We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful Afternoon Tea” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tea Cosy - CLOSED

The Tea Cosy
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating
Lancing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A wonderful Afternoon Tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Pre-booked lucky saw lots turned away as no space. Great cake/scones and fresh sandwiches lovely teas on offer at different tastes to meet everyone's needs. Good service and asking for more tea was not a problem a wonderful Brighton Experience - but book

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steveshg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    29
    12
    4
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What's not to love”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

What a lovely little place. Been for tea a number of times. Something me and my girlfriends love to do. I had seen the tea cosy on tv about a year ago and wanted to try it ever since. I would advise you to book before because it's only little. Me and my friends was luckly enuf to get A table on arrival ...late on last Sunday afternoon. From the outside I didn't no what to make of it as the windows was steamy. But we walked in and it was fabulous... Especially if you love the royal family. If you don't like the royals ...I don't think this is the place for you.
The food and cakes was lovely and fresh and and great range of wise selection.
I will deffo be visterting again

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“It was a pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Wow. I looked forward so much to visiting the Tea Cosy and was not disappointed. Scrummy cakes and scones - eccentric surroundings and lovely lady owner ( note this Vince H on previous post a lovely lady and her daughter has owned this amazing place for the past 4 years) I will look forward to returning when I need cheering up with a cup of tea, cake and uplifting atmosphere

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“What a disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

First thing owner is the Tea Cosy where was he on Saturday 15th Febuary when 20,000 runners came to Brighton. He should be in his Tea room. People from far and wide were in the tea room but no sight of him.Very bad management. Has he got too big for his booths. The scones were lovely but the cake. Oh no in this day of good cake baking he must have gone to the local wholesalers and bought the cheapes cakes. There must be lots of home bakers in Brighton that could supply really good cakes but he choose cheap alternatives and then charged the earth for poor quality. He will not be in Business in 5 years time if he carries on this way. A pity but others will bring in other team Tea rooms and will take his business look poor value for money. Vince

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vince H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“dont sit at the back”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

As the whiff from the toilet is very strong and made me feel sick.
Very dissapointing that butter isnt used, and the cucumber was cut
very thick in the cucumber sandwiches.Service was good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank paula i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tea Cosy also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing