We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really enjoyable stay”
Review of Kemp Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kemp Townhouse
Ranked #32 of 93 Brighton B&B and Inns
London
1 review
“A really enjoyable stay”
Reviewed November 7, 2008

I stayed in the snug single room when I visited Kemp Townhouse last week to visit with friends in Brighton. It was a brilliant choice of B&B - from the immaculate rooms - the shiny bathrooms - and the fabulous breakfast (the home made granola in particular) - it was all the best possible way to visit Brighton. I can't recommend it highly enough. I would say this was the best value B&B I have experienced in the UK.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank izb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    118
    54
    21
    8
See reviews for
35
331
46
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2008

Having checked out of Blanch House after refusing to stay there, a few doors along we stumbled upon Kemp Townhouse. It was by now 8pm on Friday night and we decided to ring the bell and try our luck to get 2 rooms. Russell one of the owners showed us around and a 'deal was struck'. This place truly deserves to knock Blanch house off it's top spot. Attention to detail, amazing 6 star breakfast, and charming hosts. The only bad part was leaving, we shall definatley return.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank CFB2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2008

My boyfriend and I picked to stay at the Kemp Townhouse as we didn't really fancy any of the big hotels on the seafront and wanted somewhere a bit more unique.

We couldn't have been more pleased with our choice: the couple that run the guesthouse are really warm and friendly, gave us great advice on what to do and where to eat whilst in Brighton and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable.

Their attention to detail is fantastic, the whole place is elegantly and beautifully decorated and of course perfectly clean. The individually cooked breakfasts were a real treat and there was a good choice to keep everyone happy.

The "cosy" double is really quite small and so if your budget allows I'd recommend one of the larger rooms (if they're not all booked up as they were when we went)!

  • Liked — Individual friendly service
  • Disliked — Small room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Londonium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alloa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2008

My wife and I own a hotel in Scotland and came to Brighton for a wedding.
From my first conversation with Claas I knew we were in for an excellent stay!
when i stay in a hotel, of course I want it to look good and feel comfortable, and you just need to look at all of the reveiws here to see how stylish an establishment it is! (particularly for the price you pay).
But more important for me than these things is the level of service that a business is prepared to offer. And Claas and everyone at the Kemp Townhouse could have written the book on top quality service.

  • Liked — the breakfast smoothie!
  • Disliked — my wife wouldn't share her smoothie with me!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HapsterChapster9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed September 14, 2008

I have just returned from a weekend in Brighton with my boyfriend and just had to say what a wonderful stay we had at the Kemp Townhouse. From the moment we arrived to the second we left we were impressed by the high standard of the hotel.
The room was stylish, extremely clean, comfy and in a great location a stones throw from the sea front and approx 5-10 minutes walk to the Laines. The hotel managers Russell and Claas went out of their way to ensure we had a great stay and also recommended a lovely restaurant 'Havana' which we had a wonderful romantic meal at on Saturday night. This review wouldn't be complete without mentioning the great english breakfast that was served at the hotel. We would definately recommend this gorgeous boutique hotel....

  • Liked — The high standard of the hotel
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travelfish27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2008

I recently stayed in the Kemp Townhouse for two nights with my partner. I enjoyed my stay emensly and would highly recommend it to anyone who wishes to stay in luxurious surroundings. The staff were exceptionally helpful and warm. I had such a marverlous time, even though the weather was attrotious, I will be going back again very soon!!!

  • Liked — The luxurious room.
  • Disliked — The size of the room.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lois51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2008

I'm not surprised by the other reviews and can only add to the praise for Kemp Townhouse which it thoroughly deserves. From the glass of wine on arrival (although it was after 10pm we were immediately made to feel welcome) to the luxurious but tastefully decorated 'cosy double' and the thoughtful, attentive attitude of our hosts I really couldn't find anything to fault it - not that I was looking, I was too relaxed! No review would be complete without mention of the breakfasts which were simply superb. When we weren't going gooey over our eggs benedict we were ooohhing and ahhing at the deliciously soft carpet - shoes on or off they didn't seem to mind. As weekend treats go, this will certainly take some beating!

  • Liked — Beautiful decor, attentive and friendly service
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tooting_tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,144 reviews
0.5 mi away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#13 of 44 in Brighton
2,191 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#11 of 44 in Brighton
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brighton Marina House Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Charm - Brighton Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Brightonwave
Brightonwave
#15 of 93 in Brighton
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kemp Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kemp Townhouse

Property: Kemp Townhouse
Address: 21 Atlingworth Street, Brighton BN2 1PL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Kemp Townhouse 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kemp Townhouse: "Brighton chicest new hotel. The IndependentKemp Townhouse offers luxury boutique accommodation at affordable prices. All 9 bedrooms have stylish en-suite wet rooms and boast their own individual features such as bay windows with sea views, beautiful antique fireplaces, free standing bath or indulgent four poster beds. The Regency style listed property is found in a quiet location, just off the seafront, close to the beach as well as restaurants, shops and Brighton’s thriving nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Kemp Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kemp Townhouse Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing