We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bright Days in Brighton”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kemp Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kemp Townhouse
Ranked #32 of 97 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Bright Days in Brighton”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

A well located pleasant hotel making the very best of space given. Gorgeous breakfast menu, swift reaction of staff to minor problems at any time of day and night. Downside: our room was a bit too hot due to nearby boiler which resulted in our wardrobe being an airing cupboard.

Room Tip: Consider the requires space due to travellers and baggage and ask whether unwanted warmth generated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mario B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Owner at Kemp Townhouse, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Mario

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope very much to see you again.

With best wishes,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    115
    49
    21
    8
See reviews for
35
321
44
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here from Friday to Sunday. On arrival on the Friday we parked right outside on the street and were able to collect our permit from the hotel as requested. The hotel is situated in a brilliant location with the pier the lanes and the shops all a short stroll away. The hotel staff very attentive indeed we stayed in the cosy double which as the name suggests is cosy but it was fine for us. We loved all the additional little extras such as slippers, dressing gown etc and the products were lovely in particular the shower gel! The breakfast was great and breakfast staff worked hard to get the food out as quickly as possible (which is a feat in itself as the kitchen looks tiny!)
On the Saturday night we returned from our meal out to find we had no electric in the sockets, we rang the bell to call a member of staff and very swiftly a lovely member of staff arrived and told us she was trying to rectify the problem as another room had the same issue. Within minutes she had sorted the problem and knocked our door to make sure all was ok.
In summary we would definitely return as it's excellent value for money

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Villagroves1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Owner at Kemp Townhouse, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and for writing such a lovely review. The team were really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.

With best wishes,

Paul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

We've stayed in Brighton every year for the past ten years and this is the best hotel by far.
We had the 'Tiny Double' (which is only really big enough for one person) as it was the only room left in the hotel due to a conference. Putting aside the size of the room, and the seagulls that (in June) are nesting and noisy from 4.30am, the hotel is fab.

This pretty townhouse is located in a quiet side street just off Kemp Town, with its cool cafes and bars, and is a ten minute walk to the pier etc or twenty minutes the other way to the Marina (restaurants and shops).

Inside, the standard of finish and cleanliness are tip top. I won't bore you with all the details but it all looked good and the ambience if perfect to chill out to.

Breakfast is everything you need, and it is all sourced locally. From the 'Posh Porridge' with passion fruit yoghurt to the full English via the croissants and fruit bowls, we practically rolled out of the front door each day!

In the room, there is an excellent selection of teas, filter coffee and home made biscuits. There's a hairdryer, a fan (no a/con), TV, clock radio with I-pod dock, nice toiletries, and best of all, a complimentary decanter of Port.
The bed is comfy and the blind was thick enough to block the sun.

Parking-wise, you can obtain a parking permit for 24 hours for a tenner. Trust me, this is a good price for Brighton. We parked right outside the front door. The permit can also be used in certain areas around town - handy if you are not that mobile.

The staff are what cap this review off. They are all very polite and extremely helpful, and it was genuinely a pleasure to speak to them. Quite rare these days.

Try this hotel. It's worth the money as you get so much more than a bed for the night. You'll love it.

Matt K, Oxford.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Manager at Kemp Townhouse, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Matt K,

Thank you so much for your detailed review of your stay. I'm glad to hear you had a lovely stay with us. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Best Wishes
Kenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

Highly recommend Kemp Townhouse in Brighton as a lovely place to stay - rooms to very high standard with port, dressing gowns, slippers, and all manner of drinks in your room - could not want for more. Great central location - wonderful selection for breakfast - and not forgetting the very friendly and helpful staff who were always there if needed for parking permit, breakfast etc. Only downer was pesky seagulls kept us awake but thats nothing against the guest house - its what you put up with in Brighton in general - saw a lovely convertable covered in seagull poo!!!! Would definatly recommend and stay again.

Room Tip: Room we stayed in was on first floor and next to the breakfast room but no noise from the guest hous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Manager at Kemp Townhouse, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely comments. I am glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us, and we very much look forward to welcoming you again in the nearest future. Sorry about the seagulls, you nailed it on the head there, they can't be avoided in Brighton unfortunately.

Best Regards
Kenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manly, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

A find! I stay a lot in Brighton and this is the best boutique guest house I have stayed in. The downstairs Single room was snug but finished to a high standard. Nice staff and fab breakfast. I Will stay again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank graffhamboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, General Manager at Kemp Townhouse, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear graffhamboy,

Thanks a lot for your kind words. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us .I'll make sure to pass your comments on to the team. We hope to see you again in the nearest future.

Best Regards
Kenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

The Townhouse was in a great location and provided terrific service. The breakfast was delicious and the room was beautifully presented. The bath in the room was a lovely way to relax after a big day of walking. There was quite a bit of noise from the room next door to us but that's to be expected of older houses.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Manager at Kemp Townhouse, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Christine,

Thank you for your recent stay and taking the time to write your review. I am pleased to hear you had a great stay with us and that you were happy with our overall service. The team will be happy to hear your thought.

Thanks again

Kenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Very helpful staff - smart, clean decor - bathroom recently re-done, by the look of it. There was a shortage of hot water for the shower, but the staff were helpful - I think it was just because I was showering in the morning - a popular time, I expect... This didn't detract from our stay. It's close to the sea front, but in what seems to be a quiet street. Deserves its billing as a boutique B+B. Having room service was a real bonus - made us feel very special! Oh, and the breakfast was excellent too - would definitely stay there and have already recommended it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsD2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Manager at Kemp Townhouse, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Kemp Townhouse. I am glad you had a great stay with us and we appreciate your recommendation.

Thanks again for your stay with us.

Best Regards
Kenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
0.9 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brighton Marina House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Brighton House
Brighton House
#14 of 97 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
0.2 mi away
27 Brighton Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kemp Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kemp Townhouse

Property: Kemp Townhouse
Address: 21 Atlingworth Street, Brighton BN2 1PL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Kemp Townhouse 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kemp Townhouse: "Brighton chicest new hotel. The IndependentKemp Townhouse offers luxury boutique accommodation at affordable prices. All 9 bedrooms have stylish en-suite wet rooms and boast their own individual features such as bay windows with sea views, beautiful antique fireplaces, free standing bath or indulgent four poster beds. The Regency style listed property is found in a quiet location, just off the seafront, close to the beach as well as restaurants, shops and Brighton’s thriving nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kemp Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kemp Townhouse Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing