We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor - not worth the money”
Review of Kemp Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kemp Townhouse
Ranked #30 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very poor - not worth the money”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed here in mid February 2014, a young couple (early 30s) and easygoing. Not normally one to write bad reviews, or reviews at all. Long story short, even now my bag and clothes smell musty like room 102.

Whilst the staff are nice, and location good, here's some reasons to avoid:

- musty smell, likely due to 'wet room' being a cubicle within the main bedroom with a broken extractor fan
- noisy: the main passageway to the 'lounge'/breakfast room is right outside the door
- no reception: had to wait outside in the rain whilst someone answered the door
- tiny bathroom: barely room to swing a cat, and water accumulates everywhere
- uncomfortable bed and pillows: pillows have no support and disappear as you lie on them... Not a great nights sleep
- overpriced: £145+ is not good value for money for the above

Room Tip: Nothing to recommend, just not room 102
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hugh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Owner at Kemp Townhouse, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Hugh,

Thank you for providing such detailed feedback and I’m so sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. In response to your comments regarding the wet room, you’re right that in these are fairly compact and we have tried to make this as clear as possible on our website through the use of photos and detailed descriptions. Having discussed your comments regarding the smell with the team, it seems that the drain in your bathroom, whilst flushed thoroughly every week, clearly became blocked hence water spilled out into the room. It also appears that the extractor fan had been turned off by a previous guest. However, both of these issues should clearly have been detected and resolved prior to your arrival so I would ask that you contact us directly so that we can provide you with some financial compensation.

Regarding your other comment about having to wait for someone to answer the front door, I can understand your frustration but as we try to explain on our website we are not a hotel, we are a small guest house and although all our guests are given access cards so they can come and go as they please, the front door is always closed for security reasons.

I would add that it is disappointing that you did not raise any concerns with the team during your stay as we would have appreciated the opportunity to put things right, such as by unblocking your drain, providing you with extra pillows or upgrading you to another room at our cost. However, as mentioned above, if you contact us directly I’ll make sure you’re compensated for your disappointment.

Best wishes,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    120
    56
    21
    8
See reviews for
36
338
48
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

We booked the hotel on the same day as we arrived as a last minute trip to come and see our son at university. I specifically asked about the beds as I have a very bad back. They were extremely helpful. The room was just as described. The bed large and comfortable with luxurious duck down bedding. Our bathroom was a wet room which had a good effective shower. Other reviews have mentioned this as a negative but we found it absolutely fine. Attention to detail throughout the room was excellent however the towels would be better if they were bigger.
The staff were helpful and informative they also accommodated our son for breakfast. I would recommend this hotel and definitely return. Thank you.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 46Meryl_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Owner at Kemp Townhouse, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2014

A great one night stay in Kemp Townhouse. Had a lovely room on the top floor with a bath in the bedroom. Attention to detail was great down to the toiletries and the smoothie shot at breakfast. In a great location, it was only a short walk to the lanes and main town. The only thing I would suggest looking at is the quality of the pillows but saying that I would still definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thom J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Owner at Kemp Townhouse, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for your comments and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Regarding the pillows you're right that these are a tad on the soft side so I've just ordered some firmer ones to give our guests more options. I hope you'll be back to try them if you head to Brighton again.

Best wishes,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

...I could write a negative review of this hotel I would love to in order to prevent others discovering this truly extraordinarily wonderful hotel. It is 100m from the beach. The room was beautifully appointed with many nice little touches, decanter of port, real coffee, real milk available etc. with a very comfortable bed and lose-yourself-in-them towels. The breakfast was as good as any I have ever had anywhere in the world with all fresh local ingredients including home made compotes and smoothies. Really excellent. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Go. Enjoy. We did.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moonfishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Owner at Kemp Townhouse, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for writing such lovely comments. You've made the team's day!

Wishing you all the best,

Paul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northchapel, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Fantastic for a short stay. We had two rooms and they were both perfectly fine, new clean and nice linens. Breakfast is almost worth the stay -just perfect French toast. Paul was really helpful when one of our guests needed help in the city. We will stay again.

Room Tip: No internet in the upstairs room, although it is really spacious.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Adriennepitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Owner at Kemp Townhouse, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for your kind words and I'm sorry the wi-fi wasn't working as it should. This is now resolved and I very much hope we'll have the pleasure of seeing you again.

Best wishes,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the four poster room with bath. Very beautifully decorated, comfortable bed. Staff were very very friendly and attentive. Had breakfast in bed at no extra cost, which was delicious, best I've had in a hotel. Smooth check in and checkout, quiet place, I can go on. All in all, a wonderful stay and would definitely recommend to friends. Will be back.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayode A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Owner at Kemp Townhouse, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for your lovely words and we very much look forward to welcoming you back!

With Best Wishes,

Paul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolum Beach, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We were really pleased we found this hotel, it suited us perfectly. We chose a king room, and were upgraded to one with a four poster bed, which was lovely. All the staff were friendly and very helpful, and helped us to find a parking spot outside - where we could stay for 24hrs for £9.50. Parking in Brighton is a nightmare... The breakfasts used free range ingredients, which is important to us, and were very nicely prepared to order. There were also aNespresso m/cs in our room. My only criticism was the wet rooms, which were tiny (I saw 2). They were beautifully appointed and worked well, but I didn't like that I was almost standing on the loo to shower, and everything in the room got wet. Still, I would go back anyway.

Room Tip: For us it was worth paying the extra for a king room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jb1255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Owner at Kemp Townhouse, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thanks so much for your comments. Whilst the wet rooms are compact, as you found they are extremely nicely appointed and we've just upgraded our toiletries to Noble Isle which I hope you'll get the chance to enjoy next time you visit Brighton!

With Best wishes,

Paul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,185 reviews
0.5 mi away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#13 of 44 in Brighton
2,236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 44 in Brighton
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Malmaison Brighton
Malmaison Brighton
#15 of 44 in Brighton
1,425 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brighton Marina House Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Charm - Brighton Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kemp Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kemp Townhouse

Property: Kemp Townhouse
Address: 21 Atlingworth Street, Brighton BN2 1PL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Kemp Townhouse 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kemp Townhouse: "Brighton chicest new hotel. The IndependentKemp Townhouse offers luxury boutique accommodation at affordable prices. All 9 bedrooms have stylish en-suite wet rooms and boast their own individual features such as bay windows with sea views, beautiful antique fireplaces, free standing bath or indulgent four poster beds. The Regency style listed property is found in a quiet location, just off the seafront, close to the beach as well as restaurants, shops and Brighton’s thriving nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Kemp Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kemp Townhouse Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing