We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not cheap and not cheerful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Queensbury Hotel
TAUNTON
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not cheap and not cheerful”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Room 5 was booked as the website described the room as a Superior Double-fully ensuite Grand room. The room was dingy , the window and door had very large gaps at the bottom, wallpaper peeling off and the paintwork in need of attention ( as the rest of the hotel) and the extractor fan in shower room faulty. The shower was unusable because it could not be regulated (the water ran from cold to scalding hot every few seconds)
As for the Quiet at Night policy stated on the website - what a joke. There were people running up and down stairs above us well into the night.The whole experience was a disaster.
But to be fair the Continental breakfast was adequate with sliced cheese slices, spam , tea . coffee , toast . preserves and a choice of cereals.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else. Queensbury Hotel not like the Hotel on the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHIS8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    67
    56
    32
    37
See reviews for
62
74
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

I went with my daughters to Brighton and booked into this Hotel. We stayed for 2 nights. We had the room for 3 people which was on the 1st floor. Room had lovely high ceilings, a lovely fireplace and plenty of Regency character, room consists of 1 double bed and a single bed, ensuite shower room with shower, toiet and sink. There was a balcony overlooking the square and you can see the sea to one side. The beds had very fluffy pillows and quilt. There was a selection of complimentary tea and coffee available and packets of cookies.
Location is excellent as you are close to the beach and to the shops.
Breakfast was simple but all in all we had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ria66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheddleton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

If I was staying here for a Holiday I would have walked straight back out of the door!!! Unfortunately we were down for a family funeral and most places were fully booked so we had little choice but to stay. The young chap on reception was pleasant enough and I did see him help guests up the stairs with luggage & pushchairs which I thought was very nice. The rooms however were disgusting! I had a standard twin (Room No 8) , the walls were filthy, I don't just mean a few marks I mean filthy!!! The Beds were falling to bits, the pillows were like wafers, the decor was either hanging by a thread or that old it barely worked. The shower to be fair was clean but in urgent need of update as it wa all marked and manky inside which put me off using it. The carpet had stains all over it and the shared WC not ideal as not everyone has the same ideas of clenliness and some of the guests don't know how to flush a chain!!! There was no Parking available as the underground car park was closed for 8 Wks renovation meaning we had to park the car in Patcham where the funeral was and taxi back and forth at &8 a throw. Breakfast was Continental which was Ok just basic toast & jam............to me this is a basic backpackers hotel, if you want cheap and don't mind dirty this is the place for you!!!

Room Tip: I would certainly suggest you go for En Suite so you hav a loo in your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stayed there for few days this week. Looks great on the website and location good. In real life the place was dirty. Paint was peeling from walls in our room. The toilet was shared and down the corridor which wasn't obvious when booking from there web site. The shower was just standing in the room and creaked so badly I felt like it was going to fall over every time I took a shower. We were in a basement room facing the road and the blinds didn't go down so you could watch people feet passing by as you slept!!! Not a lot of privecy for changing when you can be seen from the street.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaspermanderly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

This is singularly the worst hotel I've ever stayed at. The entrance hallway was fine and communal areas seemed to be clean and well maintained. Location is excellent, so close to beach, restaurants, shopping, pier and all other amenities Brighton offers. However the location is pretty much the only thing to be positive about here. Our room was on the first floor and had extremely high ceilings and very tall floor to ceiling windows. Normally this would be a beautiful feature but not in this case. The curtains were so heavy that to pull them closed was difficult, and to be honest I didn't really like touching them as they looked very stained and smelt musty and dirty.
There was no en-suite in the room so we had to share a toilet with about 3 other rooms on the same floor, this is not a situation I am comfortable with. In fairness there was a whb and shower in the bedroom but it was rather strange - the shower literally opened into the room so was difficult if you like a bit of privacy while showering. It was surrounded by carpet too so this naturally got wet from the shower which probably explained the fusty musty smell in the room. The water pressure was poor, cubicle very tight especially for a well built tall man, and there no toiletries to speak of which we were not prepared for.
The furniture was a cheap lowgrade dressing table, and an antique chair that needed to be re-upholstered - that was it. Hairs and fluff in the drawers which didn't instill confidence in using it for our clothes. The bed was lumpy and really unsupportive. My wife and I both had backache in the morning from it. The pillows were old, thin and very well worn. The carpet was acrylic and didn't look particularly well vacuumed. All over, there was such an air of decay and neglect, griminess and depravity that we were relieved to be out of there.
I'm not the type of person to nitpick normally but the amount of things wrong with this hotel is overwhelming. I couldn't recommend this place to anyone, it's dreadful, truly dreadful. We didn't have the breakfast but on our way out we looked into the breakfast room and weren't impressed with what we saw - cheap supermarket bread, slices of cheap ham and cheese, dirty tablecloths. I was actually shocked at the inferior quality all over, never come across anything like it in a so called hotel before.
Take it from me, pay the little bit extra and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

The building is lovely, but the rooms are very average. The fittings are by no means quality but I wasn't expecting much for the price!

Still a good nights sleep in a spot on location, just minutes from the city centre and the beach. Staff were very helpful and friendly too, even when we stayed out too late, overslept in the morning and missed the check out time by an hour!

Good budget stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c33kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Stayed Thurs - Sun- 3 females in a tripple room. 1 good sized double and 1 single bed in room 4. It was up a few flights of stairs and with no lift access wouldn't be suitable for those with mobility issues. Room was huge with lots of plug sockets and mirrors- full length and smaller which are welcomed by 3 women getting ready together. Overlooks a green and at one point this was probably a very grand area- shame there are some 60's buildings which, although not unique to Brighton, adds the usual planning questions. Sea and beach are just at the bottom of the road, leading to the sea front. This was a bonus as I didn't really look at location when plannning. The olympics and films were being shown on a large screen on the sea front.
Would recommend the Regency chippy, on the corner across from this hotel.
Bathroom has been taken from a corner of the room with sink, shower and loo. It has a sliding door which doesn't make for the most private experience so perhaps not the best for a romantic break or sharing with anyone other than close friends! There are larger bathrooms on each floor. Breakfast was served in the front room. Usually in hotels like this every room is occupied and breakfast is in the basement so this was a welcome use of the room. Self service toast, jams etc, coffee, tea, juice cereal. Branded cereals in sealed boxes was a bonus- rather than cheaper versions in large plastic containers. Cooked breakfast is available across the road for an addittional payment.
It was full when we stayed and of course we heard people coming in but nothing more than any other hotel/ b&b. It was very warm and with open bedroom windows noise carries much more.

In summary- this is a great location with very spacious tripple rooms. Right next to seafront and about 15-20 min walk from train station. It has retained a lot of its original character but there have clearly been some budget diy applied to create ensuites. It was clean, fresh towels etc daily, clean white linen. A hotel of this size with this much traffic will always show wear and tear- stair carpet has been poorly fitted in areas, some signs of water leaks high up, stairs creaking. The reality is it is an old building and I am realistic about what I am getting.
First trip to Brighton and I will definately return. went with a ceoliac friend who couldn't believe the choice of food- highlights, Food with Friends and Chocywoccydodah. Don't bother with bus ride- it is rubbish and the marina is a souless lost opportunity with cheap outlet shops.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clarebear1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,421 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.1 mi away
The Granville Hotel
The Granville Hotel
#18 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#21 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Brighton Hotel
The Brighton Hotel
#20 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queensbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queensbury Hotel

Property: The Queensbury Hotel
Address: 58 Regency Square, Brighton BN1 2FF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Queensbury Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Queensbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing