We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No better introduction to Brighton! Lots of things to do in and along the beachfront area!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Brighton Beach

Brighton Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.66*
and up
Twilight Bike Tour of Brighton
Ranked #7 of 161 things to do in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Trinidad
Level Contributor
690 reviews
285 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 479 helpful votes
“No better introduction to Brighton! Lots of things to do in and along the beachfront area!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Spending time on Brighton Beach is the perfect introduction to this seaside town.

We found it to be an easy thing to do on our first day in Brighton and a wonderful place to walk off jetlag! It was great to get a glimpse into the seafaring history of Brighton, have a nice meal and watch the locals passing by. A lovely place for an ice cream or cup of coffee outside when the weather is nice.

You can see both the active and burnt Piers from the beach. A very picturesque scene!

The beach is stone and not sand but still very beautiful and somehow relaxing hearing the rumbling of pebbles by the wave action.

For those who wish to sunbathe in their birthday suit, there is legal area to do so along the eastern end of the beach.

You can spend a whole day doing activities around the beach. When we visited for the Olympics, there was a big screen and seating set-up which was popular with everyone for watching the games.

You can ride on the Brighton Wheel which gives a nice overview of the city. And the historic Volks Railway is a lovely thing to do for all ages. From the end of the line, you can walk to the Marina.

Upon returning to the start of the rail line, there are a few souvenir & gift shops and cafés just opposite on Madeira drive. A few steps westward would bring you to the SeaLife Brighton aquarium.

When you leave the aquarium, the entrance to the famous Brighton Pier is obliquely opposite at the roundabout.

In all, there is much to do in and around Brighton Beach, and you can experience several attractions all in one day.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank The_Concierge_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,895 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,209
    1,103
    422
    108
    53
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth a look, but not the prettiest”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Have to be honest I am spoilt by living on the seafront near Bournemouth with its sandy clean gently sloping beaches. That said, Brighton has something unique to offer. Its never going to win awards for being beautiful, but it is entertaining. Lots to see and do here. Fun for children. Well worth a visit.
Bit let down by the number of homeless (not their fault) and amount of rubbish around. Brighton should really invest more in tidying this place up, adding plants to soften the hard structures and treating it as the asset it really could be. Get rid of that pile of rubbish metal (the old West Pier) and make this place more friendly for those that could use it (and spend money at it): beach users / tourists, joggers, cyclists, watersports enthusiats, walkers, dog owners etc etc - all want to see improvements.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank rlevi32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“High On-Street-Parking Charges”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We love going to Brighton, it is a lovely cosmopolitan town, full of characters, tourists and day trippers with good food. It still has a nice mixture of "kiss me quick" and fun. On this visit I was mugged twice, first by the council with the on-street-parking charge of 2.50 per hour and secondly by a seagull who stole my ice cream out of my hand. The high parking charge will certainly make me think twice about going again it makes it a very expensive day out.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yellowvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“this is the best place to be when the sun shines!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

its lovely and relaxing take a towel to lay on have a nice ice cream and watch the waves and surfers out at sea. I love being in Brighton and when the weather turns nice couldn't think of a better place to be and a hotel to say would be The Granville love it there nice people and good room rates

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank JadeBabey7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Something for the photographer?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

A little something from the bygone era on a freezing and dreary dark winters day are the remains of the Iconic west pier. A Sad neglected, rejected beautiful piece of architecture buffeting in the waves. Built in 1866 and left to decay since 1975 a relic has been born, hungry for the photographer to leave history from history. I adore it. To take something that to some may be a wreck and love it is rebirth in my eyes. I am a photographer and see beauty in everything. If you love photography and have not photographed Brighton's West Pier yet, then Hurry for soon it will be gone. When you have done that go to the Pavilion and capture the array of turrets and beauty there… but one thing, make sure you go on a miserable day!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brighton Beach also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Brighton Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing