We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Exceptional Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Pier Guest House
Ranked #37 of 93 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Location, Exceptional Service”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We originally booked two superior rooms at the guesthouse and on arrival we were met by Marco who politely informed us that there had been a little problem with booking and we had two standard rooms, he made every attempt to move us to our original rooms on the second night but we were very happy with the ones we had been given and so chose to stay where we were and he promptly reimbursed us the difference. Rooms are small but clean and just right for a stay in Brighton, we were out way more than we were in the room, so it was perfect for a good night's sleep. Bathrooms need a little love, but we had hot running water, big fluffy towels etc.

Marco is an exceptional manager, looks after everyone, is extremely funny and nothing is too much trouble. We would highly recommend the Grand Pier guesthouse on his customer service alone.

There is no menu for breakfast but Marco will cook fresh anything you want, including the full English, French toast and Spanish omelette. He even made our friend's breakfast into a smiley face with poached eggs for eyes!

Don't expect to partake in the fish foot spa that is advertised on the website and the front of the hotel, it's not there anymore, but frankly who would want to dip their feet in a bowl full of fish when the seaside is two minutes away?

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Branwen71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    79
    23
    10
    12
See reviews for
32
154
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

The room was very compact & the bathroom even more so, but it was fine for a couple of nights. We were met by Marco and were made to feel so welcome. He was friendly and exeptionally helpful.

The highlight of the stay was going down for breakfast, where Marco made the mst fantastic food. His service was amazing and I dont know where he gets the energy from.

Thanks for a great stay

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Sheermadness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

My boyfriend and I travelled from London to Brighton for weekend and he booked this guest house. Marco greeted us on arrival and was cheerful and friendly. The room was quite small but clean and pleasant and good value. The veggie breakfast was cooked fresh and delicious. The guest house was close to the Pier and a short walk to the Pavillions and Lanes. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yourfavouriteslave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012 via mobile

Three of us travelled to Brighton and stayed over the Easter Weekend, we were greeted by Marco outside, he helped us with our luggages & showed us to our rooms. Rooms were bright, clean & comfortable.
Breakfast was great, cooked to order & I can highly recommend the French toast & Spanish omelette!
Location is great, pier is at the bottom of the road, 10 mins walk to the lanes, there's a great gelatto / coffee shop on the top of the street, tesco's, morrisons & sainsbury's all within 2mins walk and ideally located for some of the bars & clubs.
Will definitely stay here again. Marco really makes this place!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ScottNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed here as my father-in-law was running the Brighton Marathon at the weekend, room was tidy and breakfast was very good - I am extremely fussy over coffee but the coffee was top marks too!!

Location is perfect, right close to the pier - Marco is a huge asset to the guest house and was very helpful and welcoming - over 6 month old daughter Jessica also really took to him and was all smiles and laughter when she saw him!

As my father in law was running the marathon and wanted a different breakfast to other runners in the guest house Marco also went out and bought lots of items to make a breakfast basket for him, which a lot of places wouldn't bother to do.

Would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Griff1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil County, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Excellent stay at this guest host - made even better by the wonderful Marco who makes the BEST breakfast and actually cares about the guests. Would very, very highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the guest house with my girlfriend for a week break and loved every second of it! We stayed in a standard room which was well furnished and the room was clean and tidy! The facilities all worked and the bathroom was also clean and tidy. The owner Marco was an excellent and helpful host who was always there to help with any questions we had. The breakfasts cooked to order by Marco were amazing and he makes the best bacon sandwiches and cooked breakfasts. This was our first experience at the guesthouse and we will definitely be returning in the near future! I would definitely recommend this guesthouse to anyone!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank mattevans25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
One Broad Street Guesthouse
0.2 mi away
Coward's Guesthouse
Coward's Guesthouse
#26 of 93 in Brighton
113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cavalaire Hotel
Cavalaire Hotel
#5 of 93 in Brighton
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Brighton House
Brighton House
#12 of 93 in Brighton
616 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brightonwave
Brightonwave
#15 of 93 in Brighton
325 reviews
0.0 mi away
Istanbul EV Guest House
Istanbul EV Guest House
#67 of 93 in Brighton
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Pier Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Pier Guest House

Property: Grand Pier Guest House
Address: 11 Madeira Place, Brighton BN2 1TN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Pier Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Pier Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pier Guest House Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing