We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at Kemp Townhouse”
Review of Kemp Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kemp Townhouse
Ranked #29 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We had high expectations and weren't disappointed. The welcome was professional, the room was stylish and had nice touches throughout. The only comment I would make is that I'm not that keen on wet rooms and prefer a bigger bathroom, but having said this the finishes were good, the shower was good and it didn't detract from the experience. Staff were friendly, breakfast was good, bed was very comfortable and we enjoyed our stay. We had an early wake up call due to noisy dustbin men at 6.30 am on a Monday morning!
All in all, we'd stay again.

Room Tip: We had a 4 poster room and whilst it's not a 4 poster as I think of one in an old traditional ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, General Manager at Kemp Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear Richard,

Thank you for your time to write this review and thanks so much for such kind words. We were honored to have you stay with us and I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you soon again.

Best Wishes,
Kenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (548)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 548 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2014

I had a brief overnight stay in Brighton planned. Just myself so I booked a small single room at the Kemp Townhouse, Brighton's only 5* Guesthouse.

My room was tiny (they highlighted this) - very like a small ship's cabin - but the room was stylish with a comfy bed, neat wet room, desk and everything you'd need if you're in for a short stay.

The breakfast made it. After an early morning run along the seafront, the staff served a lovely breakfast with a complementary little smoothie to take your mind off the full English guilt.

I probably wouldn't pay full price for a short 12 hour stay but with a latebookings discount it was lovely to stay in a private cool guest house seconds from the seafront.

Room Tip: The small single is definitely a single!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnOs_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, General Manager at Kemp Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear John,

Thank you for your time in writing this review. I am please to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Wishes,
Kenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Just returned from a great weekend in Brighton at the Kemp Townhouse.

The staff were very friendly and welcoming, whilst the room was very stylishly designed and the bed extremely comfortable.

A generous choice of cereals and pastries at breakfast was complemented by an excellent selection of hot dishes.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carbonguilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, General Manager at Kemp Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear carbonguilt,

Thank you for staying with us. So pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, and we very much look forward to your next visit.

Best Wishes
Kenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Had a lovely stay at the Kemp Townhouse. Good attention to detail, the port in the room, slippers & bathrobes. Loved the décor in the bedroom and in the breakfast room, very tastefully done.
The breakfast was delicious , lovely touch having a smoothie of the day.
Staff were very helpful and friendly.
Unfortunately the only downside was the bathroom was also a wet room, the water never drained away after having a shower so the floor stayed wet all day.

Room Tip: If you want a have some sort of view ask for a room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasperCasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Owner at Kemp Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us and for your review. I'm really pleased you enjoyed the extra touches and we look forward to seeing you again.

With best wishes,

Paul.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Had a fabulous stay for 2 nights in Kemp Townhouse this Feb/March, the staff were very friendly and helpful, we drove down from London and were a little concerned about parking the car, the manager explained where we could park and gave us a helpful map and it really was nothing to worry about. We had a comfy king room and as advertised the bed was really very comfortable with luxurious Egyptian cotton sheets and we loved the complimentary port in the room which was a nice touch.

The real highlight however was the wonderful breakfast which is served in lovely bright dining room at the front of the property with stylish decor. There was a good selection of magazines which although a little thing is indicative of the attention to detail that has gone into this place. Many of the breakfast ingredients are sourced locally including the delicious sausages from the Brighton sausage factory and the chef's smoothie shot was another nice little touch.

All in all a great guest house which really made our weekend a special one. Many thanks.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank PSt101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Owner at Kemp Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us and for writing such a lovely review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and I've shared your comments with the rest of the team.

With best wishes,

Paul.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This is a charming guesthouse, the small details like filter coffee, a dicanter with port bath robes and slippers and beautiful decor made the stay here memorable. The trip to brighton was for a birthday treat and the Kemp just topped it off. I would go back and recommend it to anyone.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank m w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Owner at Kemp Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us and for writing such a lovely review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your birthday and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

With best wishes,

Paul.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed here in mid February 2014, a young couple (early 30s) and easygoing. Not normally one to write bad reviews, or reviews at all. Long story short, even now my bag and clothes smell musty like room 102.

Whilst the staff are nice, and location good, here's some reasons to avoid:

- musty smell, likely due to 'wet room' being a cubicle within the main bedroom with a broken extractor fan
- noisy: the main passageway to the 'lounge'/breakfast room is right outside the door
- no reception: had to wait outside in the rain whilst someone answered the door
- tiny bathroom: barely room to swing a cat, and water accumulates everywhere
- uncomfortable bed and pillows: pillows have no support and disappear as you lie on them... Not a great nights sleep
- overpriced: £145+ is not good value for money for the above

Room Tip: Nothing to recommend, just not room 102
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hugh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Owner at Kemp Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear Hugh,

Thank you for providing such detailed feedback and I’m so sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. In response to your comments regarding the wet room, you’re right that in these are fairly compact and we have tried to make this as clear as possible on our website through the use of photos and detailed descriptions. Having discussed your comments regarding the smell with the team, it seems that the drain in your bathroom, whilst flushed thoroughly every week, clearly became blocked hence water spilled out into the room. It also appears that the extractor fan had been turned off by a previous guest. However, both of these issues should clearly have been detected and resolved prior to your arrival so I would ask that you contact us directly so that we can provide you with some financial compensation.

Regarding your other comment about having to wait for someone to answer the front door, I can understand your frustration but as we try to explain on our website we are not a hotel, we are a small guest house and although all our guests are given access cards so they can come and go as they please, the front door is always closed for security reasons.

I would add that it is disappointing that you did not raise any concerns with the team during your stay as we would have appreciated the opportunity to put things right, such as by unblocking your drain, providing you with extra pillows or upgrading you to another room at our cost. However, as mentioned above, if you contact us directly I’ll make sure you’re compensated for your disappointment.

Best wishes,

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
1.1 mi away
The Oriental
The Oriental
#15 of 94 in Brighton
684 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brighton Inn Boutique Guest Accommodation
0.1 mi away
A Room With A View
A Room With A View
#6 of 94 in Brighton
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brightonwave
Brightonwave
#14 of 94 in Brighton
346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Brighton Blue
Red Brighton Blue
#2 of 94 in Brighton
1,762 reviews
0.2 mi away
No. 27 Brighton Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kemp Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kemp Townhouse

Address: 21 Atlingworth Street, Brighton BN2 1PL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: $91 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kemp Townhouse 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kemp Townhouse: "Brighton chicest new hotel. The IndependentKemp Townhouse offers luxury boutique accommodation at affordable prices. All 9 bedrooms have stylish en-suite wet rooms and boast their own individual features such as bay windows with sea views, beautiful antique fireplaces, free standing bath or indulgent four poster beds. The Regency style listed property is found in a quiet location, just off the seafront, close to the beach as well as restaurants, shops and Brighton’s thriving nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kemp Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kemp Townhouse Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing