We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely cheap B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Downs Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Downs Hotel
Ranked #81 of 97 Brighton B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cheap B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Room was pretty good for the price, but a little cold as radiator did not work. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Food was great in the evening but breakfast was not all that as eggs not properly cooked and still a little raw. Overall good value for money and would stay again.

Room Tip: Room 7 has a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    47
    44
    35
    42
See reviews for
36
66
32
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Recently stayed for three nights whilst visiting friends in Brighton. Hotel rooms are very basic but clean and at £45 a night quite good value for the Brighton area.
The staff are very friendly and helpful,the full English breakfast was very good and quite filling.
One point which was very noticable and very welcome considering how cold it was during my visit,was the fact that the hotel was incredily warm and cosy. Full marks for cosy comfort.
Obviously at such a basic price the hotel requires serious updating,but then the price would most likely triple!
I would not hesitate to return to this very good value hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelman3915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Was forced to book a room on Tuesday 22 Jan-live only 5 minutes from the hotel but snow had affected all roads badly and public transport and taxis were unable to get in or out of Woodingdean,and as I am waiting for a knee replacement operation am unable to walk very far.
The room was very cosy and warm and the staff were really friendly and helpful.
It was not en suite but don`t nornally have a problem with this except that as I did not know I would be spending the night in a hotel did not have night clothes with me and had to use one of the bed throws as a sort of toga to cover myself when making trips to the bathroom-fortunately did not meet any one.
Breakfast was excellent and filling and then the hotel owner arrived and after hearing my story gave me a lift home,which was much appreciated.
A very pleasing experience all-in-all under the circumstances.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clacton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Booked in with a party of friends. Not made at all at home. The room was ok but the "double glazing" was very loose and noisy. Kept awake by traffic right out side and the flashing traffic light by window. The evening meal was an experience,I have never been approached by a waiter to ask if there were any complaints! No dessert available as the barman wanted to go to bed at 10.15.
Not a hotel I will visit again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank john k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Good sized rooms. Great if you stopping on your way through. Breakfast was good. However its quite a way from Brighton sea front and stanmer park. Would cost £11-£12 in a taxi. I would stay again though.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mummyjade87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed with a group. Disaster, weren't made welcome at all. Rooms clean but windows rattled all night and didn't block the sound of traffic. Morning staff very friendly, good service, large breakfast but the damage had already been done.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rupert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed here with a group of friends for shake down festival. The room was clean and the bed was really comfortable. Staff were really helpful when we asked for directions. Breakfast was nice. No complaints.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jf90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
3.4 mi away
Cecil House Hotel
Cecil House Hotel
#61 of 97 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Gather Inn
The Gather Inn
#42 of 97 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
2.8 mi away
Istanbul EV Guest House
Istanbul EV Guest House
#67 of 97 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge
Innkeeper's Lodge
#52 of 97 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
5.7 mi away
Clifton House Brighton
Clifton House Brighton
#63 of 97 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
2.7 mi away
Waynes Place
Waynes Place
#53 of 97 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Downs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Downs Hotel

Property: The Downs Hotel
Address: Warren Road | Woodingdean, Brighton BN2 6BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Downs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Downs Hotel is set on top of a hill overlooking rolling countryside down to the sea. We are family run and pride ourselves on offering guests a warm welcome. With a bus stop outside that takes you into the centre of Brighton within 15 minutes you can leave your car in our FREE car park and enjoy our beautiful city leisurely. We have a traditional English bar which is popular with locals and has a pool table & darts board. We serve a variety of beers & ales (inc locally produced ones), alongside this our inviting restaurant offers homemade traditional dishes, and our head chef Brendan creates some wonderful weekly specials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Downs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing