We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful location overlooking the sea”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Alfresco

Alfresco
Ranked #59 of 1,113 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful location overlooking the sea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Delicioys and very well presented food. Excellent service. Fantastic location oveooking the sea. Wide ranging menu and good selection of wines. Thoroughly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Olliff-Thor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    554
    241
    94
    47
    77
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
68 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Food and service typically Italian - but fails to live up to the venue.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great venue, well laid out in a spectacular location. When we went, early December, the place was fantastically decorated for Christmas. On a busy Friday night we were seated immediately. The restaurant was very noisy as it was full of large tables, but this was not a problem for us.

The choice of food is fairly normal for an italian - although the manager informed us that no pizzas were available as they had turned the oven off (at 9.15pm?). No problem as we fancied pasta anyway. The food was fine - slightly above average in fact - but not extraordinary.

We'd go back again, although I recognise some of the comments about the style of service - it is slightly - take it as it comes.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaneandhamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great service and location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Really great atmosphere and the service was so friendly. The food was great too but with such good service if it hadn't been great I would have still recommended it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank up2eleven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not as good as reviews suggest”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

We went to Alfresco based on the reviews only to be let down by the quality of the food considering we were one of only 3 tables on a wet and windy midweek night, my expectations were much higher only to be left feeling like the weather outside. I had venison which was overcooked and not seasoned as was my colleagues. The vegetables were overcooked as if you were at a large cope-rate event where they are cooked hours in advanced. The service was good hence the better rating. Sadly we will not be back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowSimonglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Meh!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had brunch in the downstairs bar at Alfresco, so cant comment on the restaurant but I was not impressed... as we arrived (from the pouring rain), the manageress ran over to my wife to take her umbrella and make sure it didn't drip on the floor, but made no effort to engage with us, to hold a door open, or even to show us to a table. It was as if we were terrible customers for bringing some rain water in from the torrent outside and making the floor wet.

After that, the service was "so, so" and the food (I had a pizza and a hot chocolate) was average. I won't be hurrying back...

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkAWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alfresco also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Alfresco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing