We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pub Lunch”
Review of The Bath Arms

The Bath Arms
Ranked #54 of 1,124 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $26
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: However popular the North Laine becomes, the heart of Brighton will always remain The Lanes themselves. There are plenty of pubs among the twisting narrow streets, but none is as well known as the Bath Arms, which enjoys a reputation among tourists and locals alike as THE pub of The Lanes.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Pub Lunch”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We met two old friends, a mother and her daughter who we had not seen for a long time. We went for a drink, which became a few so we decided to eat where we were. For a pub lunch it was quite good, the service was good and the price reasonable. We all had various kinds of fish, they were all fresh and well cooked. I could well return in the near future.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dearboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    136
    18
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must've gone on the wrong day...”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

My partner, two year old daughter and I went to the Bath Arms for lunch on a day out to Brighton to celebrate his 30th birthday. We chose here specifically because it got such rave reviews on Tripadvisor. First impressions were nice decor, nice atmosphere, friendly staff, the menu looked good and our waitress was nice.
To cut a (very) long story short: it took well over an hour for our food to arrive, despite my asking for my daughter's food to be brought out fairly swiftly as she was hungry and tired, so by the time it eventually arrived my daughter was beyond hungry and had started to 'play up' as she was bored. When food did arrive my 'medium' steak was completely burnt - terrible burnt taste, tough as hell, and the smudge of blue cheese (?) on top was, well, barely there! My partner's burger was also burnt. Chips were pale and tasteless, the mushy peas with the kiddy portion of fish and chips were grey in colour. Waitress was very apologetic, as was her manager who knocked a derisory amount off the bill. Total disappointment, and really ruined our day.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cakebaker01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great pub for food and drinks in The Lanes.”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Great place for lunch in The Lanes. Everything was great. We enjoyed the fish & chips, rarebit sandwich, roast beef and cheese sandwich and special of the day roast chicken sandwich. The staff was very friendly and attentive. The atmosphere was very cozy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SoFlaJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
189 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly service but .......”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stumbled upon this old fashioned pub whilst looking for a bite to eat after a long morning of shopping. It seemed a pleasant change from our usual trendy bistro type eatery so decided to give it a try.

The welcome was warm and friendly and the server helpful in accommodating our various requirements and making recommendations from the varied and interesting menu. The food arrived promptly and was hot and very tasty. All four of us enjoyed our lunch very much.

Unfortunately although the food deserves 4 stars I felt I had to mark it down due to the state of the ladies toilets. They were very tatty and smelly and we had to roll our trousers up as the floor was so wet! I appreciate the pub is old (and characterful) but the bathroom really let it down.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Callycam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Good Sunday lunch, great Bloody Marys”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had Sunday lunch here. The portions were healthy and the food was good. The veggies were especially pleased with their mushroom tarts. Fair value too.

The restaurant space was pleasantly cool on a very hot day.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheGustoDiningClub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bath Arms also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to The Bath Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing