We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Whole experience awful!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gather Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Gather Inn
Ranked #42 of 98 Brighton B&B and Inns
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Whole experience awful!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Once they have your money they don't want to know. The owner is beyond rude. I paid money for a en-suite but was given a room which I had to share with a STAG party. Throughout the stay I realised that I was not only sharing with a stag party but the chef for the hotel kept using it too which is just beyond a joke!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank unidentified u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Gather Inn, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
This is another review from the ladies that wrote on the 9th June. Again the group that we helped out and are now being subjected to false reviews. The girls did not share a room with stags or a chef. The rooms are private but they have to share the bathrooms with two other rooms. If you want to see a true opinion of the B&B then please look at the many others we have received.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    61
    38
    20
    40
See reviews for
54
70
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

I frequently head down south and enjoy long weekends in and around Brighton and try new accomodation each time, but i think i have found a place I shall now stay at on a regular basis! I found the staff, rooms, food and location all easily 5 star, and the location is a simple taxi or bus ride to the city centre.

A big thankyou to Gem and Tania who assisted me with all my needs. First Class!

Room Tip: Although I obviosuly only experienced one of the rooms the location has excellent panoramic views so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

I stayed here in a few weeks ago, I strongly reccomend that you don't stay here. The rooms had not been tidied or cleaned sufficiently as we found a thick layer of dust confetti and litter under the beds. The manager was disgracefully rude and arrogant. She makes you pay in cash and after that is not interested in providing a good service. I felt extremely upset by how I was treated and will honestly never come again . If you want to be over charged and treated like scum this is the place for you!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Izzythirza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladybrighton, Manager at The Gather Inn, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
This review was written by a lady travelling with a group of 8 girls. I was called on the Friday by the girl who booked to check her booking, she thought she had booked Fri & Sat but had in fact booked Sat & Sun, she had received 2 e-mails confirming this but had not realised her error. It was 2 hours before check-in on Friday so we had very little left but with a lot of shuffling a few phone calls and e-mails we managed to get them in on Friday instead! The only thing was one of the rooms was a triple shared bathroom instead of twin en-suite. The girl was very happy with the change and thanked me, as we did not have to do this we could have "stuck to policy" but we try to help where we can and believe in providing a good customer service. Despite this one of the girls complained about the fact that one room had shared bathroom on Saturday, the manager on duty tried to explain the situation that had occurred but to no avail, she was accused of being rude and unhelpful and the girl said she wouldn't speak to her again. This was a bit upsetting after all that had been done for the group. No mention was made of dust or confetti. You can try to help people but it seems you can't please everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Maidstone
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

This hotel really helped to make it a great weekend! Great atmosphere in the bar were the staff were really nice and good fun. The rooms were clean, food was amazing especially the platters and burgers!! Really lovely spot on the Hove seafront over looking the Lagoon. We're definitly coming back next year.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladybrighton, Manager at The Gather Inn, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we are glad you enjoyed the platters! They are one of our top sellers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

we was a group of 8 on a hen do, we was in 3 rooms which we're all lovely and clean. The staff we're really friendly, Willy was fab!the food was yummy. I cannot fault the blue lagoon at all! Xxx

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clairey to be warnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladybrighton, Manager at The Gather Inn, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thank you for your review, it really made me laugh as I think we better clarify that WILLY is our parrot! x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

This hotel was booked through Chilli Sauce Stag organisers. I had never been there before and only had seen it reviewed on here. We arrived on Friday and were greeted by lovely staff. You could tell it was a family business as they are were working 100% to make everyone feel welcome. I had a party of 15 lads with three rooms in total. The rooms were clean, warm, fresh bedding and good facilities. We had bunk beds which were great fun. We pretty much had the whole wing for our group. On the night of our arrival we got a meal which we didn't expect which saved some money for beers!! The next morning we got a breakfast ranging from cereal to a fry up. Hard to swallow only because we were hung over!!!! :) The bars were brilliant espacially the sports bar! On the Saturday night, we forgot one of the boys when we got taxis into town. One of the girls behind the desk took him into town saving him a taxi fare. A testament to how good the staff were. I would go back tomorrow for a lads weekend and a mate is considering going back for his 30th!! Happy times!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doogan007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladybrighton, Manager at The Gather Inn, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thank you so much for this review. The comment you made about everyone working a 100% was so nice to hear as you often think people don't realise. We hope to see you again soon, just give us a call about the 30th, we will be happy to help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

This was my second stay. first time was 18 months ago. I stayed for a sat night in a twin room with my friend where we met up with other friends. It was basic and very comfortable. All the staff were very friendly and i would deffinatly stay there again. our room was at the back over looking the lagoon. It was very quiet. You couldn't hear any noises from the bar. Fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maroon_Babe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladybrighton, Manager at The Gather Inn, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Lovely to hear from you again, thanks for the nice review. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brighton
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Princes Marine Hotel
3.1 mi away
Waynes Place
Waynes Place
#54 of 98 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
3.0 mi away
Strawberry Fields
Strawberry Fields
#26 of 98 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Downs Hotel
The Downs Hotel
#78 of 98 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
2.9 mi away
Istanbul EV Guest House
Istanbul EV Guest House
#68 of 98 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clifton House Brighton
Clifton House Brighton
#65 of 98 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gather Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gather Inn

Property: The Gather Inn
Address: 330 Kingsway | Hove, Brighton BN3 4LW, England (Formerly Blue Lagoon Bar and B&B)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Gather Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fun and friendly choice on the seafront with free on street parking. The Guest House also has two lovely Bars, both with a full menu. The Gather Inn menu consists of home-made dishes from locally sourced ingredients that are served with a smile. Call direct for best rates. The Sea View Bar is the place to have a meal or sip a drink while admiring the view of the Lagoon and Seafront. Menu options include Steaks, Ribs, Hunters Chicken, Home-made burgers, Fish & chips and beautiful Sunday Roast, to name a few! The well stocked Bar has a Wine List, Cocktails, Real Ale, Craft Beers, Lagers and Ciders. Expect to find Live entertainment some weekends such as acoustic duos/ solo artists, Cocktail evenings, Pub Games, a pool table and friendly, attentive staff. On the lower level, the Lagoon View Bar is open when the weather is nice. The Bar has views over the Lagoon from the raised seating area, a Pool Table, Plasma TVs, Children's Seating area with Toys and Games and direct access to the Patio Area. The Patio is a pleasant little spot to catch some sun and enjoy "people watching". Guests benefit from a 10% discount off of the Food Menu (T&C's apply, see staff for details). There's a range of different rooms available, from doubles and twins to family and group rooms. There's plasma Freeview TV, shaver points, radio alarm clock and tea and coffee making facilities, the en-suites have showers. There is a Group Wing which up to 15 people can enjoy, complete with a "Getting Ready" area. The room rate is "Room Only", Guests can choose to add breakfast/ evening meals/ sparkling wines/ champagne and other extras to their booking by contacting the Guest House Directly. If you add Breakfast, there are various choices, cooked english, toast and jams, cereals, tea and coffee and orange juice (may not available certain holidays - Xmas/ Boxing and New Years Day). Irons and hairdryers are available for hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Gather Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Lagoon Bar And Bed And Breakfast
Blue Lagoon Bar Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing