We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All in all, just great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Artist Residence Brighton
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2013

can highly recommend this place. visiting Brighton for a weekend with 3 friends so got the family room. Spacious with double, single and bunk bed. Really well done out with lovely furniture and little arty things all over the place. Only shame it was on the ground floor so we couldn't see the view of the old Pier right infront of the hotel. ah well. Oh, and the glass walled bathroom was ...different...but we coped!

All the staff we so friendly and the breakfast was great in the cute cafe with a variety of different art pieces adorning the walls, like the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank catfood49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtistResidenceTeam, Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear catfood49,

Thanks for taking the time to write us a great review. As a small hotel our best form of advertising is word of mouth, so we really appreciate it :)

We are so glad you had a great stay with us, perhaps next time you can try out one of the other rooms on higher floors so you can appreciate the sea view! We give all returning guests a 10% discount, so please do come and see us again some time :)

Kind Regards,
Lucy, Noemi and the AR Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

802 - 808 of 1,116 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013

I opened a pink door and I saw a lovely lady with big smile. I felt like home. Incredible design, wonderful service and people. The gallery is breathtaking. Great location! If you want to visit Brighton, do not hesitate and book this place for exciting experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vladka h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtistResidenceTeam, Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Dear vladka h,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write us a review, we are thrilled with such kind words :)

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and really hope you will come back and stay with us again.

Kind Regards,
Lucy, Noemi and the AR Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Great place, great location, amazing breakfast! The room was also very clean. The staff is very kind and helpful. Iwould recommend it to anyone who is looking for a place to stay in brighton.
Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank 597Christelle_T597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtistResidenceTeam, Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear 597Christelle_T597,

Thankyou so much for the kind review, we really appreciate it! We are so glad you had a great stay, and thanks for recommending others!

Hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,
Lucy, Noemi and the AR Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The rooms themselves are an excuse to stay, ours had one of the most breathtaking of views, with a balcony overlooking the Regency Square/Sea front. On top of that the staff are so friendly and will literally help you with anything you need whatsoever, even if you checked out 6 hours before. Will definitely be coming back here on our next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dmarsde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtistResidenceTeam, Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear dmarsde,

Thanks so much for writing us a review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, especially our lovely rooms and the stunning view we are so lucky to have!

I will pass on your kind comments to the rest of the staff :)

Hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,

Lucy, Noemi and the AR Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

My partner surprised me with a nights stay here for my 30th birthday.......and wow what a perfect surprise! We were in the Bonnie and Clyde room. It had a very cool design and decor and was lovely and clean. The power shower was fantastic! We booked room only and will probably try breakfast next time as the breakfast room look fantastic. Service was professional and efficient.

We will be back :-)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gooseygates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtistResidenceTeam, Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Dear Gooseygates,

Thanks so much for writing us a review, I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your birthday surprise at Artist Residence. The Bonnie and Clyde room is one of my personal favorites, so glad you liked it too!

Check out this great stop frame animation of Bonnie and Clyde decorating the room: http://artistresidencebrighton.blogspot.co.uk/2013/07/bonnie-and-clyde.html

We hope to see you again soon, and don't forget we do offer our returning guests a 10% discount :)

Kind Regards,

Lucy, Noemi and the AR Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Friendly staff very comfortable bed and nice bed clothes. Nice breakfast informal surroundings. Great views of sea. Been back twice now and will go again defiantly. Lots of quirky art work in the rooms and hotel which you can also buy!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtistResidenceTeam, Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Terry P,

Thanks so much for your kind review, we really appreciate it! We are so glad you have come back to stay with us twice already, and hope to see you soon for a third!

Kind Regards,

Lucy, Noemi and the AR Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Just stayed at Artist Residence Brighton for my 'low-key' hen weekend - 6 of us fit quite comfortably into two rooms, which kept the price down. Each room is unique and fun, being painted and decorated brightly and imaginatively, transforming you into another world and making for an unforgettable experience! Purple mountains and sky surrounded us on the walls, while the bathroom was painted to look like a camper van - all very cool and brighton!! And the hotel is directly opposite the old pier, with sea views and a stone's throw away from the beach and weekend market, as well as a two-minute walk from Al Fresco - my favourite Brighton restaurant which has two levels, sea-views, a large balcony and huge glass windows for that wow factor. The breakfasts are rather early at the weekend, with breakfast finishing at 10.30 on Saturday, which we struggled to make after a night of Brighton nightlife! But the staff were accomodating, the hotel walls are covered in interesting art, and the atmosphere is relaxed and homely, with the breakfast chairs/tables/crockery all being mis-matched and once again 'very brighton'! It is cool, chilled-out and arty rather than glamorous, but that's what makes it unique! I would highly reccommend it - enjoy!

Room Tip: Check out the different uniquely-decorated rooms on the hotel website
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtistResidenceTeam, Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear Lucy E,

thank you for your review, we really appreciate it. Brilliant to hear that you girls had a great time here.
You are so right about the arty rooms, they do transform you to another world. Very exciting to try them one by one, they all give you a very special and different experience.

A huge thank you for recommending us.

Hope to see you back very soon, do not forget about the 10% return guest discount!

Kind Regards
Noemi, Lucy and the AR Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.9 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,216 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,845 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 43 in Brighton
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 43 in Brighton
1,026 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 43 in Brighton
2,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist Residence Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist Residence Brighton

Address: 33 Regency Square, Brighton BN1 2GG, England (Formerly Malvern Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Price Range: $124 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Artist Residence Brighton 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fun and quirky rooms with imaginative design, featuring award-winning cocktail bar and two restaurants in a unique double-fronted townhouse hotel in the heart of Brighton. Located on the seafront in historic Regency Square this hotel is a 10 minute walk from Brighton train station. Dine at one of Brighton's best restaurants The Set, which features seasonal British tasting menu's, or opt for the more casual Set Cafe for a selection of small plates and craft beers. Each of the 23 guest rooms at Artist Residence are either individually designed by an artist or by the house and feature vintage and retro furniture, limited edition prints, graphic murals, flat screen TVs and en-suite bathrooms. Some rooms have sea views overlooking the West Pier. All rooms and communal areas have free Wi-Fi and there is also a ping-pong room which doubles as a meeting room. In addition to being a home-from-home and unique place to sleep, The Artist Residence serves as a gathering place and hub of community activity for locals and visitors alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Artist Residence Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artist Residence Brighton Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing