We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but clean and on the seafront”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grapevine Seafront
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Spent two nights - 19th - 20th Oct. En-suite room for 4 persons was clean with reasonably comfortable bunk beds. I slept on lower bunk which made toilet visits easy. Good value at £15 per night. A bit noisy both nights from all night restaurant on ground floor. Altogether quite a decent experience for a 68yr old man.

Room Tip: Choose the bottom bunk
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fraser B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 210 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2011

In recent years I have had the dubious pleasure of staying in some of the worst accommodation the developing world has to offer. From a mosquito infected hut in the Costa Rican jungle where the owner waved a carving knife in my direction when I disputed the bill, to a communist administered hell hole in Cuba and a Moroccan townhouse where the proprietor spent the entirety of our stay trying to pull my then-girlfriend, I've been through it. On one occasion I stayed in a hotel in the Gaza Strip that came complete a posse of Hamas gunmen and was under constant threat of shelling from the friendly Israeli army.

But in truth only a one star hotel in the remote north of Cameroon, that upon reflection doubled as the local brothel, beats the Grapevine for the worst hotel/hostel I have ever had to endure. The room was filthy, the staff rude and noise from the street unbearable. A dip in the nearby Channel would have been warmer than the shower.

All in all, I wouldn't bother.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nice-one-sean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

I've stayed in many hostels over the years and have never had to pay £35 a night before so I expected a high standard..... I couldn't be more wrong, the lady at reception was unfriendly and bored, the shower had no hot water, the bedding had stains and the lock on the door didn't work properly. The window overlooking the beach wouldn't close - only had a mesh covering it - which meant we could hear all the partiers below until 7.30 in the morning!

Truly awful place whose only saving grace is its proximity to the beach.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimbob_1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

I stayed here with friends and we were left devastated by our experience. The staff were unhelpful and impolite, our room was dirty and our door could be opened with just a quick shove, no key needed. The windows were stuck open so we all enjoyed the sounds of Brightons nightlife until 6am even though we'd retired to bed hours earlier. For the price I'd expect far better. The location was no more than a silver lining to a very dark and gloomy cloud.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelpole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

A terrible hostel. We had rubbish pilled up outside one of the rooms we had, a door that didn't lock, pillows and duvets that were falling apart and a wire mesh rather than a window in our room. All in all a terrible experience and I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ATP_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

A truly abysmal establishment. The staff are rude and very unhelpful. The building is dilapidated and tiny, with the rooms an absolute disgrace. There was no power from the sockets to charge a mobile telephone, bed bugs rampant with litter strewn around. The room did not lock either and could be opened without a key, which would echo the sentiments of others who have been the victims of crimes here. Overpriced in the extreme, £35 for a bunk bed for one night potentially with strangers. I would urge people not to stay here. The small crumb of comfort, amongst a sea of crumbs, is the location. It pains me to say it, but the location is excellent, and if you are on a stag/ hen weekend you could probably make do.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlbaAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

After calling to advise we would be late due to traffic we arrived to find no one at the hostel. We waited outside for an hour until the security guy appeared with our keys - not a great start!
But our room was separate from the main rooms & reception - right on the sea front. 2 minute walk from the pier with restaurants, bars and clubs all on our door step. Perfect location for Pride!
We stayed in a 2 bed private room with shower & loo for 2 nights. Room was clean - towels, bedding etc in room. We were free to come and go as we pleased which was handy as both nights we didn't get in till gone 4am!
A bit noisy and not much of a view! But overall the stay was pleasant and to be fair you get what you pay for - it is a Hostel after all!
Would advise to park at Marina where you can park for free - we parked in the central multistory and paid £25 for just over 10 hours!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emma1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
Hostelpoint-Brighton
Hostelpoint-Brighton
#38 of 43 in Brighton
242 reviews
0.6 mi away
Home Brighton
Home Brighton
#19 of 26 in Brighton
130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Smart Brighton Beach
Smart Brighton Beach
#20 of 26 in Brighton
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kipps Backpackers Hostel
Kipps Backpackers Hostel
#3 of 26 in Brighton
197 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baggies Backpackers Brighton
0.2 mi away
YHA Brighton
YHA Brighton
#2 of 26 in Brighton
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grapevine Seafront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grapevine Seafront

Address: 74-76 Middle Street, Brighton BN1 1AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Brighton
Price Range: $23 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Grapevine Seafront 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grapevine Seafront overlooks the vibrant and popular seaside between Brighton's two famous piers. From here we offer shared rooms for 2, 3 or 4 guests, with showers and toilets conveniently located just outside the rooms. Private rooms also available with en-suite showers & fabulous sea views. Our relaxed and friendly team is always ready to welcome you and to ensure that you have an enjoyable stay in our vibrant and diverse city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your The Grapevine Seafront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grapevine Seafront Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing