We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but cheerful”
Review of China China

China China
Ranked #366 of 1,140 Restaurants in Brighton
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cheap but cheerful”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

China China is a restaurant that knows it's place in the world - the decor is plain, the menu is huge and the portions are generous. There are no pretensions here, just good food at super reasonable prices. There's a huge array of different dishes as you'd expect, along with a very competent and well priced dim sum menu which is worth the visit on it's own.

Each dish comes with a choice of rice or noodles, accompanied by a small, sad looking side salad. There's no illusions of fine dining, but the dishes are tasty and hit the spot. Staff are helpful and will go out of their way to please, although it can be hard to get their attention when it's busy.

If you're on the lookout for some Chinese on the cheap, then China China is certainly up your street. Don't expect the world, but do expect good food and low prices.

+ Good portions
+ A good variety of dishes
+ Friendly staff
+ Casual atmosphere
+ Open late

- Gets a little hectic when busy
- Food *looks* cheap

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarcTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    90
    24
    14
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great prices in the south of england”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Before I arrived in Brighton I did some research on Chinese restaurant for dim sums. It is highly recommended by reviewers from tripadvisor. I gaved it a try, I wasn't dissappointed. There's a vast variety of food choice and for those who couldn't read, the dishes are photographed. I ordered a variation of food to eat. There were no bad dishes and they all came out within 20 min..I would go there again when I pop round Brighty. Forgot to say, competitve pricing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kwl888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Decade of GREAT Meals”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

As I said in the title, I've been a regular customer here for over 10 years, from when they first opened round the corner from where I worked at the time.

What keeps me coming back? It's consistently good, authentic (+ the obligatory British favourites) and great value, ok, decor is so so, but it is unpretentious you're not paying top end prices by far...only real pain is, they only take cash....

Personal favourites from the menu, would be the dim sum dumplings and buns, mixed meat and garlic fried rice (which is a meal on its own) crispy pork, chilli chicken...believe me, I could go on but I've just ended up making myself hungry...I'm off to China China!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BrightonNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cracking value!”
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Went to China China this last Saturday (1 June), arrived quite late (10pm-ish) for some grub before going out.
Greeting was prompt and courteous, everyone was nice and friendly and the interactions felt personalised too.

It's not the cheapest Chinese in the world but the value is certainly there in the service, atmosphere (they had a pianist playing!) and food.
One of the waitresses even changed a glass of wine I had as it had a bit of stuff in it which I hadn't even noticed! (I thing it was even my own food!)

Great experience all round!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kindekuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“China delight”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

From the minute you walk in,the attention is polite and efficient.The English are noted for wanting their food immediately they order.No problems here,fast,clean quality food.Try the Tempura Prawns,The Crispy Duck,and the Banana fritters,China China,Yum Yum,and the prices are good too! Johnnie H

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank johnnie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China China also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Hove, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to China China? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing