We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful little place”
Review of A Taste of Sahara

A Taste of Sahara
Ranked #44 of 1,209 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A Lebanese and Persian restaurant on Brighton���s busy Western Road, Taste of Sahara gives seaside dwellers a taste of the exotic at a very reasonable price. With its d��cor created with care to reflect the atypical Middle East of story books and holiday brochures ��� all pierced tin lanterns, heavy wood and rich colours ��� Taste of Sahara has a look which reflects the diverse flavours of its immensely flavourful menu. From kebabs to tagines, all one���s Middle Eastern favourites are offered by the Sahara kitchen, along with some lesser known dishes that will tempt the more adventurous diner. In particular, the restaurant���s mezzes prove popular, the sharing concept somehow suited to this kind of cuisine, particularly when accompanied by the BYO policy.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

An old friend was in Brighton to see us after many years so we thought we will take him to Sahara (A Taste of Sahara).

Although we arrived at 5pm but because we had not eaten all day, frankly we were pretty hungry and ready to eat.

It has an authentic atmosphere and you immediately feel you are somewhere in the Middle East. We were six and decided to be at the back end of the restaurant. It nice and relaxing, lovely big table and lots a cushions to lean on. Just the thing to help catch up with old times.
The table was nice and clean and so was the cutlery and the glasses. Not always the case in some places. There is a big TV for those who want to watch something and you can also go out in the backyard if you want to smoke (not for us).

As soon as the starters and drinks were ordered, they all turned up. We also chose a variety of main dishes and all came pretty quickly. The food was hot, well cooked and frankly we all really enjoyed every thing. To finish it, we had Baklava with mint tea.

A perfect end to a wonderful and memorable evening for us.The owner (Sabri) was helpful and polite and so was the waiter. We were there for an hour and half but not sure where the time went.

Frankly, it is a wonderful little place and I recommend it. If have the service we did, I am sure you will like it and will go back. We will for sure.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tarjunghot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (733)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

648 - 652 of 733 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

Now personally I really like the food of North Africa and to be fair Sahara does a reasonable job of it, but unfortunately it stops there.

Do not even think of eating here if you have any special dietary requirements, and certainly do not rely on getting acurate information on the food from staff. According to their staff, falafels do not contain chick peas! Despite several weeks notice on booking they were unable to follow some very basic dietary exclusions, didn't really seem to understand vegetarians and didn't even know what contained chilli. Added to one of the owner's insistance on leaving the street door open in a largely empty restaurant, forcing a couple to move to the lower floor in the middle of their meal to avoid the draft. The staff were nice enough but the overall service was very poor.

Not too bad a price, but not good and certainly not in the same class as other places, such as the Blue Man, offering similar food.

If your expectations are low and you are happy with a very narrow offering consisting mostly of spicy meat then you'll enjoy it, otherwise, do yourself a favour and give it a miss!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Huggy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaharaBrighton, Owner at A Taste of Sahara, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

In response to this review, we are totally surprised. Our menue clearly states in "English", exactly what the ingridients of every single dish are, Quote " Falafal (V) Mix of soaked chickpeas, Beans, Onions etc..etc..We fail to see how this customer could not see wheather Falafal has chickpeas in it or not.

Our staff are fully trained and are very knowlegable about every dish in the menue. We would not describe our food as spicy, it is more so Aromatic. However we are happy to offer Tuisian Harrisa to our customers on the side if our customers wish so.

If this paricular customer wants to promote another business that only has one review on Trip Advisor, on our page it is better to do it else where.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We went to Sahara for the first time 30th Dec 2012 and was happy with food service and price.
The staff are very nice and friendly.
At the back ot the resturant is a very nice seating area for parties both's cloth covered ceilings in red and a moroccan feel.
You need to take your own wine or Alcohol, which is not a problem if you are prepared !!!

I would omagine on a night when there is music etc the atmosphere would be real fun we will return one day soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Patsykins13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We were back in Brighton again and before we went to the New Venture Theatre to see a play we wanted to have a meal at our Brighton favourite. This time we had the in laws with us and we booked rather late (saturdays are popular at Sahara so book early) BUT the lovely Sabri managed to fit us in as we were eating early. The in laws (both in their 70's) had never eaten Moroccan/Lebanese food so were a bit apprehensive but they loved it. There was a new waiter who we had not met before but Sabri has trained him well - he had that Sahara ambience about him and was courteous, polite and attentive. The food was beautifully cooked, arrived promptly and tasted excellent. My daughter and I plumped for the Lebanese bread with halloumi for our starter as usual, followed by Shish Tawouk - which are our No 1 favourite dishes. And they delivered on taste yet again.
The BYOB policy is still in place and is oh so welcome as it means we have choice but dont get ripped off with restaurant wine list prices.
Everyone enjoyed their meal - and we got to the theatre in good time.
The only complaint I have is that I didnt get my usual hug from Sabri on leaving!
We will of course be back - if you haven't tried Sahara before then do go along and give it a try. I dont think you will be disappointed at all. It really is Brightons No 1 hidden gem!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Driftwood63xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaharaBrighton, Owner at A Taste of Sahara, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Thank you so much for yor lovely review, and I do apologies for the lack of hugs! next time hugs all around. Hope to see you again soon. Wishing you all wonderful seasons greatings and best wishes for the new year.

Regards and Hugs Sabri :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Went with some friends a few months ago as we wanted to go somewhere that was BYOB, I usually set my standards pretty low for BYOB restaurants but we had such a great night at Sahara. The staff were warm and friendly, the decor felt authentic and cosy, the food was fantastic (i recommend the lamb), the service was fairly quick, it has a nice outside smoking area and you aren't charged for corkage! Definitely recommend going there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lu h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaharaBrighton, Owner at A Taste of Sahara, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback it is very much appriciated. We do our best to keep our customers happy and it is such a pleasure to know that we have managed that.

Best wishes Sabri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Taste of Sahara also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to A Taste of Sahara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing