We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not very good” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Downs Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Downs Hotel
Ranked #76 of 98 Brighton B&B and Inns
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not very good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

No food available for guests on Sunday evening. Not good when working in the morning after a 4 hour drive.
The place is not clean and it's generally worn out, on the plus it is cheap but it's not walking distant to the nearest resteraunt the only option on Sunday is a pizza shop over the road

Monkeys and peanuts spring to mind

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    47
    43
    32
    41
See reviews for
36
64
31
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

This pub/hotel i couldn't recomend to friends or family. It seems that the owners don't really want to be there. Not very welcoming at all. On the plus side the room was clean and shower worked a treat. If you are looking for decent sleep then this hotel isn't for you. A very noisy location should really stick at being a pub!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stipesvir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Sadly we were in Brighton for a family funeral, not knowing the area we chose a hotel close to the crematorium that offered facilities for the Wake.

We booked a number of rooms and a buffet.

The only positive aspect to The Downs was that the linen and towels were spotless.
The outside is tired and drab. The inside was in need of refurbishment, the buffets are served in the bar area with the locals.
We received not one word of condolence or even acknowledgement of why we were there.
At least it wasn't a wedding reception; apparently they offer those too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn-Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Yes,I know The Downs Hotel sounds rather grand,but this is actually a pub that rents rooms it also has live music as pubs do.We arrived and initial impressions were "Oh no!".You have to fight your way through the regulars to get to the bar,there's no actual check in.The bar man showed us to our room which you pay for before you see it...there's a reason for this ! .Our room was very small and very basic.No extractor fan,no shaver socket,and only two mains sockets behind the bedside cabinet,however it was clean and quite bright.We decided to eat something in the restaurant and found it to be pretty good,the staff were cheery and Nicky in particular was very helpful.We then retired and took a shower...be warned our shower was terrible,the water is tepid and it's not a very pleasant experience.The bed had a thin mattress on it,but was surprisingly comfortable .Just one other point,our room had old sash windows,the hotel is on a rather windy hill and the windows spent most of the night clanging and banging so earplugs are a must.Cooked breakfast was good,if you didn't want that then cereals and orange juice were on offer,but not the normal fruit/croissants sort of arrangement.The hotel is in a good place for getting into Brighton which is a terribly expensive place to park in..£20for 4hours is the going rate ! The 22 and number 2 buses go from very close to the hotel and get you there for £3.50 return,they run every 15mins or so.In conclusion we probably won't be back,there are better places out there for the money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ridgebacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed in this hotel last year and came back again. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room again was lovely and clean. Good breakfast and lovely Sunday dinner. Only negative would say is that shower could be better, but would definately come back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WnJ23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Not sure why people have put negative things about this hotel.
The staff are absolutely amazing. They are really friendly and cannot do enough for you.
Dinner was fab & the service you cannot beat.
I would highly recommend a stay here if you are looking for a relaxed atmosphere with lovely staff.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kylie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

you get what you pay for ..... good basic clean ok for a weekend if you are not in the room all day !!! free parking as its a drive/cab/bus to the sea or main Brighton area. Bar and food available and is used as a locals (by the locals obviously) so a bit "clicky" but no trouble. Would prob not stay again but only as their are same value b&b's in a better/nearer location wise ...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
4.7 mi away
The Gather Inn
The Gather Inn
#42 of 98 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cecil House Hotel
Cecil House Hotel
#62 of 98 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
1.9 mi away
Waynes Place
Waynes Place
#55 of 98 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge
Innkeeper's Lodge
#54 of 98 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
2.7 mi away
Andorra Hotel
Andorra Hotel
#71 of 98 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
4.9 mi away
Clifton House Brighton
Clifton House Brighton
#64 of 98 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Downs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Downs Hotel

Property: The Downs Hotel
Address: Warren Road | Woodingdean, Brighton BN2 6BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Downs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Downs Hotel is set on top of a hill overlooking rolling countryside down to the sea. We are family run and pride ourselves on offering guests a warm welcome. With a bus stop outside that takes you into the centre of Brighton within 15 minutes you can leave your car in our FREE car park and enjoy our beautiful city leisurely. We have a traditional English bar which is popular with locals and has a pool table & darts board. We serve a variety of beers & ales (inc locally produced ones), alongside this our inviting restaurant offers homemade traditional dishes, and our head chef Brendan creates some wonderful weekly specials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Downs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing