We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great! Highly recommend :-)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Artist Residence Brighton
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great! Highly recommend :-)”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed here with my partner for 3 nights for a mid week holiday and it was everything i could have asked for and more! It is within walking distance of everything, mega funky rooms with lots of space (incl a round double bed!), really cool bathrooms (big bath), tea and coffee making facilities, staff were lovely, can't recommend enough! thank you :-)

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mishell999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharonK2012, Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear 'mishell999',

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We always appreciate getting feedback.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Artist Residence and the quirkiness of the circular bed!

The AR team is an enthusiastic bunch and we are always happy to help.

Come back to Brighton soon!

Warm Regards,

Sharon
Artist Residence / George Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    702
    297
    50
    26
    21
See reviews for
143
604
46
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
McAllen, TX
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed two nights on a beautifully warm weekend in late July. Overlooking a lush park and the old Brighton Pier, the Artist Residence couldn't be better placed in Brighton. The room with a view was worth the extra expense. Rooms are small and there was very little storage, but it was nice to have an en-suite and balcony. The balcony was especially nice in the cool evening. Service was warm and friendly and the artwork colorful and entertaining, but definitely a bit on the modern/quirky side.

Room Tip: Opt for the balcony room, especially in warmer weather. You'll enjoy the evening breeze and vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouSara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sark, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed here for two nights with my sixteen year old sister for her birthday treat for the weekend, i was looking for somewhere with good location, good value for money and something a bit more interesting than a travel inn! This hotel was incredible, the staff were very friendly, we had breakfast included in the price as we booked over the phone.
We stayed in the Jamie Brown room, on the first floor with it's own blacony. (We did not spend alot of time on the balcony due to the weather) but the incredible floor to ceiling windows looking out over the west pier was an amazing view to wake up to! The walls speak for themselves, and if every room was as cool as ours then you are in for a treat!
The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and the breakfast was great! We had breakfast both days and it was lush, real coffee and a choice of cereal or hot breakfast.
The location is great, 5 mins walk from the shopping centre and about 30 seconds from the seafront.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amycourt24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharonK2012, Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear 'amycourt24',

We are glad you chose Brighton as the destination for you and your sister. The seafront rooms have such stunning views of the West Pier and we're glad you enjoyed them even though you couldn't enjoy them to their full extent. We can't promise hot weather, although a hot breakfast helps!

Many thanks for taking the time to review the Artist Residence.

Warm Regards,

Sharon
Artist Residence / George Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Couldn't recommend it strongly enough. We stayed in the hutch room...It was quirky as well as clean, and the views of the old pier just added to the pleasure. Can't thank the staff enough for there continues attention to detail, and impeccable manners. We will be defiantly returning in the future, and recommending it to our friends.

Thanks again guys...You made a great couple of days wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 396Carlos1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharonK2012, Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear '396Carlos1969',

We are so pleased you enjoyed staying with us at the Artist Residence recently. All the staff are extremely happy to help. We love sharing tips about Brighton to help you get everything Brighton & Hove has to offer. Thank you for recommending us. Word of mouth is the best form of advertising.

Naturally, we are looking forward to having you back in the near future, and perhaps you can try one of our other individually designed rooms!

Kind Regards,

Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, England
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for one night in September on a work trip. Loved it.

My bedroom was in the basement (3B) Really full of bohemian character with a comfortable bed and a small but excellent shower room with toilet and basin. Extra single bed in an alcove.

Great cooked breakfast. Very helpful staff who lugged my heavy suitcase up and down stairs!

Five min walk from the conference centre. Ideal!

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank midasfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here last Saturday (29th September) whilst on a girls weekend in Brighton and had a great experience at a very quirky and unique hotel.
While being stuck in traffic for hours trying to get into a nearby carpark, one of our party went to the hotel to ask advice from the receptionist about parking facilities and although she couldn't ease our dilemma she was very helpful about suggesting where we should park for the easiest access to the hotel.
There were three of us in our party and upon entry we were fascinated by the quirky and unusual artwork decorating the walls down to our room. We were given a basement room (b3) which was fabulous, decorated by Lydia Shirreff with several geometric 3D pieces of art. It was spotlessly clean, good bedding, plenty of shelving and all the usual facilities (good tv, well stocked hospitality tray etc). The room offered a double bed and a single bed tucked round in a little alcove from the main room. Bathroom was small but functional and exceptionally clean with plenty of towels and complimentary toiletries provided.
When heading out for the evening the receptionist was again extremely helpful with providing information about taxi services. Sometimes in hotels you can be made to feel like a nuisance when asking for help but this wasn't the case here. She was very friendly, approachable and pleasant.
After a good nights sleep we didn't sample the breakfast offerings as we had decided to eat elsewhere but upon peeking into the dining area it appeared that there was a good selection on offer and smell delicious!
Couple of minor moans, would have been nice to have a mirror in the main bedroom to use as it was a bit of a fight with three girls trying to get ready for a night on the town all sharing the bathroom one! Also there were a couple of holes in the bathroom wall where a shelf appeared to be missing, but don't let that put you off staying here. The place is fantastic.
After leaving, through the windows we could see the appearance and decor of some of the upper rooms and they looked amazing! I will most definitely be coming back here for another stay and really looking forward to staying in some of the other fabulous looking rooms!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, Surrey, UK
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

I've been to this hotel three times and have booked a fourth. The hotel is fun and quirky and the staff try hard to please. The location is great and I love the view we had this time. Must add that the beds and pillows are really comfy too and the room was lovely and toasty in the evening and morning. Well done Chantelle and Co, and thank you.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.9 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,185 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 43 in Brighton
7,539 reviews
0.9 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 43 in Brighton
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#12 of 43 in Brighton
1,339 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 43 in Brighton
2,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist Residence Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist Residence Brighton

Property: Artist Residence Brighton
Address: 33 Regency Square, Brighton BN1 2GG, England (Formerly Malvern Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Artist Residence Brighton 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fun and quirky rooms with imaginative design, featuring award-winning cocktail bar and two restaurants in a unique double-fronted townhouse hotel in the heart of Brighton. Located on the seafront in historic Regency Square this hotel is a 10 minute walk from Brighton train station. Dine at one of Brighton's best restaurants The Set, which features seasonal British tasting menu's, or opt for the more casual Set Cafe for a selection of small plates and craft beers. Each of the 23 guest rooms at Artist Residence are either individually designed by an artist or by the house and feature vintage and retro furniture, limited edition prints, graphic murals, flat screen TVs and en-suite bathrooms. Some rooms have sea views overlooking the West Pier. All rooms and communal areas have free Wi-Fi and there is also a ping-pong room which doubles as a meeting room. In addition to being a home-from-home and unique place to sleep, The Artist Residence serves as a gathering place and hub of community activity for locals and visitors alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Artist Residence Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artist Residence Brighton Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing