We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and Welcoming From Abdul Wajid”
Review of A Taste of Sahara

A Taste of Sahara
Ranked #24 of 1,133 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A Lebanese and Persian restaurant on Brighton���s busy Western Road, Taste of Sahara gives seaside dwellers a taste of the exotic at a very reasonable price. With its d��cor created with care to reflect the atypical Middle East of story books and holiday brochures ��� all pierced tin lanterns, heavy wood and rich colours ��� Taste of Sahara has a look which reflects the diverse flavours of its immensely flavourful menu. From kebabs to tagines, all one���s Middle Eastern favourites are offered by the Sahara kitchen, along with some lesser known dishes that will tempt the more adventurous diner. In particular, the restaurant���s mezzes prove popular, the sharing concept somehow suited to this kind of cuisine, particularly when accompanied by the BYO policy.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely and Welcoming From Abdul Wajid”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This was my first time at the restaurant and l truly enjoyed the whole experience. The staff and particularly the manager provided such excellent customer care and service. The food was delicious warm and was very tasty and most importantly was fresh.
The atmosphere was amazing. And made us feel very welcome indeed.
The Middle Eastern food was extremely authentic with all the right spices to make it a truly Middle Eastern experience worth every penny. We liked it so much that we went back the next night as well and considering we went on a Friday and Saturday night the restaurant was packed but we only waited ten minutes to be seated and the portion sizes of the food was very generous.
If you have never been before please go and try the food you will truly enjoy it. Will definitely come back to Brighton just for this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wajid t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    470
    120
    31
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“exceptional”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I am not a person to spend my time writing reviews but on this ocassion I feel need too. We visited Brighton which was lovely and decided to visit The taste of Sahara last nite after reading some of the great reviews. Me and my wife are very cautious in where we choose to dine. The food was a1 and the service was impeccable coupled with great hospitality. Thankyou for a great evening. Mohammed

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mohammedabid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A good place overall”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

After 2 days of no halal food was very excited to try this place

The place is cosy and we got a warm welcome.

The food was good, starters were the best of the three courses.

well worth a try

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Umar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Delicious mezze”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I came across this restuarant while walking to a printer's shop in Hove. The first thing which attracted me was the wonderful Arabian music streaming out of the open door. The second was the furniture, and the third the menu. Instead of walking to Hove Station on a hot and humid day, I chose to return to this restaurant, and order lunch. I chose the mezze, washed down with real Moroccan mint tea. Both were delicious. They have a garden at the back which was closed, as some painting work was being done. I will definitely return with friends.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bexhillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delicious!”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

As an Arab living in London, sometimes I crave the taste of food back home. No middle-eastern restaurant in London comes even close to Sahara. The food is absolutely delicious, the presentation of the food is great, and the prices definitely fit the meals. The staff is friendly and the owner was very welcoming too. The atmosphere along with the middle eastern music being played are brilliant. It was like being taken back to home with the great food and atmosphere. Absolutely recommend this place to anyone who wants to taste some real middle-eastern/north african food! Will definitely visit next time we come to Brighton.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 90Maryam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Taste of Sahara also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Hove, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to A Taste of Sahara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing