fresh and delicious and the staff cant offer or do enough for you with a happy attitude.
I look forward to checking out AR Penzanse next.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sufcrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtistResidenceTeam, Front Office Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Sufcrown

Thank you very much for another lovely review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our sea view room and managed to make use of the balcony.

We hope you enjoy Penzance as much as you have Brighton, don't forget your 10% discount!

Best Regards

Chamane, Amber, Mel & The AR Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed at the Artist Residence 13/6/14 for 2 nights, we couldnt fault a thing. Excellent location, Excellent rooms, Excellent food, all the staff including the Cocktail Shack staff were very polite and helpful. I would definatley stay here again when we return to Brighton and i would definatley reccomend to others to stay here 10/10

Room Tip: Room 7 sea veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil13167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtistResidenceTeam, Front Office Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear phil13167

Thank you very much for your wonderful review, we are extremely happy to hear you had such an excellent stay with us.

We hope to welcome you again in the future

Kind Regards

Chamane, Amber, Mel & The AR Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.9 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,165 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
7,350 reviews
0.9 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 44 in Brighton
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 44 in Brighton
804 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#11 of 44 in Brighton
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist Residence Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist Residence Brighton

Property: Artist Residence Brighton
Address: 33 Regency Square, Brighton BN1 2GG, England (Formerly Malvern Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Artist Residence Brighton 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fun and quirky rooms with imaginative design, featuring award-winning cocktail bar and two restaurants in a unique double-fronted townhouse hotel in the heart of Brighton. Located on the seafront in historic Regency Square this hotel is a 10 minute walk from Brighton train station. Dine at one of Brighton's best restaurants The Set, which features seasonal British tasting menu's, or opt for the more casual Set Cafe for a selection of small plates and craft beers. Each of the 23 guest rooms at Artist Residence are either individually designed by an artist or by the house and feature vintage and retro furniture, limited edition prints, graphic murals, flat screen TVs and en-suite bathrooms. Some rooms have sea views overlooking the West Pier. All rooms and communal areas have free Wi-Fi and there is also a ping-pong room which doubles as a meeting room. In addition to being a home-from-home and unique place to sleep, The Artist Residence serves as a gathering place and hub of community activity for locals and visitors alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Artist Residence Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artist Residence Brighton Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing